Problem pushing new configs to cleints

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by thenoble06, Jun 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thenoble06

    thenoble06 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    Hi everyone,

    I'm guessing I'm doing something wrong here, since I've searched and I can't find anyone else with this problem - but I can't seem to send new configurations out to clients.

    I have around 100 NOD clients, the majority on v3 and a small test group on v4 of NOD. We run RAC v3.1.111 as well.

    I have configured the config using the config editor as i would like it to be - but when I send it out to the clients - although the task completes successfully - there are no changes on the clients.

    I am esp wanting to delete a couple of scheduled tasks and add a couple of new tasks in, as well as change a few other settings - but with no joy.

    We run Vista SP1 clients in the main (with a few still on XP) but this happens across the board.

    Is there something obvious I am missing - since I REALLY don't want to have to visit 100 desktops to make the changes!!

    Any help would be great!

    A
     
  2. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello thenoble06,

    Are the machines all using the same configuration? If so please try this.

    Right click a client in the Console and choose "Configuration" from the menu. In the new window put a check in the box "Use the downloaded configuration in the new configuration task" and then click "New Task > "Edit".

    That configuration file is the configuration currently in use across the network. You only want to mark or unmark the parameters you want to change. Everything else will remain as they were.

    To delete a task from the client machine double click the Scheduler/Planner parameter and highlight the tasks you want to delete and click "Mark for deletion".

    You can now create the new tasks in that same window with the Add button.

    After changing only what you want changed go Console > Save Changes > Next. In here you will have to drag all clients you want to effect from the Left pane and drop them in the right. Now go Next > Finish.

    The next time they check in with the server that configuration should be applied.

    One thing however. The tasks deleted on the clients will still be listed in the configuration file. Just redo the above steps but this time instead of clicking "Mark for deletion" click "Remove from list".

    Please let us know if this succeeds.
    BFG
     
  3. thenoble06

    thenoble06 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    Hi BFG - cheers for the reply.

    I have tried what you have said. I have 'doctered' my clients config manually and then has you have said I pulled that config into the editor, saved it, and pushed it out to everyone (99% use the same config). As I remember - that did not work. However - I did use a config I had changed manually.

    When I get to work tomorrow - I'll look at a 'normal' config on a client - pull that back - change it and send it out again and then see what happens.

    I'll report back BFG - thanks for the help...

    Thinking about it - is it possible to push a totally default/blank config to everyone - and then start again from scratch?
     
  4. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello thenoble06,

    It's my pleasure.

    Regarding the use of a blank Configuration file. If you do that none of the tasks you want to delete will be listed. You would still have to export a file from a client and then list the tasks by their ID number. That's why I asked if they all had the same configuration. If they don't, the ID #s of the tasks will be different and the changes won't be made on those clients.

    v4.0 added the ability to change many parameters that aren't available though the Configuration editor in v3. I would use a Configuration on those machines specific to them as you upgrade. You could keep the configuration as a template and always use it when upgrading or adding clients.

    Please let us know how it goes.

    BFG
     
  5. thenoble06

    thenoble06 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    I wonder if that is what I have done - in that I've messed with the configs so much over the year(s) that some users have configs with different tasks IDs for the same tasks.

    I'll know more tomorrow when I can get a look...I'll report back! :)
     
  6. thenoble06

    thenoble06 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    Well - even though I was pretty sure I had done this before - the above advice from BFG has worked. Weird! Although I did upgrade RAS/C from 3.0 to 3.1.111 Friday morning - maybe that helped.

    There were a few clients with config files that give scheduled tasks a different ID number - so I dragged in a config from a working client, saved it, added some dummy tasks to the scheduler and changed the IDs to be the same as the tasks I wanted to delete from other clients and set those tasks to mark for deletion.

    I pushed that config to everyone and some failed with a 1012,2 error - but that is OK since that means the task I created to be deleted were not there in the first place.

    So it looks like this issue is fixed. Ta for the help BFG!

    Just need to work out why RAC won't install on my Vista SP2 machine now! :argh:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.