Problem with Avast 5

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hirudoid22, Oct 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hirudoid22

    hirudoid22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I was installing Avast free and everything went fine. I had all modules activated and everything looked fine. I could check my mail, but all my browsers were unable to connect to net, Chrome, IE, FF, Opera.
    When I stopped the Webshield my browsers were able to connect to sites again.
    I am not sure what is wrong.

    Hirudoid
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    for some reason that module does not agree with your setup. You are still protected well by realtime scanning
     
  3. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    621
    Typically, this is caused by a personal firewall that is preventing the process AvastSvc.exe from accessing the Internet.

    Please make sure it's allowed as all the web traffic will be routed through it (it works as a transparent HTTP proxy).

    Thanks
    Vlk
     
  4. hirudoid22

    hirudoid22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I have had Avast 5 Free earlier installed and then tried Panda Cloud but decided to back to Avast. Then this happend.
     
  5. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,021
    i agree and i would say this happens to me with almost every av i install after i have installed the firewall first. i have learned that it is better to install every thing else before the firewall is installed .
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Why not put the FW in learning mode before you install the Avast!.
     
  7. hirudoid22

    hirudoid22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I am using Windows 7 and its own firewall. I will test it later today.
     
  8. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    hey guys btw...avast5 is stopping the giveawayoftheday page fortrojan,malware activities
    do you guys have it too?
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye i just got it as well, i wonder if its an FP or if malware is hosted on the site today (perhaps a hacking?)
     
  10. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    yeah smell like it..
     
  11. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    192
    yeah avast! WebShield blocked giveawayoftheday.com hmmm..
     
  12. hirudoid2

    hirudoid2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Just could not find the settings to change in the firewall to let the webshield work. I gave the rights to the webshield process, but to no avail.
    Windows 7 Home 64.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.