problem with enabling protection for firefox

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by jimbo45, Apr 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimbo45

    jimbo45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I use Firefox as my browser and Spywareblaster to help protect agaisnt spyware. Whenever I run spyblaster it always says that 209 items have protection disabled for firefox. I click on to enable all protection which is fine it does this then when I close spyblaster and open it again it comes up with the same thing that 209 items for firefox have been disabled. Everything was working fine up until about a couple of weeks ago I don't know what I have done but any help in fixing this problem would be deeply appreciated.
     
  2. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
  3. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Have you downloaded the latest version of SpywareBlaster? (3.3)

    If not, it may fix your problem. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  5. jimbo45

    jimbo45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Yes I have the latest versin of spywareblaster (3.3) and I am still getting the same problem
     
  6. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I see it as well, but very infrequent. Not quite sure what is causing it, though. I thought using the immunize function from Spybot, but trying to make it happen is unsuccesfull at the moment :D
    (Spywareblaster 3.3; WinXP SP2 Pro EN, limited user account).
     
  7. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Could both of you please provide some additional information about your systems?

    1.) Version of Windows
    2.) Version of Firefox installed
    3.) Version of regular Mozilla installed (if any)
    4.) Versions of any other Mozilla-based browsers installed (if any, such as Netscape 7.x and KMeleon.)
    5.) What anti-virus, firewall, and other security software you have installed
    6.) Any other information you think might be useful. :)

    Thanks!

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  8. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Hi Javacool, here's my system: :D

    Windows XP SP2 Pro EN /all patches
    One administrator account / one limited user account
    Mozilla Firefox trunk build 20050411 / FF 1.02 stipe*)
    Firewall: Look'n'stop / Jetico*)
    AV: KAV 5 personal / NOD32 2.5b2*)

    *) Software is not installed at the same time, but problems occur with each combination.

    On demand:
    Spybot 1.4b3 (immunization) / Spybot 1.3 (immunization)*)
    Ad-aware SE
    Spysweeper
    MS Antispyware

    HOSTS file


    I have a feeling that it could have something to do with Spybot immunization.

    EDIT: OK it is in some way connected to using the immunize function, but I can't get reproducable results... yet :ninja:
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.