Problem with DrWeb: Can't update

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by BoogyMan, Jan 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BoogyMan

    BoogyMan Guest

    I just installed DrWeb 4.30a and when i try to update i get the message "connection with the server could not be established." Any help? Thanks.
     
  2. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    works fine here (just tested)
    make sure the update url is set to updates.sald.com/drweb in drweb (main scanner not in the real time scanner) >options >change settings >update

    otherwise maybe your firewall is blocking it..just a guess
     
  3. BoogyMan

    BoogyMan Guest

    The problem is related to Drweb. Icouldn't access to any sites in the internet after installing it. That's why i could not update. Uninstalling Drweb everything is ok now. I wanted to use it beacuse it is light on resources and very good scanner for viruses and trojans. Now i have to look for something else :oops: . Iwas using Kaspersky but is is very heavy on resources. Any alternatives for a good antivirus program that combines virus and trojan decection? I was thinking of installing Norton Antivirus Corporate, F-prot, BitDefender or Mcafee. Your opinions on these?
     
  4. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    never had such a problem with drweb...weird

    avp (old kav) from avp.ch is lightweight and offers kav protection
     
  5. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    Using McAfee Enterprise v7.1.0 here, incredibly fast and light on the system. My favorite so far. Have you tried Trend Micro's I.S. 2004? You can remove their firewall in their tools section, and add your own. Seems fast and light. ;)
     
  6. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have the personal email address for a very helpful support techie at DrWeb. I would send it to you by {PM} but I don't think he wants it posted on the internet.

    An advantage of registering with this forum is that it enables people who want to help you to send you personal messages {PM}.

    However, an email to the following might get you some help...

    support at antivir dot ru
     
  7. BoogyMan

    BoogyMan Guest

    Tahoma i looked at the site avp.ch but i found avp only for dos and linux. For Windows i only found Kaspersky 4.5, 3.5 and 3.0.132. Swisscoms McAfee Enterprise is also for home use?
     
  8. BoogyMan

    BoogyMan Guest

    I just installed DrWeb in another hard disk with Windows XP installed and everything worked ok! Very strange o_O
     
  9. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    It sure is, you can try it at:

    http://www.nai.com/us/products/mcafee/antivirus/email/vs.htm

    and a test from PC Mag here:

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,1116264,00.asp

    I hope this helps. :)
     
  10. BoogyMan

    BoogyMan Guest

    Unfortunately i have Windows 98SE so i can't use McAfee Enterprise
     
  11. BoogyMan

    BoogyMan Guest

    Is norton antivirus corporate compatible with windows 98se?
     
  12. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    Yes, the 8.1 Client version is as follows:

    System Requirements for Clients
    Windows

    Windows 98/98 SE/Me; Windows NT 4.0 Workstation/Server/Terminal Server Edition with Service Pack 6a; Windows 2000 Professional/Server/ Advanced Server; Windows XP Home/Professional; Windows Server 2003 Web/Standard/Enterprise/Datacenter
    32 MB RAM minimum (64 MB or higher recommended)
    46 MB disk space (80 MB during installation)
    Intel Pentium processor (Pentium II or higher recommended)

    Link: http://www.uic.edu/depts/accc/software/antivirus/index.html#System

    I have found this latest version is a big improvement on their earlier versions, and web surfing is faster now.
     
  13. BoogyMan

    BoogyMan Guest

    How does NOD32 v2 perform in dececting trojans among the other antivirus programs?
     
  14. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It depends on the comparison. For the moment, NOD32 is an antivirus first and foremost - and top of the bill in that regard. There are antiviruses performing (much) worse as for trojans/backdoors - there are antiviruses performing (much) better. That said: NOD32 is improving fast in this context.

    That said: As mentioned before, layered defense is the safest way to go. Never put all eggs in just one basket. A top notch antivirus in conjunction with a resident running top notch antitrojan is recommended.

    regards.

    paul
     
  15. BoogyMan

    BoogyMan Guest

    My system is old and i can't have many programs at startup
     
  16. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    All you have to do is go the Start->Run-> type msconfig-> OK and click the AT program off in the Startup. Leave the AV program clicked ON though, as you need the scanner to be running all the time for your protection. You can use the AT program every few days manually instead.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.