Problem of access following a block of WG?

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Atomas31, Feb 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Hi,

    Recently I have added, to wormguard, some extensions to block, one of them was .msc but since I couldn't open services.msc and anything on my administration tools for that matter (wormguard was blocking it) so I decide to remove those extensions from my block list. The only problem is that now, I can not acces anything from my administation tools eithero_O? I receive a message telling me that The "access is refuse", why? What did Wormguard did or didn't do to create that problem? What can I do to solve this problem?

    I have Windows XP with SP2, there is only one account on my computer which have the administrator right.

    Thank you for your help,
    Atomas31
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Atomas, Try removing detection closing then restarting WG then install again, the hook probably needs to restart to reset WGs the block list.
    You caould also add .msc to the allowed list to see if that clears it.

    HTH Pilli. :)
     
  3. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Hi Pilli,

    I've tried everything you said but the access to c:\windows\system32\services.msc still refusedo_O Look's like WG change the access right to those files, so now, how or where can I get my access right backo_O My access is refused (by windows himself) to any administration tools that has extension .msc?

    Thank you for your help,
    Atomas31
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi, The easy way maybe to use a restore point prior to the time you added .msc to the list. I am researching an answer for you.
    I assume you used the block list editor to remove it first?

    Pilli
     
  5. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia

    Hi Atomas31 :).

    I am wondering if the filetype association has been corrupted. Can you please do this:

    >Open My Computer
    >Click on TOOLS
    >Click on FOLDER OPTIONS
    >Click on FILE TYPES

    Then scroll down to MSC. It should say that it opens with the Microsoft Management Console.


    What does it say?


    Regards,
    Jade.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Hi Bowserman,

    Just one question : where do I found "my computer" to open?

    Thanks,
    Atomas31
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Sart -control panel - folder options - File types :)

    HTH Pilli
     
  8. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Ok, I got it now and at open with there is nothing? What should I do now?

    Thanks' Pilli,

    Atomas31
     
  9. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    Ok:

    >Highlight the extension MSC
    >Select CHANGE
    >Select BROWSE
    >Browse to C:\WINDOWS\system32\mmc.exe and double click on it

    The filetype MSC should now open with the Microsoft Management Console.


    Regards,
    Jade.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Thank you very much Bowserman and Pilli, it is now working great :)

    Atomas31
     
  11. Bowserman

    Bowserman Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Posts:
    510
    Location:
    South Australia
    No problem...only too glad to help :).

    Best regards,
    Jade.
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    We got there in the End :)
     
  13. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Is this a bug that needs to be addressed or normal behavior for WG?

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  14. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Chris I doubt that it will be addressed in this build but WG4 should correct the errors when it arrives.

    Pilli
     
  15. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Good to hear!

    Thanks Pilli.

    Chris
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.