Problem with HP

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by chaos16, Jan 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    Im having a problem with a computer

    For example when i open sage i can't see the username and password when im typing i can't see the words but i know its typing.

    I know its not a sage problem because when i open the graphic driver settings as well the word do not appear.

    what could this be?

    is a HP desktop XP
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    2x things come to mind....
    *Update your video drivers
    *Run at the standard resolution for your monitor
     
  3. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    thats for the reply.

    Ive tried changing resolution and nothing changes
    Also the graphic is a build in graphic thats Intel.
     
  4. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    OK the Intel onboard video drivers are easy enough to update.

    Did anyone mess with "Ease of Access" settings?

    What is the size of the monitor? You have to restart the application when changing resolution.
     
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I know the problem. Its an HP.
     
  6. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
    Do you have a wireless keyboard? If you do, check the batteries.
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,290
    Location:
    England
    Are you in classic view?
     
  8. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    :rolleyes: You don't even know what make/model. HP makes excellent business desktop computers, they're widely used and well liked in the SMB/Enterprise environment.
     
  9. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Well liked and working are 2 different things. HP has issues all up and down the board. The DV6000 series laptops for example. There are 200+ page threads in HPs forums about those laptops all having the same issues. It was basically a lemon model and they refused to replace any of them.
     
  10. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I've had a dv6000 model for 2+ years - never had a problem with it and am very pleased with it.
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    1 person or 200+ pages of nothing but issues. I thinking its a lemon. Im pretty sure it had a recall on it, but cant remember where or when.
     
  12. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
    The dv6000's had major problems with the graphics chips (nvidia) overheating. They extended the warranty but a lot of people had their computers die just after that extended warranty.
     
  13. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yup. Exact thing happened here. It hasnt completely died yet, but the keypad doesnt work, the keyboard doesnt work, and the volume LEDs are slowly burning out. Not to mention its got to sit on a cooling pad all day long.
     
  14. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    The DV6000 is a "home grade" laptop, one of the Presario series. Every brand out there generally makes 3x levels of computers...
    1 - home grade..1 year or less warranty, budget parts...crap
    2- business grade, 3 year warranty, pricier, more barebones but each components is of higher quality.
    3 - enterprise grade...at least 3 year warranty, comprising of higher quality parts some of which are warrantied for 5 years. Higher end workstations, servers, etc.

    I can post gigs and gigs of forum pages about people having issues with many models of PCs...especially home grade ones. They all have problems at one time or another.

    BTW, HP did release a BIOS fix for the WLAN issue on those models.

    Back to the OPs topic, since he's running a SAGE software product..which is a business/accounting product, we'll hope his office is outfitted with business grade models of HPs and not home grade models.
     
  15. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    A home grade laptop that cost $1400 new. Their BIOS fix didnt fix anything. My Asus laptop hasnt had a single issue and it was cheaper than the HP. HP sucks thats the problem here.
     
  16. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    That is a stupid response.
     
  17. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Take it how you want, but theres more than enough proof here that proves its HPs issue.
     
  18. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    That's comical, laughable....beyond ignorant.

    It's most likely a video settings issue. His PC is using a very standard onboard Intel video, which many other brands run, especially common business grade desktop PCs..regardless of brand. There's nothing wrong with onboard Intel video with business workstations.

    I've had thousands and thousands of business desktops of various brands under my management, sorry...but HP (and prior Compaq with their Deskpros and Evos)..are very fine machines. Intel onboard video are also present in Dell Optiplex and IBM ThinkCentres....other comparable business grade machines. There's nothing wrong with onboard Intel graphics...office workstations don't need to play games. And HPs Proliant Servers power the greater majority of the business/enterprise networking world.

    And yes the BIOS fix did address the widespread WLAN issue, if you follow the directions. Worked just dandy on the many of them that came through our doors.

    Video issues are directly releated to the hardware and drivers, you have the onboard video, his specific driver version, monitor drivers, and display settings. Nothing is specific to HP there.

    Oh yeah...guess who makes many motherboards for HPs home grade machines? Yeah...Asus!
     
  19. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yes the same DV6000 series has a video configuration issue on almost all of their DV6000 models.

    WLAN didnt work regardless of if you say it did or did not. Again HPs forum is loaded. A single person such as yourself without an issue hardly outweighs the thousands with issues.
     
  20. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    I never said it was a single issue with a DV...I never owned one. But ..again....we have thousands and thousands of compuers from our SMB clients under our support....we had quite a few roll through our office. ;) I recall widespread issue with firmware and the WLAN card, which was fixed....we fixed a lot. I don't recall a video issue with that model, but around that time period I do recall video issues with many other laptops running the optional nVidia graphics which had a bad batch release for a few months...overheating issues. That issue spread across many brands/models of laptops which used that option.

    Blaming a brand for such a non-descript issue like this which is most likely driver/software related is simply silly and shows lack of familiarity or knowledge with computers.
     
  21. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Again driver and software issues that thousands of people have. Shows that HP has no knowledge of their own computers. Ive got a DV6258SE sitting right next to me and its nothing but issues. It was sent in 3 times for a new hard drive, 2 new heating plates, a new screen, and a few batteries within less than 6 months. They are lemons. The DV9000 series my mom bought for her business was fine until 3 months into it and then it had the same exact problems the DV6000 series had. You cant tell me 2 totally different models purchased more than 2 years apart is user error. They both had the same exact issues and HP didnt learn a damn thing from their first mistake. Its the company.
     
  22. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Funny timing....guess what's on the bench today that our service guy is working on, a DV6000!

    Got Windows Media Center edition on is though, just in for a tuneup and cleaning and RAM increase....she only bought it with 512 megs...ugh. Time for 2 gigs!
     
  23. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Actually it's poor selection..you shouldn't purchase home grade computers for a business. There are many reasons for this.

    "Again driver and software issues that thousands of people have."
    Video drivers...who do you think makes the video drivers? The vendor of the chip!!! Intel, or ATI, or nVidia! Good lord!
     
  24. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    The DV9000 series is upgradable. She paid extra for the dedicated GPU and it was a small business. It was only used for invoices.
     
  25. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    thanks everyone for there replies.

    It was the onboard graphic card drivers. :cautious:

    thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.