PrivaZer Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by The_PrivaZer_Team, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    748
    Location:
    US
    Which extension for instance?
     
  2. BabbleFish

    BabbleFish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    The big two for me are Chrono Download Manager and Sidewise Tree Tabs.
     
  3. DATACHECK

    DATACHECK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    United States
    I have a question for Privazer. I just got a new computer with a SSD-Hard-Drive. Since the SSD devices work completely different then the HDD, I read that because an SSD device constantly shuffles the file data across its cells to level their wear, and only the device itself knows where the file data is stored at a certain time. The OS has no control over this process, and moreover, it has no means to know the actual physical location of the data. Therefore, file wiping by the OS or third-party software makes no sense for SSD devices, as the new data cannot be written to the same cells where the old data was stored. Most likely it will be written to other cells and the old data will remain untouched. So my question is this, when I use Privazer on my new computer that has a new SSD Hard Drive, will all the information be completely erased?
     
  4. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Baana
    You are correct. SSDs handle data differently. Privazer cannot ensure a forensic proof erase.

    Now some disturbing MFT results...
    20181223.171809_SDZex4Siy6.png
    Help me understand why (see too typo Pinnedis... should be Pinned is).

    Also this...
    20181223.171353_OYXjU5YZ40.png

    My partitions are less than 50% occupied. Why is this occurring? TIA.
     
  5. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    748
    Location:
    US
    Hello to @all,

    @BabbleFish,
    I could not reproduce the issue with your extensions on Chrome.
    Do you you latest PrivaZer release? What is missing after automatic cleanup? Can you send us some screenshots at support@privazer.com or here?

    @DATACHECK,
    the best way to prevent from recovery on SSDs, is to perform a full cleanup of the free space to make sure that all sectors are overwritten.

    @Telos,
    By coincidence :), we were working on cleanup improvements releated to INDEX ROOT and INDEX ALLOCATION attributes in the MFT.

    When a file is in use, it makes the cleanup of those attributes harder and sometimes impossible (that's why you see an error message).
    We are working on new ways to get them cleaned anyway.
    It should be fixed and improved in the next release.

    The second error message is a consequence of the first one and it does not describe well the real issue as you noticed it.
    It will be fixed and improved in the next release.



    Thanks to @all here to make PrivaZer better this year and in 2019. Happy Christmas
     
  6. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    USA
    I saw this error yesterday and was going to post but was beat out by Telos :) Anyway, glad it will be fixed, I rely on Priivazer!
    Merry Christmas!
     
  7. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    USA
    I have a request for a cosmetic change for Privazer. The window position of the main UI is now static, could this be changed to remember where I put it on the screen? I have a large screen and I like to position things so that when they start they are in the same place every time.
    Thanks.
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,329
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
  9. Soft Life

    Soft Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    United States
    This is a really nice little program that will open your eyes. A typical user will think his tracks have been cleared with a cookie clean and all around browser scrubbing. Then he exits out and it's like a took a shower. You run this damn thing you'll find the old icons you looked at and the damn links themselves still stuffed into Windows somewhere. lol
     
  10. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    748
    Location:
    US
    @Telos,
    does the new MFT INDEX cleanup work well on your PC ?
    Some users report that it hangs sometimes when scanning...

    @Soft Life,
    nice to have you on board !

    @focus,
    we will investigate. It seems that the behavior is identical for Shellbags AnalyZer and Cleaner

    and HHHHHHHHHAPPY NEW YEAR !
     
  11. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks!
    Happy New Year to you all too!
     
  12. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,157
    PrivaZer v3.0.61 Released (04 January 2019)
    Download
    Download Donors Version
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,157
    PrivaZer v3.0.62 Released (08 January 2019)
    Download
    Download Donors Version
     
  14. Blablub23

    Blablub23 Guest

    Question:

    If I run the full scan (including everything; browser cache, cookies, sites visited etc) and do a clean up, does Privazer 'delete' the MFT entries of the the browser cache, cookies etc. too or does Privazer only delete the MFT traces which have been found in the 2nd step ('Traces in MFT')?
    I am asking this because the analysing process "Traces in MFT" comes before the analysing process 'Internet browsing'.

    Thank you
     
  15. speycer318is

    speycer318is Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    DE
    Sorry for Google translator

    Hello

    First of all, I think Privazer great please keep it up. :)

    I would like to install my Privazer dispenser version on a new device but I no longer have the license number.

    Unfortunately, I deleted the mail with the license Nr.

    What can I do now to get my license?

    Thank you
    greeting





    Hallo
    Erstmal ich finde Privazer super macht bitte weiter so. :)
    Ich möchte meine Privazer Spender Version auf einem neuen Gerät Installieren aber ich habe die Lizenz Nr nicht mehr .
    Leider habe ich die Mail mit der Lizenz Nr Gelöscht .
    Was kann ich jetzt machen um an meine Lizenz zu kommen ?
    Danke
    Gruß
     
  16. speycer318is

    speycer318is Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    DE

    Hello

    First of all, I think Privazer great please keep it up. :)

    I would like to install my Privazer dispenser version on a new device but I no longer have the license number.

    Unfortunately, I deleted the mail with the license Nr.

    What can I do now to get my license?

    Thank you
    greeting
     
  17. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    748
    Location:
    US
    @Blablub23,
    1. the scan of the MFT is the 2nd step of the entire scan process.
      But at the cleanup process, the MFT cleanup is the last step to make sure everything is cleaned in the MFT.

    2. When PrivaZer securely deletes files in the cleanup process (for instance, deleting an internet temporary file),
      it securely deletes the contents of those files (by overwriting them) AND it takes care of the corresponding MFT entries, deleting the file name, scrambling dates such as creation, modification dates contained in the MFT
    Hope it helps.


    @speycer318is,

    please send us a licence recovery request to : support@privazer.com
     
  18. cyberlost24

    cyberlost24 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    109
  19. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,157
    PrivaZer v3.0.64 Released (09 February 2019)
    Download
    Download Donors Version
     
  20. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,329
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    PrivaZer version 3.0.65 has been released.
    Homepage
    Download
    Donors Version
    Release Notes
     
  21. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,329
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    PrivaZer version 3.0.66 has been released.
    Homepage
    Download
    Donors Version
    Release Notes
     
  22. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,361
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    :thumb:
     
  23. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
    @ The_PrivaZer_Team


    Hi, i recently got the doners version. Sorry i didn't support you earlier, i kept forgetting !

    I asked you a Long time ago, if you could code it with options to keep whatever LOG files we wanted or needed to. Sometimes these can be very useful, and in some cases programs may rely on them.

    You said you would add it to the list of To Do's, but it's still not an option ! Any chance of adding it soon ?
     
  24. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,157
    PrivaZer v3.0.67 Released (31 March 2019)
    Download
    Download Donors Version
     
  25. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
    Strange URL behavior ?

    Got an update email.

    Download PrivaZer v3.0.67 (Donors version) http://www.PrivaZer.com

    http://www.privazer.com/download-donors.php

    If i right click & copy/paste the links on the above they are still HTTP


    What is new ? http://www.privazer.com/changelog.php

    If i right click & copy/paste the link on the above, the link is now HTTPS

    https://www.privazer.com/changelog.php


    No big deal, but just why/how does it get auto changed to HTTPS just by copy/paste, when the others don't ?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.