Problem connecting to Google

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by jermain, Nov 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I have the same issue. I can't access the google.com site either. I have to do all my searches from yahoo, or other search engines. I'm tired of not being able to access google.o_O
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Google Toolbar stop working

    Wilfredo's issue was the Google toolbar....yours is somewhat different in that you can not access Google ? What happens when you attempt to go to Google.com ?

    If you are using a Hosts file have you taken a gander at it's contents to make sure Google is not listed ?
     
  3. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Google Toolbar stop working

    When I go to google.com it hangs in the download for several mins. then goes to the default "page cannot be displayed, check your network settings" page.:eek:
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Google Toolbar stop working

    Can you go to Google via it's IP addy ?

    Google IP---> http://64.233.161.99
     
  5. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Google Toolbar stop working

    I don't know what an ip addy is. I did try the link to google and it hangs and defaults as well. Please help.I'd like to be able to use google again.
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    you might try clearing your browser cache and then try it again ;)
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Google Toolbar stop working

    An IP addy is those numbers you see in the link you clicked on.

    The results you are seeing is also indicative of a Hosts file. Do you know if you are using a Hosts file ?
     
  8. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I don't know what a hosts file is either. I just install the stuff and use it. Also, where do I clear the cache for the browser? I know how to delete the cookies, clear the history, and form contents. Is that clearing the cache?

    I now know what an addy is, it's the numerical web address instead of the text web address.
     
  9. paralegalcg

    paralegalcg Guest

    We can't connect either -- i deleted the google toolbar and still cannot connect. This is an office building and we use google alot. I cleared my cache several times, checked the modem, and non of the settings have been changed. What's upo_O
     
  10. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Well, does this lack of a response mean "I don't know?" I've been gone for a week and thought I'd return to the solution. I still can't access google.com. Can you recommend a forum that would have more knowledge?
    :doubt:
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I'll assume you did not attempt to find out what a Hosts file is or attempt to locate it :doubt:

    Given the fact we do not know what operating system you have I'll ask you to look for this Hosts file given the locations below.

    Windows XP = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC
    Windows 2K = C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC
    Win 98/ME = C:\WINDOWS

    Note: ....you will be looking for a file named hosts....without an extension.

    How to NOT hide extensions in Windows
     
  12. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    It might also help to know what other "stuff" you have installed.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  13. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Ok, so I now know what a hosts file is, or not. What am I supposed to be looking for in this file. I open it with word pad and see all these urls. So......what now? I wish there was a forum for dummies, so I dint have to go through all this stringing along. At this rate, it'll be next year before I get to use google.com again. Oh after downloading that host file and running the batch file provided which replaced my current hosts file and renamed it host.mvp or something, I still can't get to google.com:rolleyes:
     
  14. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I deleted anything that had to do with google or had the word google in it I could find, from the hosts file. Still doesn't work.
     
  15. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Would you mind uploading that particular hosts file as an attachment to one of your posts Please. If that's not possible....move that file from it's present location or delete the file and try Google again. That's one sure way to tell if it is the Hosts file.

    Normally I would over look that but that really was uncalled for :mad:

    If you hang around Wilders long enough and I hope you do....you might just have to experience what crow tastes like. We....and that goes for all the members that visit these Forums on a regular basis attempt to do our level best in attempting to assist users to the best of our ability. We are by no means a fast moving forum but We do give what We can when We can.
     
  16. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Day 35. Still no connection to google. The withdrawals have been painful. One wonders if there will ever be another google day. I set hoping to be kidnapped by aliens, so that in their doings they might reconnect me to google. It's my last hope. I suddenly am aware I've entered, "THE TWIGHLIGHT ZONE!":rolleyes:
     
  17. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Did you try already https://www.google.com
    or
    216.239.37.104

    Gerard

     
  18. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Jermain, Bubba requested you attach a txt file of your hosts file for us to peruse.

    Go to the directory where your hosts file is located [instructions already given by bubba], open it in Notepad/Wordpad....

    Then:

    1] Do a 'Save AS...' give the file a name, does not matter what it is, make sure it has the extension .txt on end and save to your Desktop would be the easiest.

    2] This is presuming you have not 'attached' a file before ok, ignore if you know what to do.

    Now, make a reply to this thread, but below the typing window, you will see a section called 'Attach Files' click on 'Manage Attachments' another little popup window will appear, click on the 'Browse' button [1], another window will open, go to the Desktop [wherever] you saved the file, click on it and clik on the 'Open' button in that window.
    Back in the first popup window, click on 'Upload' [2] and then wait. It will tell you it's upload, just close that window [3] and once finished replying in the normal typing window, click 'Submit Reply' as usual, it will put your post up plus the file for us to download and look at. OK!

    See pic, of mine re uploads.

    TAS
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Yes, as Gerard asked, have you tried those addresses..

    Just click/hold and swipe your cursor over each of the links Gerard gave, paste in the address bar and see if you can go there. Using the full https first, then take the 's' off, then try just the IP addy itself [just the numbers].

    TAS
     
  20. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  21. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    ok, here's the host list:blink:
     

    Attached Files:

  22. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Ok, I sent the list you guys asked for but no response since then. Anyway, that wouldn't have fixed it. The problem has to be with my cell phone carrier. I found I am able to get onto google if I access the net through a wifi access point, like freedomlink, or a hotel wifi. I cannot access google through my cell phone connection. It seems T-Mobile has a thing against google, I suppose. Maybe they're protesting them censoring for China?:D
    OH well, thanks for trying guys, so I did do all those things but that wouldn't change anygthing if it's filtered from the isp. Hmmm, I'm not as dense as you thought I was. Wow, those voices in my head are working together!:blink: :gack: o_O
     
  23. Snowie

    Snowie Guest

    Jermain


    Greetings........it would be a pleasent gesture if you would at the very least say "I am sorry" or "Excuse Me" to moderator BUBBA......he really went that extra mile trying to help you.............an he did not need to.

    Of course its your decision........just thought it would be the decent thing to do......I am not trying to bud into your business......its just that Bubba worked real hard in an effort to assist you.....an deserves a gesture of gratitude........but again...the decision is totally yours......no one here gets payment for their knowledge or efforts to help others,.....all they "sometimes" receive is a "Thank You"


    Respectfully

    Snowie The Snowman
     
  24. Carver

    Carver Guest

    Well said Snowie. Jermain problems get solved one steep at a time, nobody has a magic wand. Lose the attude, nobody will want to help some help someone if all they get in return is alot of abuse and they are unwilling to do what is necessary to get the problem solved.
     
  25. jermain

    jermain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    My aren't we the sensitive sorts! Well Snowie, if you'll look at my response you can note that the words, "THANK YOU" are there. I'm sorry, I dint know I need to address credit to every person involved in this learning experience. I do know that whenever you respond to any one with this type of problem in the future, you will first insist on them answering this question, "Are you accessing the net through a cell phone modem?" Hmmmm.....Hmmmm...., so do I get a thanks for persistently pursuing you for an answer to my problems, when the redundant responses would have caused many to find another forum, in my opinion? I thought that since other people were having this sort of problem, my efforts of getting to the bottom of it would benefit all.

    Ok, so you have knowledge now that many other forums don't have. It was tasking to your patience to find, but THANK YOU FOR FINDING IT!
    The massess are sighing.:cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.