Problem 2: Acronis Startup Recovery Manager causes MBR Error

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by kaispeth, Nov 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kaispeth

    kaispeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Here is another issue I could use some help with.

    I made the mistake to enable the Startup Recovery Manager.
    Realized it didn't work well with my multi Raid system and unistalled it again.

    the Recovery Manager makes changes to the VISTA BCD and now I get a brief flicker saying: MBR Error 3

    It just flashes by and the system boots and works fine thereafter.

    However this bothers me. Tried the bootrec.exe /fixmbr ..tells me it completes but it doesn't fix the issue.
    If I try /fixboot or /rebuildbcd....it tells me something missing.

    anyone has an idea how I can do this step by step?
    Thanks
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello kaispeth,

    Please fix your MBR as described in this post.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  3. kaispeth

    kaispeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks but this seems to be a FIX for WIN XP which has a very different Bootloader and MBR siuation. I do not want to try this without getting an OK from you that this will work with my system.
    I also use a AAMC 3ware SATA RAID controller that I boot from.

    This MBR error 3 really slows up my boot times and makes me nervous.
    As I said all works once booted but I do want to create a new MBR to get rid off this issue...for VISTA please .

    thank you

    KAIo_O
     
  4. kaispeth

    kaispeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Me again,
    please confirm that this CD will work with VISTa 32bit and my 3ware SATA RAID controller.
    2. Using CD. Please use the following ISO image to create a special CD:

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support...towrite_en.iso

    You can read how to record a CD with an ISO image at the following links:

    http://trb.org/publications/burning_iso.html
    (Nero Burning ROM and Roxio Easy CD Creator)

    http://iso.snoekonline.com/iso.htm
    http://www.petri.co.il/how_to_write_iso_files_to_cd.htm
    (other applications)

    Once the CD is written, boot the computer from it and confirm that you want to fix the master boot record.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello kaispeth,

    I'm sorry, I overlooked the fact you use Windows Vista. Please instead check the disk for errors including surface check. Then please try /fixmbr, /fixboot and /rebuildbcd again.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  6. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    If you have an earlier backup image, taken prior to activating ASRM, you can restore your MBR from that image.

    This solution worked for me.

    Hope this helps!
     
  7. kaispeth

    kaispeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks,

    do not have an earlier image that is the problem as TI was not working with the Trenad Micro Internet Suite installed.

    Also I did a full scan/surface scan of my C drive....no issues.
    Tonight I will try the bootrec.exe /REBUILDCD again.

    Hope it works, again my PC works but bootup is taken so much longer eversince this incident with the Acronis Startup Manager.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.