Privatefirewall 7.0.30.3

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Ian_UK, Feb 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ian_UK

    Ian_UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I have privatefirewall installed I also run the Boinc Manager. This starts a new process a few times a day, which all have a different names. The problem is if I'm away from my desk when a new process is started, PF will stop it from running as I'm not there to give it the go ahead and there is no way of getting Boinc to restart that particular process.

    So, how do I get PF to accept every new process BOINC starts?

    Many Thanks, Ian.
     
  2. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Hello Ian_UK, and welcome.

    I think it should help if under Process Monitor, you Right-click the application's process and choose Customize Rules, and therein selecting Allow under Create Processes.
    See how you get on, and let us know :)

    http://www.privacyware.com/pf_product_tour3.html
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2014
  3. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    I'm not sure (not running PF anymore) but PF may be in fact be asking about the child process itself.
    I am running Boinc too and had the same issue.
    The HIPS in PF is very good, but that may be an headache sometimes...
    FWIW, I'm only using Windows FW now.
     
  4. Ian_UK

    Ian_UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    Yes it's those child processes that get blocked if I don't catch them.

    Boinc is set as Dermont mentions.

    Ian.
     
  5. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Maybe you could ask Greg salvato about this.
    He has always been very helpful.
    gsalvato@privacyware.com
    Let us know the solution! :)
     
  6. Ian_UK

    Ian_UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    Email is on it's way to Greg.

    Will let you know what he comes up with.

    Regards Ian.
     
  7. Ian_UK

    Ian_UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Update.....

    Email from Greg (Thank you Greg), mentions to add "University of California, Berkeley" to the Trusted Publishers, if it was not added automatically, it was there.

    Also try disabling "Process Detection", I've now done that.

    And finally "Set All rules to Allow" for Boinc, have now done that.

    Will now see what happens over the next few days, when Boinc fetches new work.

    I haven't posted Greg's reply to me as I'm not sure if that is the right thing to do!

    Thanks to all

    Ian.
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Terms of Service. You posted the essence of the reply, and that's the right thing to do.
     
  9. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Thanks Ian.
    I wouldn't disable Process Detection though, as it probably disable HIPS altogether. (I may be wrong of course)
     
  10. Ian_UK

    Ian_UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Hello,

    Hopefully this'll be OK. Part of Gregs email reads "Process Detection and Process Monitor are separate components. PD simply alerts one to the “start” of a new process and PM monitors/dictates what the application can do at the process level after it’s been started."

    Regards Ian.
     
  11. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    836
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Great to know, thanks!
     
  12. Ian_UK

    Ian_UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Having made those changes Boinc is no longer blocked and is being allowed to work.

    Regards, Ian UK
     
  13. Steven Avery

    Steven Avery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Posts:
    110
    Hi,

    And I have a different question. Private Firewall, which I do like, does not seem to load very early. Is this a common problem, and is there a way to correct it?

    Even when I tried to put it #1 in a Chameleon Startup order, my memory is that lots of stuff loaded before PFW.

    I'd like to be sure it loads, and loads early

    Thanks!

    Steven Avery
    Bayside, NY
     
  14. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,002
    Location:
    USA
    I have the same thing, but I haven't been terribly concerned about it because I do have a couple other security apps that are already in place by the time it loads (AppGuard & NVT ERP).
     
  15. Steven Avery

    Steven Avery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Posts:
    110
    Hi,

    My other problem relates to pop-ups. When I hit "Allow" it can take a long time for anything to happen. Any ideas?

    Plus I would like it to give a bit more info than e.g. PID 4016, as is all you get sometimes. I know that can be related to a path.

    Steven
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.