Prevx security question

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by freebieking, Jan 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. freebieking

    freebieking Guest

    Hi

    I recently installed Prevx free and was wondering if there is anything I need to configure or is everything all preconfigured for the highest security? TIA.
     
  2. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    just hit the "update" tab each week .
    open prevx > update tab is lower left a new page will open > click begin
    Also check that "protection status " ( lower left above update tab ) is green (maximin protection) This is found > open " Status Tab" ...on lower left.
    This is automatically set after any update.
     
  3. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I think I once installed this tool. Didnt like it at all and soon uninstalled it.

    Jimbob
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Why JB, it's pretty much set and forget unless there is an intrusion or outbound attempt which it warns of. It self-updates and is very much like a firewall.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I like the look of this and am just wondering about potential conflicts with other AV & FW ...say NAV and NIS/NPF ??

    I understand the concept is different in the way it operates.
    Is it superfluous if Winpatrol present?
    Similar to Desktop Armour?
     
  6. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I seem to remember having problems enabling the tool.

    Jimbob
     
  7. wolfpack

    wolfpack Guest


    I have used Prevx with NAV 2005 and its worm protection without any problems. Also tried it with the Windows firewall and Zonealarm with no problems. It says on their site that it is compatible with av and firewall software, and so far I have found this to be true. I also use it with WinPatrol with no problems. Similar to desktop Armour- yes, but superior imo.
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I use it amongst this security, without an issue.
     
  9. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.