Problem using backup and recovery

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hc6700, Jul 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hc6700

    hc6700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    I have True Image Home 11.0 build 8053. I use it on my desktop (XP Pro SP2), using a Corsair Voyager 16gb flash drive. It works like a charm.
    I just got a Samsung NP-NC20 laptop/netbook with XP Home SP3. I'm using another 16gb corsair voyager and I'm having problems. I was able to make the voyager bootable.
    Trying to Backup:
    When I boot into Acronis and I try to make a complete backup image of my system, I get a message saying that Acronis couldn't find a HDD. The samsung has 3 partitions: a recovery partition-6GB, partition C with the OS on it-25GB, and partition D - 118GB.

    However, When I go to the desktop, I'm able to do a complete backup of the system.

    Recovery:
    When I boot into Acronis and try to recover, I get the same message that Acronis can't find a HDD.
    When I try to do a recovery in Windows here's what happens.
    The backup image on my voyager is in 2 parts. I click on either the first part or the second part and I choose the C partition first and when Acronis asks me which partition I want to save it to, the C partition is greyed out, so I can't highlight or choose it.
    If I try to save the recovery partition first, that works. But I still can't save the C partition because it is greyed out and can't be highlighted.
    the same thing happens if I choose the D partition. I can save it, but the C partition is always greyed out and can't ge hightlighted.

    What can I do.
    thanks
    hc
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Make sure that what you are seeing as C is really the C part on the Samsung. The bootable media is Linux and changes the drive letters so they are not what they will be when you are in Windows.
    Give your partitions unique names so you can identify them by the names and not have to rely on drive letters.
     
  3. hc6700

    hc6700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Thanks Down,
    The C is really the C. Even if I treat it like another partition, when I choose it, it never is a choice to save the partition to. It always is greyed out. I'm concerned because C is the OS partiion and when I boot to Acronis, it gives me the message that it can't find the HDD.
    I'm wondering if the samsung recovery partition is creating the problem.
    Anyway, if any administrators can give me guidance, it would be appreciated.
    thanks
    hc
     
  4. hc6700

    hc6700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    If a site administrator could respond, it would be much appreciated.
    thanks
    hc
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    hc:

    It sounds likely that the recovery version of TI11 is unable to support the hardware in your new netbook. Recovery versions of TI use Linux and there may not be driver support for your netbook's chipset.

    Here are four things that you can try:

    1. Log into your account on the Acronis web site and go to your supported products. Click on TI11 and see if Acronis has posted a downloadable ISO for the bootable media. An illustration is shown here. If so, try the updated ISO.
    2. Does your recovery flash drive also include the safe media version of TI? If not, download it from the Acronis web site and build another bootable flash drive. Safe mode does not include networking or USB support but if your netbook's BIOS supports it, USB disks may be supported.
    3. Download the trial version of TI 2009 and install it on a test machine. Create a bootable USB flash drive with it. TI 2009 is newer than TI 11 and it may have the needed Linux drivers for your netbook. Keep in mind that the trial version cannot make a backup from the recovery environment, but it can restore and it will be able to restore TI 11 archives.
    4. Contact Acronis support via the Live Chat feature on their web site. They may be able to send you an updated ISO file that will support your hardware.

    Hope this helps...
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    In addition to Mark's suggestions, you might also try updating to the latest build of TI 11 (8,101). It may fix the problem. Realize, though, that if the Full Mode version doesn't find the drive, even if the updated build shows it correctly in Windows, the restore will fail when TI reboots to process it.

    If I'm understanding the problem correctly, you've created and image of the C: partition, but TI won't let you select that partition as a valid restoration destination even though it's the original partition. Is that correct? If so, I've seen that before. Usually, it requires a slight resize of the partition to fix the problem.

    It may also help to see a screenshot of what TI shows and what Disk Management shows.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    hc6700, this issue can be fixed by ISO file you can get from us. Please submit a request for technical support. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution. Also, you may try to download trial version of Acronis True Image Home 2009 and check whether CD from this version works.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  8. hc6700

    hc6700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Thanks for your replies folks. This is so unbelievably complex. I feel like I need a Phd in computer technology. Why does Acronis make products that are so difficult for an average computer person to use.
    No matter what computer I use TI on, there is always a specific problem that takes hours and weeks of trouble shooting for me to understand and rectify in order to make the product useable. When I first used TI on my desk top, it took 2 weeks for me to get it to work, and that was with a very patient Mud Crab explaining things to me in words I could understand.
    Frustrating.
     
  9. hc6700

    hc6700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    I contacted Acronis online chat and they told me that installing build 8101 would solve the problem. I installed that and here is what happened.

    Again, my laptop is a Samsung Netbook NP NC20 with a VIA Nano processor U2250 and an IDE Samsung 160GB HDD.

    I created a bootable disc in windows using a Corsair 16GB flash voyager drive (which I have used successfully on my desktop system).

    I used it to boot into ATI Home Full Version. I then clicked on Backup – Next – Backup My Computer – Next – and then I got an error message saying E000101F4 – ATI Home has not found any hard drive disks.

    This is the same message I got before and Acronis told me that that build 8101 would solve the problem.

    So I booted back to the desktop and opened ATI. I clicked on Backup – Chose Backup MY Computer – (it didn’t show me that error message) I chose Disks and Partitions – Next – and it showed both of my partitioned correctly and with the right size. Those partitions were:
    NTFS (C) - Pri, Act
    New Volume D – Prim

    Under backup location I chose my Corsair – Next – Create a full backup – next – use default options – next – (I wrote a description of the backup) – then clicked proceed.
    The backup went fine and the backup files were there. I also successfully validated the backup which showed both of my partitions correctly.

    I then booted into ATI Home Full Version and tried to validate the backup file and got the same error message.

    I went back to the desktop and tried a test recovery there. That went well, showing both of my partitions. The only odd thing was that it asked me to reboot after recovering each of the partitions (which it never asked me to do on my desktop).

    I didn’t complete the recovery because I didn’t want to take the risk until I contacted you.

    So, I still can boot into ATI H Full Version but can’t backup, validate or recover there.

    What next
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.