PrivaZer Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by The_PrivaZer_Team, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,113
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Manually deleting restore points gives no error. I see the error on the PrivaZer UI when deleting restore points.
     
  2. fredvries

    fredvries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Harlingen - The Netherlands
    I was wondering if Privazer cleans Tracing keys. All tracing keys are located in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Tracing

    These keys are deleted by Malwarebytes' AdwCleaner. They claim that malware sometimes target these keys and they can safely be removed.
     
  3. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    Hello @fredvries

    job done in v3.0.78 just released.
    1. Tracing data will be erased in the registry while keeping the settings untouched in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Tracing

    2. Tracing files will be erased.
    Hope it helps,

    Fladen,
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2019
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,113
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
     

    Attached Files:

  5. fredvries

    fredvries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Harlingen - The Netherlands
    I was wondering if Privazer should clean some additional files from Windows Defender
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows Defender\Scans\History\Result\Quick
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows Defender\Scans\History\Result\Resource

    and

    container.dat
    C\Users\[..]\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge_[..]\container.dat

    [Did I just earn a Donor's Version with all my suggestions?]
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2019
  6. takiabtom

    takiabtom Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Posts:
    54
    support@privazer.com

    I am trying to work out how to delete additional files from a directory.
    I would like the ability to use the wildcard e.g. *.mp3 but do not seem able to make it work.
    Please advise if this is possible and how to set it up. If not possible can it be made so?
    Many thanks.
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,035
    PrivaZer v3.0.79 Released (27 September 2019)
    Download
    Download Donors Version
     
  8. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    We will look into your issues, guys.
    Sorry for delay. We were working on adding ADS cleanup ;)
     
  9. Tmod700

    Tmod700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ok since I am not able to get a reply via support email I will ask here. Is there a way to point to a firefox profile that is located in a different location? I tried using the path in Privazer settings and it does not allow sub folder location. Example I can populate it with E:\Mozilla_Profiles but I am not able to add the Firefox profile folder to the end of that path. Was wondering why Privazer didn't clean firefox at all.
     
  10. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    Have you tried editing the path variable for your profile in the profiles.ini file?
    Mine is at: C:\Users\kronckew\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\profiles.ini
     
  11. Tmod700

    Tmod700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yep the folder path I have the profile data located is correct in profiles.ini
     
  12. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    Hello,

    PrivaZer will look into %appdata%\Mozilla\Firefox\profiles.ini to retrieve FF profile paths.

    Under "Advanced Options" > "Internet Browsing" in PrivaZer you can add custom profile paths to scan/clean.
    But there is a limitation : Privazer checks if the path, you added there, contains a subfolder named "profile" or "profiles".
    If none found, the path you added is not considered as valid.
    I'm sure we will be able to improve this, by checking the content of the folder, not its name.

    I will prepare a modifed version of PrivaZer. I keep you posted @Tmod700.

    Fladen,
     
  13. takiabtom

    takiabtom Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Posts:
    54
    Could some kind person please tell me under which heading the new ADS clean takes place coz I have failed to see it listed.
    I have seen it actioned when hitting the CLEAN internet traces 1 click but it is not always there. Does it only get actioned when needed, if so how does the ordinary user discover whether a clean is needed or not?
     
  14. Tmod700

    Tmod700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    Hey Fladen,
    Just noticed that Privazer did follow E:\Mozilla_Profiles\Firefox profile\ path and it cleans some files but never did clean any cache files or folder as I had some before 2017 that still remained. Maybe Privazer doesn't clean the cache in the actual profiles folder but I would think it would or should. I see it cleaned WebCache but that is in the AppData path.
     
  15. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    @takiabtom,
    You are right, PrivaZer should always display the number of ADS cleaned during the cleanup process. So far, while deleting files and folders, if no ADS is found, PrivaZer won't display anything. In next release, it will show : "0 Ads cleaned" or better "0 ADS found" if none was found.

    The removal of ADS is always activated, when removing a file or a folder with Privazer.

    Hope it helps.

    @Tmod700,
    Could you give the full path of a cache file that still remains?
     
  16. Tmod700

    Tmod700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Idaho
    Here ya go, E:\Mozilla_Profiles\Firefox profile\cache2\entries\*.*
    And there is one file "index" located in E:\Mozilla_Profiles\Firefox profile\cache2
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2019
  17. takiabtom

    takiabtom Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Posts:
    54
    Thanks for the feedback on ADS. Another simple conundrum. If I use privazer right mouse click in order to delete a directory the allocated space, file sectors and MFT are cleaned or deleted. Simple question is why do you not clean/delete the relevant sheelbag also?
     
  18. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    Good suggestion !
    If you want to securely delete some files and folders with PrivaZer, for instance, thanks to the right-click menu "Delete without a trace" in Windows Explorer,
    you are right, PrivaZer will overwrite for each files/folders, the allocated space (occupied sectors) if any, slack space and the MFT entry (scrambling dates, overwriting file size, file name, etc., and now Alternate Data Streams as well).

    Shellbags entry should be deleted also and it is not so far. Will be added in a next release. Thanks for this brilliant idea, @takiabtom
     
  19. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    @Tmod700,
    are you sure Firefox is closed when cleaning it with PrivaZer.
    (If not, cache files may not be cleaned as expected)
     
  20. fredvries

    fredvries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Harlingen - The Netherlands
    I was wondering if Privazer already deletes Outlook Searched Items. See here.
     
  21. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    No.
    Thanks for all your suggestions. We will investigate if it makes sense or not. We keep you posted.
     
  22. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    @Krusty,
    Display issue fixed in v3.0.80 just released : the restore point was deleted but gave an error message.
     
  23. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,329
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    PrivaZer version 3.0.80.0 has been released.
    Homepage - Download - Donors Version - Release Notes
     
  24. liba

    liba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    250
    I have two problems!

    https://i.postimg.cc/mL49yfNH/error.jpg

    Code:
    bugreport.txt
    https://ddl.to/vyfwgnsriqks
     
  25. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    746
    Location:
    US
    Hello @liba,
    I looked into this issue. Can you try v3.0.80 just released and send us the bugreport if any?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.