Private Firewall Updated (again)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Scoobs72, Dec 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    Hi utonto,

    I'm sure you'll get other (and better) replies...however in my case I use the limited setting for apps like browsers, e-readers, pdf, word processors, media players etc. (I have an Asus computer also but don't go overboard with trying to set system or other files/apps to "limited". Of course you can try it with anything you like and if it causes issues just change the setting.)

    The idea being that if any of these apps somehow got infected they would be limited in the mayhem that might ensue.

    (I also keep most of them sandboxed with Sandboxie which is a great complement to PrivateFirewall imho but that's another topic altogether and best not to flesh out too much here.)

    Hope that helps a bit.
     
  2. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    386
    In their license agreement;
    What information do they gather? What is tracking geographical data etc...?
     
  3. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    I would think that's a question best addressed directly to the folks at privacyware who can answer it without speculation on our part.
     
  4. utonto

    utonto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    A bit of the old trial and error then, eh?

    Thanks for your answer, Blues; restricting the damages to such executables makes sense, actually - as I said, I would normally just trust rules found on Comodo's forum and would not even know why they were enforced. Oh, dear!
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2012
  5. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Can anyone tell me how to password protect Private Firewall 7.0?

    BTW any known conflicts with Avast autosandbox and Private firewall? i have turned it off, as well as most of of the shields in Avast 7, only web shield and file system shield are active (custom installation)
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2012
  6. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Anyone?
     
  7. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I don't believe there are any conflicts with the softwares. Some people use them together perfectly:thumb:
    & no, I don't recall PFW to have password protection.
    Hoped that helped
     
  8. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Yes it did, thanks alot.

    BTW fantastic application so light its amazing, and footprint? like 5 mbs? omg! :thumb:
     
  9. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Do you need something too set when you have installed PrivateFirewall or is it ok too use when it is installed?

    Greats,

    darts
     
  10. Beca

    Beca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    If you are sure your computer is clean I'd set it to learning/training mode for a day or two. Other than that its a very good FW but not an install & forget one.
     
  11. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    But when i set it up too training for one day is it save then?

    Greats,

    darts
     
  12. Beca

    Beca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Its the HIPS that needs the training not the FW.
     
  13. dvdit

    dvdit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    I have been using Sygate for a number of years on XP and I recently installed PersonalFirewall 7.0 (latest version) and I just can't seem to grant permanent permission to MS Outlook. Every time Outlook tries to connect to the internet to retrieve email or if I try to read any email by selecting any email message within Outlook, PF keeps asking for permission. When I click allow, access is not granted but the time counter just reset to 30 seconds asking for permission again. I have granted/allowed outlook.exe in both application and process monitor but to no avail. The only way to retrieve my emails is if I choose training mode for Outlook. What could be the problem ? Thanks.
     
  14. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Need more info on your configuration. If you are running PF with default config, you shouldn't be getting any alert since it is a signed Microsoft application. If running default config and your getting these alerts, I would take a look at outlook.exe and make sure it has a valid MS signature. You might be infected.

    Unfortunately, I don't use Outlook so I can't test it out.
     
  15. dvdit

    dvdit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Yes, I am running PF with default configuration. I just checked alert message again and I see OUTLOOK.EXE and Microsoft Corporation (no signature). How do I make sure Outlook has a valid signature? I am using Office 2000 , which is pretty outdated but genuine MS product.

    BTW, my first choice was Comodo but it seems to hang my system when I RIGHT click the Comodo icon on the taskbar. Still trying to figure out what causes that.

    Is Outlook suppose to lock mailbox.pst file when running ? Avast log indicates that it was unable to scan that file when doing a virus scan.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Find Outlook.exe using Windows Explorer. Right mouse click on it and select Properties. There should be a tab that says "Digital Signatures."

    I can't vouch for Office 2000 since that is indeed old.

    When you get the popup for Outlook.exe from PF, did you check not only Allow but "Remember My Answer?" You can also check your copy of Outlook.exe for viruses at www.virustotal.com.
     
  17. dvdit

    dvdit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Yes, I did check "remember my answer". I will look into the two suggestion and report back. Thanks for your help.
     
  18. dvdit

    dvdit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Did the virus check, here is the result:

    File name: OUTLOOK.EXE
    Detection ratio: 0 / 42
    Analysis date: 2012-06-13 01:06:03 UTC ( 0 minutes ago )

    There is no "Digital Signatures" tab in properties in Outlook.exe
     
  19. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I have Office 2010 installed but not Outlook. For example, WINWORD, MS Word , has a digital signature. That old Office ver. you have is probably unsigned.

    First go into PF Settings from File -> Settings -> Advanced. Uncheck Email Anomaly Detection. See if that stops the block alerts. If not, try to manually create application rule for Outlook.exe? I assume TCP inbound port 25 for SMTP and outbound port 110 for POP3 or port 143 for IMAP4.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012
  20. dvdit

    dvdit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    I have Email Anomaly Detection unchecked from day 1 and still get the block alert. I do use 25 for SMTP and 110 for POP3 and that's were it is set at in PF application rule. What other rule am I suppose to manually create ? Thanks.
     
  21. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Have you checked your firewall log and View -> Advanced Reports ->All Traffic Blocked to see what PF is blocking? This is the only way your going to able to determine what protocol/ports Outlook is using. Then you can modify the Oulook application rule accordingly.

    Also are you getting a Application popup or a Process Monitor popup? Have you checked Process Monitor to ensure Outlook is not in Deny instead of Allow status?
     
  22. dvdit

    dvdit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    I checked the log for blocked traffic and Outlook in NOT listed. The popup alert I get is a Process Monitor popup but I have allowed outlook.exe on both application and process monitor.
     
  23. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    In Applications, right mouse click on Outlook.exe.

    Left mouse click on Advanced Applications Settings.

    Check in both Parents and Processes and ensure that Outlook.exe is shown with in green with a white checkmak. If it is shown in red with a white x, then it is being denied access.

    If outlook.exe is in denied status, right mouse click on it and select allow. It should then show as green with a white checkmark.

    If outlook.exe is in allow status in Parents and Processes and your still getting Process Monitor alerts, select Process Monitor from the main GUI screen. Select Outlook.exe and right mouse click on it. Select customize rules and set everything to Allow. Warning - this will permit Outlook.exe to do anything so make sure you really trust it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012
  24. dvdit

    dvdit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Outlook.exe is enabled in both. As suggested before this look like a digital signature issue. Since I am using an old MS 2000 office, the outlook I am using does not have any digital signature and maybe FP requires a digital signature o_O
     
  25. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Check my previous posting. I edited it for additional steps.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.