Problem w/ ESS b2

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by IcePanther, Sep 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IcePanther

    IcePanther Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    (nearby) Paris, France
    Hi,

    I recently bought a new computer, which came with Windows Vista. I installed ESS beta2 on it, and then, the problems started :

    First, my home router (a Linksys WRT54GS with DD-WRT as a custom firmware) used to have WPA2/AES set as the wireless encryption. Now, when ESS was installed, the computer didn't connect to the network at all, and I had to revert it to WPA/TKIP. Now, on my other computer which runs XP, no problem. Now, with ESS uninstalled, no problem regarding the WPA2.

    Second, I'm a big TES4 : Oblivion player, and I was very disappointed to find that I can't open any .7z archive (a format widely used among the oblivion modders community) when ESS is installed : they seem to download properly but then appear corrupt (either with 7-zip itself or WinRAR), whatever the configuration for web antivirus is (firefox set as a browser or not, with active filtering or not). Again, with ESS uninstalled, no problem.

    This thread's just to notify people at ESET about these problems, and see of someone else had the same. As for me, I'll just wait beta2a / beta3 / rc / whatever the next public build is.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Do not set your browsers to higher efficiency mode as it may corrupt files. This bug has been fixed in the mean time. As for the problem with WPA2, try enabling logging all blocked connections and check the firewall log for details in case there's some info.
     
  3. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    the bug being fixed - is that the one with zip files and active broowser settings??

    Ruben

    Test - no :)-((
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2007
  4. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
  5. Najmi

    Najmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    hmmm i am using ESS with WPA2 with AES

    no issues..
     
  6. IcePanther

    IcePanther Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    (nearby) Paris, France
    If I understand you correctly, this bug (with .7z archives) has been resolved -is the solution available via automatic updates or do I have to wait for the next beta for it to be fixed ? EDIT : I reinstalled ESS (much faster than KIS even on this new dual core system) and the bug persists when active mode is on for firefox, so I guess it will be fixed in an upcoming release. Anyway, I can just disable active mode when downloading .7z files in the meantime...

    Also, I'll try to do as you suggested, but I doubt that was the problem since it happened even with the firewall disabled. This problem occurs on the router at my secondary location, so I may not be able to tell for a while (until I get back there)
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2007
  7. IcePanther

    IcePanther Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    (nearby) Paris, France
    Hi,

    My WPA2 (or WPA) / AES problem seems not to be ESS related but Vista related. I uninstalled ESS just for kicks and still it doesn't connect to my routers if I use AES. :(
     
  8. FredGreco

    FredGreco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    What does this mean? Where is the setting for "higher efficiency" for browsers?

    Some help would be appreciated - I have experienced corrupt archive downloads as well.
     
  9. IcePanther

    IcePanther Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    (nearby) Paris, France
    In ESS, it's called "active mode" and not "higher efficiency"... It's under advanced setup -> antivirus protection -> web access protection -> HTTP -> web browsers -> active mode.

    Disabling it for firefox (because it's the one I use, you may disable the setting for your download client/browser) solved the problem when I downloaded archives, now corruption doesn't occur. Nevertheless, I leave it on when I don't download archives for security purposes.
    Hoping this was helpful,
     
  10. woody72

    woody72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    has anyone else had a problem updating? ess beta 2 reports 'base file missing' any thoughts?
     
  11. stueycaster

    stueycaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  12. woody72

    woody72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    nice one, cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.