Problem when resizing a partition

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by jlbksmith, Nov 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlbksmith

    jlbksmith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I am having problems resizing a partition. After going through the steps to setup the partition to increase and the partition to decrease I "commit" the process and the computer immediately asks to reboot, which I accept. During the reboot process I can see that the partition software is working but after the reboot is complete the partitions haven't changed size. In the log it says that the operation was terminated by user. I never terminated anything. I never touched the computer during the reboot. Any ideas?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jlbksmith,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Management Software.

    Could you please download Acronis Report utility available at http://www.acronis.com/files/support/AcronisReport.exe and run it, create a report and send it to us? This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Please also clarify what partition (system or logical) are you trying to resize?

    Please collect the information requested above and contact us from our web-site: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/support/ . Please don't forget to send the link to this thread along with gathered information. This would allow us to investigate the problem and help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Semyonov Vasily
     
  3. Yifeng Ho

    Yifeng Ho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem here with my SATA drive. The workaround is to boot my computer with the CD created by Media Builder. After that, resizing works just fine.
     
  4. Black Mamba

    Black Mamba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3

    Attached Files:

  5. janch

    janch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I'm experiencing a similar problem. Under XP I'm trying to split up my C partition into a C and J partition. After the definition phase I click on "commit" and than the computer immediately asks to reboot. After the reboot it appears that nothing has been changed.

    regards, Jan
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    First of all, please check each partition of your hard drive by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run
    then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command
    "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drive.

    Please note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    After that please install this SnapAPI update with disabled logging and see whether the problem persists.

    If the problem does persist, please enable logging by running the update once more, reproduce the program failure and collect the c:\snapapi.log file. Please also create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  7. tidalgrace

    tidalgrace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I am getting the exact same problem as these two other posters. I have a drive (c:) and want to split it up into c: and j:. I got through the program's steps, hit restart, machine boots, looks like it is doing something related to partioning, then, we Windows boots... nothing has changed!

    I just bought this and would like to return it. Can I? I don't want to monkey around with sending logs and stuff. To me, that is free debugging. This should have been taken care of before it was deployed.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tidalgrace,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    According Acronis Refund Policy you may request a full refund from Acronis for any reason within 30 days of your software download purchase.
    Please also note that Acronis cannot refund purchases made at retail outlets. Please refer to the retail outlet's refund policy on this matter.

    Please take a look on Acronis Refund Policy section at our web site.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach the link to this thread to your request. We will provide you with further refund instructions.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  9. brianraj

    brianraj Guest

    I had the exact same problem too and struggled for half a day trying to resolve it. I finally came upon a post by Juerg at https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=105588 .
    Creating a bootable CD and running Disk Director from the CD to resize the C: partition worked smoothly.
     
  10. marclebeau

    marclebeau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I am also having this problem and have tried everything that is mentioned here with no luck. When I try the bootable cd, it won't even let me select the C:drive to partition. I've contacted customer support via email over 2 days ago and have not received an answer. Any other ideas before I pursue a refund?
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello marclebeau,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Could you please let me know your Acronis request # (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? I will find out the reason for the delay. If you have not received an autoreply then please send me a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  12. Meadows

    Meadows Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I am also having all the same problems as the other posterss above,

    I've had enough of trying to make this software work, and would like to request a refund, how do I go about this?

    Meadows
     
  13. marclebeau

    marclebeau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Kirill-

    My request number was 456520. Thanks for any help you can give.

    Marc
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Meadows and Marc,

    Please take a look at my post above.

    As I can see, our support engineer Alexey Vokhmianin is already working on your issue. Please send him the requested information and he will certainly provide you with the further instructions.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.