Privatefirewall updated

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by QBgreen, Aug 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, I believe that is how pfw is designed to work, at least if the app is a trusted publisher.This is a quote from the help file:
     
  2. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    PFW is driving me crazy! If I start a game, when it goes to a fullscreen, it freezes(the screen) and no way to do anything.It doesn't matter whether it's in training mode or not.The only escape is force shutdown!It's unacceptable to me.Comodo had the same problem with their older versions, but now everything's fine with them.
    How can avoid this?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2010
  3. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Hello. Is there a way to disable logging in Private firewall? I coulddn't find any such option. And the I/O reads and writes are huge. CPU time for PFGUI.EXE is even higher than Defensewall which I dropped for exactly that reason.
     
  4. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    223
    Location:
    Romania
    Here on Seven x64 is perfect fine.
     

    Attached Files:

    • pwf.png
      pwf.png
      File size:
      57.5 KB
      Views:
      50
  5. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Well, take a look at my case - WIN 7 32 bit
     

    Attached Files:

  6. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    498
    I know this is trivial, but have they changed that butt-ugly icon in the system tray?
     
  7. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Well you made me really laugh quite a bit!!! :argh: No actually it's one of the ugliest I've ever seen for a program.
     
  8. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    You can easily compare it to the DriveSentry's policeman.:D
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,333
    Location:
    Hawaii
    That icon is a picture of Casey the Cop, a distant cousin of the late Elvis Presley. (Don't say no mean stuff about the King's family! :D )

    Hoot mon, only kidding. But I happen to like Casey. He has *personality*! Much better than Prevx (an eyeball), or Outpost (a shield with a question mark -- don't they KNOW what's going on?), or Avira's wittle wed umbwella (malware is a disease, NOT rain; an umbrella won't protect against disease), or Immunet's ray of moonlight (or whatever IS that thing?) or OnlineArmor's wittle bitty shield (boRRRing!).

    ~ Off Topic Comment Removed ~
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    My PFW data after ~6 hours run time. Bear in mind I had to reinstall so PFW is still doing alerts now & then as it "learns" my system.

    ScrHunt01 26-Nov-10.gif
    ScrHunt02 26-Nov-10.gif
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2010
  10. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    I've just installed the latest release PFW..(7.0.22.5) it fails the 'stealth' test at GRC shieldsup...no biggie I 'spose...just sayin'.
     
  11. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Change the zone from Home to Remote and if asked mark your network IP and Subnet mask as Untrusted. Then try the test again.
     
  12. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    498
    Re: Avira's wittle wed umbwella

    I wike it!
     
  13. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    I'll give that a try, just to add, the previous august release passed the test out of the box.
     
  14. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180

    Thanks for the advice that did the trick:thumb:
     
  15. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    I'm glad I could help. It really took me quite a while to find a solution when I had it on my PC.
     
  16. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    So..?
     
  17. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    So put the details in a ticket to PFW on their support page and ask them if they can fix it for the next release.
     
  18. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    OK, thanks, I'm gonna do it.Have a nice evening :)
     
  19. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,142
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi, I have just switched to PF recently and I would have some questions for users:

    1. How to stop it from auto creating allow rules for windows services without prompting?

    2. Any idea, if this is normal (screen), I get an inbound request 3 times per minute + my settings.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Remove Microsoft from the Trusted Publishers list

    What are you running on port 29737 - Bittorrent?
     
  21. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,142
    Location:
    Slovakia
    EDIT: OK done, I must have been blind. Thank you.
    Nothing. When I close all aplications, it still popups there.
     
  22. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Yes. Settings>Advanced>Trusted Publishers. Check the one's you don't want and click Remove. But there's really no good reason to do what you're proposing and you risk possibly getting into a situation where your PC won't boot.

    It can still be incoming connections even if bittorrent is closed. Do you run bittorrent at all, ever?
     
  23. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,142
    Location:
    Slovakia
    No, since I did a clean install a few weeks ago, I have not even had a torrent aplication running.
     
  24. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,113
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Weird, is it always the same remote IP address (200.139.78.146) and local port (29737)?
     
  25. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,142
    Location:
    Slovakia
    The same port, but I think, there were 2 other IPs doing the same yesterday. I just did not pay too much atention to it, since I was still studying the firewall.

    EDIT: after restart, 2 other IPs showed up, probably XFire related, though it is not running, well it is just strange. Nevermind, thank you for you help and time.

    EDIT 2: By the way, the firewall reseted trusted publisher list after restart. Funny firewall, doing whatever it wants, so no user control whatsoever. :p
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.