Privacy Expert 9

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by Lee-Morris, Dec 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    I have just installed the latest version of privacy expert only to discover that there is certainly a bug in this new software; and exactly where it is.

    My symptoms are all related with browsing. Internet explorer open fine but many sites seem to hang when opening or browsing.

    I have discovered that ‘Malware Shield’ is the cause of this problem, even when it’s set to minimum. The only solution is to exit the application and browsing returns back to normal. I have checked for any Viruses, Trojans, etc and I am clean.

    Also if I manually restart the application it fails to work. Is anyone else having these symptoms? I look forward to the next update with the problem corrected.
     
  2. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    Re: Privacy Expert 9 -update

    Further investigations reveal that Privacy Expert creates 6 files within the ‘prefetch’ folder and when I run a system clean up; only some of the files gets deleted.

    NMBGMONITOR.EXE-00C38554.pf (this cannot be deleted by PE9)
    NMINDEXSTORESVR.EXE-1C8EE413.pf (this cannot be deleted by PE9)
    NTOSBOOT-B00DFAAD.pf (this reports that is cannot be deleted by PE9 and does)
    PRIVACYEXPERT.EXE-16724CA0.pf (this reports that is cannot be deleted by PE9 and does)
    WMIPRVSE.EXE-28F301A9.pf (this does get deleted by PE9)
    WUAUCLT.EXE-399A8E72.pf (this does get deleted by PE9)

    does anyone else have this same issue?
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Re: Privacy Expert 9 -update

    Hello Lee-Morris,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Internet Privacy and Antispyware Software.

    I have forwarded this issue to our Develpment Team and will let you know the results of their investigation as soon as possible. As this can take a few days, I apologize in advance for any delay with the response.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Re: Privacy Expert 9 -update

    I reported a similar problem under ticket #433494 - mainly being that the Shield -- does such a good job - it stops my system from functioning after logon.

    Colin
     
  5. disabled

    disabled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    South Africa
    Yeh!...me too... looks like they've gone overboard with the shield act...And the shield takes ages to activate after sys start...
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2005
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Internet Privacy and Antispyware Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Could you please clarify whether these files persist during the clean-up process? Please also describe when exactly they appear?

    Our Development Team tries to reproduce the issue and they need some details on this matter.

    As I can see, our support engineer Konstantin Karikov is already working on your issue. Please send him the requested information and he will certainly provide you with the further instructions.

    Please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post and submit a request for technical support. Attach he collected information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread.
    We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  7. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    Hello Support,

    The aforementioned files are all within the 'windows prefech folder' as previously stated, please clarify your request.

    I have since returned back to version 8 as Acronis 9 shield is too secure that it stops IE from working. I will test one other option as I can image the system in advance.

    I am going to set IE back to default and then install version 9 and see what happens, also I thought perhaps I should set all IE settings to low as Acronis is taking control. If all else fails it's refund time, can't say we didn't try
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Lee-Morris,

    Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

    Could you please clarify when exactly these files appeared?

    We are still working on your problem along with the Development Team and will do our best in order to contact you with a possible workaround as soon as possible. We will highly appreciate if you wait for a few days more to let us complete the investigation. Please accept our profound apologies for the delay.

    Please also create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post and submit a request for technical support. Attach the collected information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread.

    This information would let us investigate the problem under consideration thoroughly.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  9. Potamus2000

    Potamus2000 Guest

    A couple of your problems could be resolved by disabling "Nero Scout" It was installed when you installed Nero burning Rom by Ahead Software.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Potamus2000,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Internet Privacy and Antispyware Software.

    Sharing your experience is very much appreciated.

    If you have any further experience to share, please feel free to post it on this forum.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  11. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Re: Privacy Expert 9.1456

    This latest build has solved the Shield problem. Thanks.

    Just three notes --

    1. The shield refuses to be disabled from the systray - it stays enabled but no longer allows one to click on it.

    2. With PE, the minor problem (not previously reported) of it requiring manual shutdown when XP is shutdown still remains. That is after choosing shutdown for XP, a task box pops up occasionally noting that PE can not be shutdown and offers the option of 'ending program now' - this is intermittent.

    3. When PE itself is started, sometimes the GUI is not drawn - form outline, but white blank page. PE shows as started in task manager - answer is to kill the process and try again - which normally works.

    Colin
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Re: Privacy Expert 9.1456

    Hello Colin,

    Could you please describe the issues in more details? The reason why we ask you is that we were not able to reproduce them in our Testing Lab.

    Please create Windows System Information of your current system state as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also send us screen shots of your step-by-step actions, if possible.You can send them by submitting a request for technical support. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution. Please do not forget to provide a link to this thread in your request.

    Actually, it is Windows-related issue, because Windows has the special setting for closing programs during its own shutdown procedure. You can set this option by doing the following:
    - Please enter the system registry editor by running the "regedit" command from the Start->Run dialog;
    - Find the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control entry and change the value of the WaitToKillServiceTimeout key to 1000;

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.