Problem with bootable CDROM

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by AdrianJ, Dec 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AdrianJ

    AdrianJ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    I have been evaluating the trial version of TI10, and the disk imaging and backup systems seem to work fine on my Win2000 system.
    But I am having trouble with getting a bootable CDROM to work. I know the CD system is bootable from the BIOS, because I can disable the HDD bootup, set it to boot from CD, and it will boot a Windows Setup disk.
    However I want to also create a bootable CD into the Acronis recovery tools, for obvious reasons.
    So I create an iso image using the TI10 bootable media generator, put it on CD using the Nero Burn Image process, and end up with a CD with a directory called Recovery Manager, and 7 files "bootmenu.exe ... splash.run" in it. But when I restart the machine with the CDROM boot enabled in the BIOS, I just get a message "CD boot failure" and then the usual "Non system disk...." error.
    Its probably something silly I am missing, but I have read through the KB and FAQ, and can not find anything obvious.
    Can anyone help further ?
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Try the CD in another computer?. Also I know up to ver 9 you didn't have to do an intermediate step of creating an iso for the bootable CD first. The TI software created the bootable CD directly.
     
  3. AdrianJ

    AdrianJ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the suggestion. The only other machine I have here is a Fujutsu laptop. I tried that, after setting the BIOS to boot from CD, and get a message "Starting Acronis loader" and then "Boot failed, press any key" which is at least further than the desktop goes, but not much.

    I tried using just the Acronis tools to create the bootable CD, but it just sat there for ages, on the Please Wait screen, not doing anything, certainly not writing to the CD. But the Image tools in Nero seem to do the right thing with an iso image.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello AdrianJ,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Could you please try the workarounds described in this previous post of mine and see if it helps you to create Acronis True Image Bootable CD?

    If the issue persists, please create cdrecord.log file the way described in this previous post of mine. Please create also Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  5. Peleg

    Peleg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    I find that creating the bootable media directly from the management console is much quicker and easier.

    Give that a shot.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.