problem with hosts file

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by lodore, Jan 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi, i normally use the mvps hosts file but it can be annoying when you keep getting the connection to the server was reset message.
    i guess there is no way around that other than not use a hosts file?
    lodore
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    You can manually edit the host file for those certain blocks. But then why use one to begin with? I tried the host file modification way for a while as part of my defensive layer. Ran into the same problems you are having. I guess, according to the particular Host file author, I tend to surf a bit dangerously. Guess you do as well.
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i guess that just what happens with host files.
    lodore
     
  4. jibbarjabar

    jibbarjabar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I use Hoster with my MVP HOSTS and whitelist any "needed" sites.
    http://www.funkytoad.com/
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I use hoster as well.
    but the problem is i dont really want the google ad services but thats normaly what causes the message because quite a few websites uses google ad services
    and it causes the webpages to load slower because the hosts file is blocking it out and then it causes the message.
    lodore
     
  6. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Try eDexter.
     
  7. yeuxbleus

    yeuxbleus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    A program called "Blackhole Proxy" also works. Get it here. Just set the port to 80 or follow the instructions at the bottom of this page.
     
  8. toadbee

    toadbee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Also try Homer to combat those slow downs, same Author as Hoster.
    Granted the guy is a total wingnut, but it's good stuff :rolleyes:
    :D
    http://www.funkytoad.com/content/view/14/32/
     
  9. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Lodore, if you use Firefox, then give the Customize Google extension a try. Not the same as a host file but has some nice features as far as blocking ads, click tracking, etc. https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/743/
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i said i dont want to block google stuff but i want to block all the other stuff.
    also my main browser now is opera since yesterday.
    its alot faster and more stable than firefox 2.0
    im using opera 9.1
    lodore
     
  11. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
  12. Littlemutt

    Littlemutt Guest

    Add this to your Host File: 127.0.0.1 pagead2.googlesyndication.com

    Well I wish you good luck with Opera over Firefox as you can see here Opera does not bother to tell folks of exploits/holes until 'after' they release an update.

    See article:
    http://weblogs.mozillazine.org/asa/

    There must be something wrong with your extensions setup/ or your Profile if Firefox 2.0 is unstable, there is no reason it should not run like a Swiss Watch.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 11, 2007
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well firefox didnt crash much recently but i felt like a change.
    also when do any companys tell you about the secuirty holes before they patched?
    if you tell people then hackers can exploit them lol.
    but opera is the browser with the least secuirty holes if i remember correctly.
    the main thing with firefox is that with extensions you dont know what crashes it because it could be one of the extensions or the browser itself.
    i like both browsers
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.