Private Winten - Open Source Windows 10 privacy tool with built in Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by DavidXanatos, Dec 23, 2018.

  1. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11,430
    The Cortana package isn't located in the directory: "C:\Program Files\WindowsApps"
    Look into the directory: C:\Windows\SystemApps\
     
  2. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    mood is right,
    also the tweak itself tells you the path "c:\windows\SystemApps\Microsoft.Windows.Cortana_cw5n1h2txyewy\SearchUI.exe"
     
  3. yeL

    yeL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Posts:
    135
    Sorry, for some reason i thought Cortana was also present under "C:\Program Files\WindowsApps", my mistake.
    Can you explain this further? You mean going into its Properties > Security > Add and add our current windows user account in order to make Search work again?
     
  4. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    It is not often possible to meet a user who needs this official spy from Microsoft. For offline search use Everything.
     
  5. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Germany
    Ah ok
    Oh, yes. I forgot :D
     
  6. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    Next update, not quite the 0.2 release yet, some other projects came in the way, but its being worked on....

    https://github.com/DavidXanatos/priv10/releases/tag/0.1f

    Added
    • italian translation by garf02
    • prevent starting of multiple instances inside the same user session
    • add option to block/unblock internet access from tray
    Fixed
    • not showing proepr "any protocol" string in lists
    • rule violating actions are not colored yellow
    • fixed ptiv10 failed to start when firewalls ervice was disabled
    Changed
    • port and Ip columns doesn't autoresize anymore
     
  7. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    0.1f
    10/ - not fixed (taskbar overlap)
    12/ - fixed (Two instances of the program)
    13/ - not fixed (quickly block/allow Internet). No reaction at all.
    20/ - not fixed (Alphabetcal->Alphabetical)
    New bugs and requests
    21/ - For the NAME you need to disable auto-adjust the width of the column. This name is automatically substituted, it can, of course, be reduced manually, but still.
    ScreenShot_335.png 22/ CPU loading first 40-50 seconds
    cpu.png
    23/ When you right-click on the icon in the system tray, a chaotic opening of the main window occurs.
    24/ Need to attract more beta testers.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  8. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    13/ no reaction, its not suposed to show any message boxes just add / remove global block rules,
    so are you saying it does not block on your system as it should?
    Keep in mind that it will not terminate existing connections just prevent the creation of new once.

    20/ will be fixed in next build

    21/ will be disable din next build

    22/ I know
    try adding to your ini in the "Startup" section an enetry "LoadLog=0"
    the issue will be that it parses the entire security log at start to get all firewall events and populate the back log.
    With that setting set it wont load the log, this is not really needed for operation anyways, it just ensures you see some connection history even when the client was freshly restarted.

    23/ how exactly does this happen for you, i could only reproduce it when doubleclicking with the right button
    I will change it to only react on left mouse button

    24/ yes
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  9. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    I understand it. I launch ping, ping goes fine. I am blocking the Internet, ping continues to go fine. Here I also need to understand, everything is somehow confusing.
    So go easy, load CPU for 8 seconds. How to see all the logs in this form?
    25/ The same, as this, but for GROUP. Disable would autosize fully for all.
    group.png
     
  10. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    26/ This has already happened, but it is not fixed. There is an old rule - any outgoing port, any remote port. How can I edit it if the port fields are not displayed in the edit window?
    1.png
    Ad
    26/ - resolved! See after two posts below.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  11. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    13/ that is strange on my test systems when i check block internet in tray ping reports an error,
    not sure why it fails for you

    you must select protocol TCP or UDP than the ports will be displayed.
     
  12. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, it's works. I forgot, in the Windows brandmauer for each protocol you need to create a separate rule.
    26/ - resolved.
     
  13. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    There was my mistake, I determined the reason. It was a rule "block all" for System. Block/unblock internet works fine.
     
  14. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    27/ It is necessary to add a color change of the tray icon, when the status of the firewall changes: blue - Internet is allowed, black - Internet is blocked.
     
  15. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    28/ There is no logic in the operation of the buttons NEXT and PREVIOUSE. In the example shown, at 1/1 both buttons are active, but do nothing. Buttons should become active only in certain situations, when there is where to move forward or backward
    ScreenShot_343.png
    29/ What is meant by number (4), or "svchost.exe (3716)"?
    30/ >>> What do these arrows mean? Outgoing connection? Mean nothing?
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2019
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11,430
    (4) & (3716) = PID / Process ID
     
  17. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    28/ you are right will add some button logic

    29/ as mood said its the process ID

    30/ >>> means outgoing <<< means incoming, iwanted to save space so i made the direction info it into arows in the prototype column
     
  18. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    Not everyone will understand, maybe replace with Out / In ?
    31/ Make it a clickable link that will open File Properties so that you can check for a digital signature, or a directory. And notice how clear the direction of the connection looks.
    ScreenShot_347.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
  19. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    30/ and 31/ will be added to next build
     
  20. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    Great! Thank
     
  21. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    No I have to to thank you :)

    I'm very good at coding back ends, but my UI skills got stuck some ware in the win 2000 age so any improvement suggestions are very welcome.

    Cheers
    David X.
     
  22. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    519
    I wouldn t trust a security software released by a developer that uses a fictional nickname , and even more, with a signification related to we call the dark side :).
    If you open About WFC you will have a name in there, a real name, a real person.
    If you want full attention take this step forward and more beta-testers will join no doubt..
    I don t like modern UI-s myself, inspiration for many of the interfaces of actual software products is really to much touch/smartphone related, crappy and simplistic.Make a useful interface that works and delivers what the user needs.
    Test your builds on real machines before pushing them to the public.
     
  23. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    https://github.com/DavidXanatos/priv10/releases/tag/0.1g

    [0.1g] - 2019-01-06
    Added
    • notification window has now path label clickable and opens explorer in the files directory
    • issuing cleanup now also resets teh error flag
    Changed
    • disabled autoresize for Name column
    • open from tray trayicon now only react to left mouse button double click
    • notification window direction stings are nor more clear
    • allowed lan connections are now logged blue
    • allowed multicast connections are now logged turquoise
    Fixed
    • notification window next/previouse buttons now peoeprly enable/disable
    • fixed crash when listing a not longer existing service
    • fixed issue when resolving special adress ranges
     
  24. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Viena
    Well as far as I remember the makers of TrueCrypt also always remained anonymous, and that did not dwarfed TC's popularity.

    In the end its open source so you are free to build your own binary's.

    Also if I would pick any other more obscure real sounding name and used a non descriptive avatar the world would not know that its a nick name, so what benefit would it have from that?
    Its not like anyone checked if the author of WFC is really a real person I guess. Well at least not until a large company bought it.


    The relation of my nick name to the "dark side" is rooted in me using it back in the days to develop File-Sharing software like eMule mods or my very own P2P client.

    And the previous windows tool of mine the WuMgr was first released on a forum dedicated to lets say a creative interpretation of windows licensing...


    Possibly probably I should have created a new persona for this project which I would be comfortable with associating with my real name but now it is what it is.


    If the this tool becomes mighty popular I may reconsider, in the end it seams making P2P applications is not as dangerous as I feared back in the days,
    nowadays you even get university courses in developing P2P applications: https://www.tribler.org/about.html
    So may be I should apply for an other PhD in computer science. hehe....
     
  25. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    Germany
    Great sadness! :'( By mistake, the same 0.1f instead of 0.1g is laid out, the check-sums coincide. For identification it would be possible to publish the check-sum, for example, md5 and sha1 or sha256.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.