Problem using DrWeb

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by steve, Dec 26, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    I've been using DrWeb Antivirus for a while now with no problems. I now
    have received a new computer and I have retired my old computer. When I
    install DrWeb on my new computer I get a blue screen of death when
    Spider Guard tries to start. The info from the blue screen is as follows.

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    STOP: 0x0000000A (0x00050000, 0x000000FF, 0x00000000, 0x805c88AE)

    This blue screen happens whenever I try and load Spider Guard. I
    configured it to not load at startup and tried loading it once Windows
    has started but I still get the same blue screen of death.

    This problem is occurring with DrWeb version 4.29a.

    I had an older copy of 4.28c scanner version 4.28d. I installed it and
    and it works fine but I have a problem when I try and update to the
    latest virus signatures. It also downloads the latest version 4.29a and
    then I'm back to the blue screens.

    How do I manually update the virus signatures? Please be as specific as
    possible.

    The specs for the computer is as follows.

    P IV 3.06GHz with HyperThreading. 1024mb DDR SDRAM at 333MHz. ATI
    Radeon 9700 128MB DDR. Integrated NIC. WinXP SP1 with all the latest
    service patches.

    Any help with this problem is appreciated.
     
  2. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
  3. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    I have already submitted the request via their web form and also by email. I haven't heard back from them yet. I was hoping someone here might have a suggestion. I'm not sure what would cause such a problem, but the mail differences with my new hardware are the Hyperthreading processor and the integrated NIC. My old computer didn't have integrated NIC or hyperthreading. I'm not even sure if either of these would cause the problems but I'm leaning towards one of them being the cause.
     
  4. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I imagine response is going to be a little slow considering its the Holiday season.
    I don't know hyperthreading from green onions, so I can't help much, but I do know that NICs can cause some pretty wierd problems and tend to be very hard to isolate.
    Since its integrated. I guess the only thing one could do would be to disable it and see if the problem goes away.
    That of course depends on how much work you want to put into chasing this down. :D
    I think I would wait for a reply from Dialogue Science for a while.
     
  5. Douglas

    Douglas Guest

    Steve,
    Go to www.dials.ru/english and at the right of the page under "Virus definition updates" you'll see the "hot add-on". Download that and unzip it to your main DrWeb directory.
    That's all.
    You may still have a problem, but that's sure beyond my expertise.

    Hoping it works for now,
    Douglas
     
  6. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    I knew it was going to be slow, but I haven't even gotten any response. I've been playing around some trying to figure out what's going on. I disabled hyperthreading in the BIOS but this didn't solve the problem. I haven't tried disabling the NIC yet but that will be next. I have 4.29a installed now with SpiderGuard disabled. I can do manual scans with DRWeb without problems, the issue seems to only be with SpiderGuard. If I find a solution, I'll post it.
     
  7. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks, I wasn't sure if I needed to also download any of the other files or not.
     
  8. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Well, it's not the onboard NIC either. I disabled it in the BIOS and I still get the errors. I'm out of ideas now.
     
  9. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
  10. Douglas

    Douglas Guest

    Steve, I really have to apologize. I don't think that just downloading the one"hot add-on" is going to bring you up to date with all the virus signatures since version 4.28. There is the section "other weekly add-ons for the current version". Clicking on that brings up a new page that has a large list of signature files you can download. That might work.
    Again, I'm very sorry for any misinformation.

    Douglas
     
  11. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks, that gives some useful info on how to read the error. I found some more info on a different site that states the following.

    "RAM physical addresses from 0x00050000 to the end of RAM are available for general use."

    This would lead me to now believe the problem is with my type of ram. I do have two stick of ram and I removed each one at a time to see if one was faulty but I still got the error. The only difference was with just one stick of ram it changed from 0x00050000 to 0x00040000. Maybe I will hear back from Dialogue Science sometime in the near future.
     
  12. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Problem is solved with 4.29b. Although I never got a reply to my email, I guess the info I sent was enough for them to fix the problem.
     
  13. Douglas

    Douglas Guest

    Hi Steve,
    Very glad to hear that.
    Don't forget to get the new SpiderMail. It's great, and you now have options.

    Regards,
    Douglas
     
  14. steve

    steve Security Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    36
    Got it, thanks. It's one of the main reasons I use DrWeb.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.