Proactive Security (HIPS) or Fwl?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by tec505, Jul 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    Can I use SSM or ProSecurity instead of a regular Firewall (such as ZA, OA, COMODO or others)?

    Is it sufficient to obtain a good security or these are real two different products, not comparable and with not the same purposes?

    Thanks in advance to everyone would illuminate me :cool:
    Best regards.
    Mike
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Theyre different products. HIPS dont provide inbound protection from hackers.

    Though if you already have a router or hardware firewall, you can use HIPS for outbound protection.
     
  3. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    Thank you for your reply.

    Mike
     
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Dynamic Security Agent (DSA) is a combination firewall & HIPS. Whereas ProSecurity only covers outgoing, DSA covers inbound as well as outgoing. However, DSA's firewall component is pretty much set-it-forget-it. If you like tweaking, choose something else -- there's very little to configure with DSA.

    For a HIPS with a full-on power firewall, have a look at Online Armor. OA is the swiss-army-knife of malware protection.
     
  5. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    Hi Bellgamin.
    OA is exactely what i would on my PC (Fwl+HIPS). I'm going to test onboard.
    I can add that ZA Pro (or other fwl) + HIPS are more expensive than only one product like OA, I think.
     
  6. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Prosecurity handles both incoming and outgoing connections. If you're behind a firewalled router then PS is sufficient imo.
     
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I do not know of any stand-alone HIPS application (including Prosecurity) that even *claims* to provide incoming firewall capability of any significant effectiveness whatsoever.

    However, "if you're behind a firewalled router" (as the poster said) then you don't actually need ANY additional incoming protection. In fact a "firewalled" router isn't really essential, per se. Just about any old NAT (Network Address Translation) router will suffice -- even a cheapie.
     
  8. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I don't know if it has full on firewall capabilities but from personal experience it does allow you to control inbound connections to applications.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.