Problem with desktop wallpaper

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by kentuckycracker, Jun 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kentuckycracker

    kentuckycracker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I'm new here and sorry if this is in the wrong place but I am having a problem changing my desktop wallpaper. The problem is, I can't. A blue wallpaper covers my picture that I have used for a while (I can see it when I start up and shut down but not in between). I don't know what is causing it but it started when I wandered into something called "pesttrap" and my computer freaked out. I have uninstalled pesttrap and purchased a anti-spyware program but am unable to fix this one problem.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
  3. kentuckycracker

    kentuckycracker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    How do I get a hijack log?

    Sorry to sound so ignorant about this stuff, I do use a computer nearly every day but never had to do that before....
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
  5. khalij

    khalij Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Hi! I happen to have the same problem, and I just registered here. Can anyone guide me on this problem?:doubt:
     
  6. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi khalij :)

    For an HijackThis analysis you may post to the Jim Eshelman's forum:
    http://aumha.net/

    forum | HijackThis log

    Please read the first "sticky" post "Announcement" before posting your log...

    "Post subject: READ FIRST! Your HJT log will be DELETED or LOCKED unless..."

    HijackThis :

    Download HJT from the author web site:
    [HijackThis not Starter...]
    http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/~merijn/

    Unzip the file
    Run the program
    Choose "scan and save log"
    Select this log in notepad
    and copy-paste in your post...

    Hope this help.

    :)
     
  7. CoolWolf

    CoolWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Erm i'm new here but just a query if you use task manager to run explorer.exe does drwtsn32.exe or drwatson.exe appear in the task manager?

    If so are they running javacools spyware guard?

    I just recently had this issue so after a bit of web hunting, I disabled the drwatson debugger and got an:

    explorer.exe - Application Error
    The instruction at "0x734305be" referenced memory at "0x734305be". The memory could not be "read".
    Click on OK to terminate the program
    Click on CANCEL to debug the program


    After researching this:

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/lofiversion/index.php/t54932.html

    Turns out spyware guard (v2.2 in my case) causes explorer.exe startup issues
    it seems to crash both the active desktop and taskbar, after killing both sgmain and sgb.. (<forgot last 2 letters) in task manager and then running control.exe
    I was able to use add/remove programs to remove spyware guard, and that fixed my pc, obviously after a quick restart I could restore my active desktop too.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2006
  8. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    To KCracker ... try first enabling a Restore Point from a date before you installed that pesttrap program.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.