PrivaZer Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by The_PrivaZer_Team, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. DATACHECK

    DATACHECK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    United States
    In regards to what zmechys posted, I too have had problems with PrivaZer not shutting down automatically, it stays on all night long. Even with the last 3.0.45 version and last night I updated to 3.0.46 and it did it again, Privazer did not shut down, So I did notice something unusual this morning. What I noticed was, the timer was counting down from 30/seconds and when it got to 0,,,It just started re-counting down again from 30/seconds, Privazer just kept re-starting the timer over and over when it got down to 0. It did this over and over until I just shut down my computer.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 30, 2018
  2. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France
    Hello,
    every 30 seconds, it tries to shutdown the PC.
    We will work on your issue.
    The difficulty is that we do not see any issue on our PCs to shut down.
     
  3. DATACHECK

    DATACHECK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    United States
    If there is anything I can do to help, please let me know. I have noticed that when I un-install and re-install Privazer it seems to shutdown the first couple ot times then it just goes back to not shutting down. I am using bleach bit with all the extended winapp2 (ini) updates, do you think that could be doing something to Privazer. I also use CCleaner with CC-Enhancer updates also.
     
  4. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France
  5. takiabtom

    takiabtom Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    In the absence of response from others I have uploaded "better shutdown" and regret to advise that the problem appears to persist.
    I have always been able to set Privazer in motion with restart and walked away in order to come back with a clean system ready and waiting to go on my return - not so any longer.
    My take on this issue is that the cycling of the countdown continues ad nausem. However, I have noticed that Privazer appears Screenshot (26).png to be hanging awaiting a response to the "free space/snapshots" screen because as soon as that is cleared the shutdown/restart will perform.
     
  6. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France
    Thanks for the info.
    That will help us to fix it.
     
  7. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France
    for those having an issue with the automatic PC shutdown,
    here a possible fix : just disable "USB selective suspend" like shown below. Works ?

    disable-usb-selective-suspending-5.png
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,540
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    PrivaZer version 3.0.47 has been released.
    Homepage
    Download
    Donors Version
    Release Notes
     
  9. takiabtom

    takiabtom Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry to say, that for me, this disable and now version 47 have left no satisfaction - looping shutdown and restart.
    In my case there was a fairly major Windows update a short while ago - could there have been changes which affect the way Privazer behaves?
     
  10. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France
    Could be but it was not observed on our PCs running the latest version of Windows 10.
    So, I guess, something else is preventing the PC from shutting down.
     
  11. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Baana
    Maybe I've missed the obvious, but how do I prevent Privazer from auto-starting with Windows. I've disabled Task Scheduler entries, but apparently these are re-enabled with each upgrade. If there's a settings checkbox I've overlooked, please point me in the right direction. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018
  12. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France
    Check that both checkboxes (for automatic cleanups) on the bottom-left corner are unchecked :

    upload_2018-6-4_20-37-45.png
     
  13. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Baana
    Thanks. They have been for quite sometime, yet there's a Task Scheduler event that is set to start the program at 10AM every day. Currently it is disabled but that will likely change with the next update. I've also deleted that entry but in a few weeks I see Privazer in the tray and discover that task is again present. Gremlins!
     
  14. takiabtom

    takiabtom Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    support@privazer.com

    Could you please steer me in the direction of setting up more than one scheduled task. Eg if I wanted to schedule a cleanup more than once a day how can I do it ( say once to do the lot, maybe a couple of times a day to clear memory and internet etc ) There appears to be only one screen to set one task.
    If it is not possible at present, is it on the roadmap, or can you put it on the roadmap please.

    Thanks
     
  15. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Baana
    Well... the disabled task is again enabled, and without an upgrade. Just overnight did it.

    Apparently simply running Privazer adds back the tasks to autostart at 10AM.

    How do I stop thiso_O?

    EDIT: Found it, Although I had no cleanup scheduled tasks checked, I had to select NEVER to remove the start-up task.

    But no checkboxes checked should mean never... right?
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2018
  16. NetCentric

    NetCentric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    I started getting the same thing after I got the "April" update about three days ago. It is now Jun 10 so the "April" update (version 1803) was June 6. I'll try the "better shutdown" install version and see if that helps.

    Update: tried the "better shutdown" version. No improvement.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
  17. cyberlost24

    cyberlost24 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    119
    Hello Privazer team..

    I have a question about Privazer in regards to the pagefile..(pagefile.sys)...Using free version on a XP SP3 OS...I have used all other options in the menu,except for this item,with no problems,hence the question ..
    I am vague in understanding just how this is to be used...If I select the pagefile to be "cleaned",does this in any way delete the settings I have set-up for my Virtual memory...(or will it completely delete the file,and so will have to set it up again.....
    I note that the operation will commence after shutting down,so my thinking is you won,t be able to start up until job is finished,,(correct)

    Hopefully I have addressed my concern/s ..

    Thanks
     
  18. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France

    Make sure that the scheduled task is not enabled in PrivaZer.
    Click on "scheduled" on the bottom-left corner of the main PrivaZer window and uncheck the task.
    Works? or do I miss sth ?


    @cyberlost24,
    your Virtual memory settings will be preserved.
     
  19. vorlon03

    vorlon03 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    french
    Hello
    I use the donor version and I also turn off or restart does not work with windows 1803
    thank you
     
  20. NetCentric

    NetCentric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    So I have now tried the following to fix this: uninstalled and reinstalled latest version, disabled "USB Selective Suspend" and tried the "better shutdown" version. None of these fixed the problem. I have a very clean version of Windows 10 Home running on a desktop which I just purchased a couple of months ago. After Windows Update 1803 this problem started.

    Update: forgot to mention I found and deleted a Privazer task in Windows Task Scheduler. It had no details in it. Deleting it made no difference. "Scheduled" box on application was unchecked/0.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
  21. cyberlost24

    cyberlost24 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    119
    Thanks for reply...
     
  22. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France
    Thanks for the feedbacks. Still trying to find a fix the "no shutdown" on W10 1803.
    I finally could reproduce the issue on one of our PC. That's a good start...;)
     
  23. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Baana
    It was unchecked. BUT if you click the Scheduled:0 link it opens this window...
    2018-06-11_19h18_11.png

    Having any selection in the window where you see "Daily" adds to Task Scheduler even if there is nothing checked on the main Privazer Window. I had to reset "daily" to "Never" to remove the task in Task Scheduler.
     
  24. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    916
    Location:
    France
    What is weird is that I do not see the list of your drives in the screenshot.
    Did you remove them from your picture before posting your screenshot?
     
  25. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    Mexico City
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.