Prisma Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by QBgreen, Oct 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Ok, since I was in an experimenting mood tonight, I installed this one. Here's my misadventures.. :D

    Installed the version 1.2 program. Rebooted. It asked me about 2 programs that wanted to listen on ports. I said ok. Then it failed to allow Avast to update, and did not pop up a window to ask me either.

    Then, I tried to open up the main gui interface. It made me wait for 10 seconds on purpose, which was annoying, and unnecessary since it's just a 30 day trial anyway. Why put the irritating delay in there too?

    When the 10 seconds were up, I clicked Continue, but nothing happened. Tried the whole process again, and got nil.

    So then, I figured I better install the update. There was a 2nd update you need to download and install, so I did that. Why they don't put it all in one install file, I don't know.

    Rebooted after the update. This time I was able to get into the gui ok, but was not much impressed with any of it.

    Every program I tried to run, it blocked silently, never giving me a single popup asking for permission or anything. Avast, Opera, any other program, it just blocked without asking.

    At this point, I proceeded to shut it down and remove it..

    So that's my misadventure with this one.. :rolleyes:
     
  3. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Without going into detail , I must say that I experienced SOME of the same problems as Kerodo . Looked like a possible keeper but , it has a way to go yet
     
  4. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    340
    I was having the same problem with it silently blocking my apps (until I realized I had another firewall installed). If you don't have any other firewalls installed, wait till v1.03 (which should fix your problem).

    BTW, take a look at its messageboard: http://www.prismafirewall.com/forum/index.php
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2005
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    If you are in communication with them, I would suggest you tell them to remove the idiotic 10 second wait when loading the GUI. Also, you might suggest to them to put it all in one install file, rather than 2. 2 is silly.
     
  6. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    340
    The 10 second wait will be removed in v1.03. And, the reason why its 2 install files is because one is a full version and the other is an update.
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Ok, removing the wait is a step in the right direction. I still think they should replace the 2 files on their site with just 1 updated install. Makes life easier. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.