PrivaZer Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by The_PrivaZer_Team, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Cool. Glad to hear that.
     
  2. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    France
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I have been using ccleaner and r-wipe (the latter just to erase files) in the past few years, and I am now reading a lot of positive comments on this new software here.
    The thing is, I am not a computer expert, and I am totally unable to decide which boxes should be ticked or unticked prior to wiping free space or cleaning registry. That's why I have never used r-wipe (though I paid for it) to do that.
    I'm just cautious and wary, and I read too many comments from users whose systems wouldn't work after clean-up.

    At least with ccleaner (default settings) I'm confident : it has never messed up with my system.

    However, I'm more than willing to find out more about Privazer, and maybe use it, when I know it's safe.
     
  3. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I've noticed a strange thing, when I want to use Privazer in order to "empty without a trace my Recycle Bin.
    I'm getting a pop-up from EMET, saying, "EMET detected DEP mitigation and will close the application: Privazer.exe"
    DEP&Privazer.PNG

    Privazer empties the recycle bin without any issues.
     
  4. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,448
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1


    I have the same exact issue. EMET detected DEP mitigation but PrivaZer worked fine.
     
  5. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,593
    Location:
    European Union
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    This is probably just a bug in PrivaZer software. :)
     
  6. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    654
    Location:
    US
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    We will investigate.
     
  7. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    654
    Location:
    US
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    We were not able to reproduce the "DEP mitigation" issue on our systems.

    1. Could you try to empty your recycle bin again ?
    2. What is your OS ?
     
  8. hidden

    hidden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Posts:
    117
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Comment and suggestion:

    While using Privazer the last few days I have noticed IE as a major trace source in many places. IE has been blocked from net access for years on my computer, off the desktop, and api blocked by Private Firewall. Can't delete,'used by other programs'. No kiddin'!

    While I'm being para.....cautious, does anyone have links to what information is sent home by automatic windows features such as automatic time sync., etc.?

    *********************

    I noticed the 'additional files' option, and think it is a good idea. Privazer is deep, therefore slow. Users in some less-free environments might need rapid scrubbing, and Privazer might already be almost there.
    Not a priority, but as a feature, add on, or stand-alone perhaps, that might be enabled as a one click priority which immediately begins cleaning files automatically in the order listed and stored, off-screen if chosen. Not a substitute for a thorough total scrub, but when minutes count ..............
     
  9. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    654
    Location:
    US
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    What about automatic cleanup in background
    where the user has no need to click to clean up ?
     
  10. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    My system is Windows 8 64-bit.

    Let's say, I want to delete all contents from Recycle Bin by using Privazer.
    1. Right click on Recycle Bin,
    2. click on "empty without a trace with Privazer",
    3. EMET pop-up shows up
    EMET_Pop-up.PNG

    4. Click Start on Privazer.
    Privazer_RecycleBin.PNG

    5.Privazer has erased the contents of Recycle Bin.
    Privazer_RecycleBin2.PNG
     
  11. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    If I open Privazer and go to "empty Recycle Bin without a trace",
    I'm not getting any EMET pop-ups.

    AutoPrivazerCleanup.PNG
     
  12. hidden

    hidden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Posts:
    117
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Optional background scanning/cleaning sounds like a good feature.

    Can it be done without interfering with current use?

    Some system resources would be used, but in some cases would be a small price.
     
  13. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    654
    Location:
    US
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    1. If thread priority is set to "low",
    background scanning/cleaning could be lightweight

    2. zmechys, we will investigate on Win8
     
  14. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I've connected my MP3 player and decided to delete some files using Privazer.

    MP3_Privazer.PNG

    I've right-clicked on the file in order to "Delete without leaving a trace" with Privazer:

    MP3_Privazer_2.PNG

    Privazer has informed me that "Deletion without a trace Completed". But the file is still there intact. I've tried as a standard user and as Admin.

    MP3_Privazer_3.PNG
     
  15. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Privazer cannot see my MP3 player.

    Privazer is looking for "Devices with removable storage", like "Removable Disk (F), (J), (H), etc..., but my MP3 player, connected to the computer via a USB-cable, is visible as a "Portable Device"; therefore, Privazer cannot find the MP3 Player.
    I have the same "Privazer-cannot-find-MP3" situation with different MP3 Players on XP, Windows 7, and Windows 8 computers.
    Nothing works.

    Privazer_NoMP3.PNG
     
  16. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    654
    Location:
    US
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    It seems that it can not find the path to the MP3 player and to your .wav file.

    We will investigate.
     
  17. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Privazer cannot find the path to ANY FILES on the MP3.
    I've just showed .wav file as an example.

    Also, I have no problems using an external hard drive. Privazer can clearly see it and work on it.
     
  18. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    654
    Location:
    US
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    yes, zmechys
    we need to check what occurs
    when using "Portable Device" as you did.
     
  19. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    802
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1


    just use bcwipe , it auto sets any os delete command to a secure erase , custom set to your needs 1 wipe , 2, 3 ... whatever algorithm :cool: , i wouldnt count on privazer on it being able to replace all our cleaning apps , its already doin a great job on cleaning up junk better than ccleaner and its extended addon :thumb: , great work team privazer, keep it up
     
  20. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    654
    Location:
    US
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    New version v1.8 just released.

    Should we create a new thread ?
     
  21. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,821
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Maybe create a new thread that reads "PrivaZer - New Releases Thread" or something like that, then that way you don't have to keep re-creating new threads for the future.

    I don't know, it's up to you on how you want to do it. But, I'm sure creating a new thread won't be a problem...if it is, then a moderator will step in to let you know.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  22. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    I've tried the new version and got an error.
    I sent you that bug report.
    I tried "continue application" but it did not work.
    I closed the application.

    Bug_Privazer.PNG
     
  23. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    same here :(
     
  24. The_PrivaZer_Team

    The_PrivaZer_Team Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Posts:
    654
    Location:
    US
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    thanks for the info,
    it is a bug when trying to display the time remaining.
    Fixed in v1.8.1 that we've just released.

    Keep us informed.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013
  25. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Re: PrivaZer 1.7.1

    Hello, when will the version with command line support be implemented? Thanks. :D
     
Loading...