PrivaZer Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by The_PrivaZer_Team, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    usa
  2. Jeroen1000

    Jeroen1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    162
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I blinked after helping on the Dutch translation and here is an fully active PrivaZer thread. Nice to see it gain momentum. Its cleaning really seems to work excellent. Some smart people are definitely working on this:D
     
  3. Haggishunter

    Haggishunter Guest

    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Since PrivaZer has appeared out of nowhere, there have been only positive reviews. I have to admit that it has found items on my machine other cleaners have not. Still, I have got a strange feeling about PrivaZer. Who is behind the software? If it is so good, why is it free? What about backdoors (also can be the case with wiping software)? In a way, it all sounds too good to be true. Also, why have they (appararently) still not compared EnCase vs PrivaZer? Remember, only off the shelf software has been included in the test. Sorry, I got a bad feeling.
     
  4. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
  5. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I'm trying this one out for the first time. I really don't know if I overlooked something during installation, I don't think so, but it could be? Why does PrivaZer creates so many shortcuts. I attach a screenshot, notice the only shortcut I moved after installation was the desktop one:
    privazershortcuts.jpg
     
  6. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Hello,

    could you post the file path of both .lnk files ?
     
  7. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Sorry, I removed them couple of days ago. I don't like a cluttered start menu. I'm going to install it on another system, if I get the same behavior, I'll post the paths.
     
  8. hidden

    hidden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Posts:
    117
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Still lovin' it.

    Details:

    When I downloaded shellbags update today the version searched out in my computer as 1.5.0.0. Just a detail I expect.

    Privazer update today was on your site as 1.8.1 but after loading searched out as 1.7.1.

    And, am I supposed to delete all older versions by hand? Didn't get that from the manual.

    I too am curious about all the shortcuts, three in my start menu.

    Thanks.
     
  9. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Hello Hidden,
    sorry for delay.

    1. We hope you will appreciate the new ShellBag AnalyZer + Cleaner version :

    ShellBag AnalyZer + Cleaner v1.8
    http://privazer.com/download-shellbag-analyzer-shellbag-cleaner.php

    Changelog :
    - New option : ShellBags Optimization
    - Improved "Last visit" date recovery
    - Improved ShellBags selection
    - Improved UI


    2. @Hidden, do you have the "donors" version ?

    3. @Hidden, concerning shortcuts, we would need the paths of that shortcuts because we can't get 3 shortcuts created on start menu, here on our PCs.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2013
  10. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I get a 404 not found with the link you provided.

    Just letting you know :thumb:
     
  11. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
  12. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Here's a screenshot of the shortcut's paths:
    Privazershortcuts.jpg

    Hope this helps. ;)
     
  13. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Hello,
    it will be fixed in next release.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  14. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I'm glad to help. ;)
     
  15. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    779
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I have a file data_patch.tmp.doc.zip in C:\Users\(Username)\AppData\Local\privazer. Its only 315 bytes and if I delete this, it is again created next time I use Privazer. I cant open this file, saying its corrupt. Any idea?
     
  16. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    No issue. :cool:
    The file is created/used internally by PrivaZer
    when checking for updates.
     
  17. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    A few days ago, I saw a new statement on the Privazer download page.
    It said something like, "Without your donations/help, there will be no Privazer".

    Today, the statement says only , "We need your support".

    What happened?
     
  18. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Hello zmechys,

    see on the download page :

    Please help us
    or PrivaZer is dead !

    http://privazer.com/donate.php

    On this page, you can also see how much we've received so far.
     
  19. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    272
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I think this is a good program and donated again for the second time.
     
  20. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Recently, I tried to use the System Restore on my Windows 7 and Windows 8 computers. The System Restore Points window listed a few available restore points.
    I've tried several restore points, but could not restore my computers to previous settings.

    Could Privazer's cleanings somehow affect/even delete the restore points?
     
  21. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,281
    Location:
    EU
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Very interesting.

    Is it possible to run in portable mode?
     
  22. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    @dogbite

    Yes.
    Choose option 3 when installing : "Generate the portable version"

    @zmechys
    PrivaZer does not clean restore points while cleaning up.
    With PrivaZer you can manage your restore points if you select "restore" in the drop-down list, then "System",
    create/delete new ones, restore your system.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2013
  23. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,281
    Location:
    EU
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Excellent. Tomorrow I give it a try.
    Let's see how it works compared to Ccleaner

    Thanks again.
     
  24. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    What's the downside of running the portable version vs the installed version? It says installing in the system is recommended, so I guess there's a tradeoff while running portable?
     
  25. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    France
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Installing PrivaZer is necessary if you want :

    - to schedule cleanups
    - to have contextual menus in Windows Explorer

    There is no difference concerning scans and cleanups between the 2 versions.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.