Prevx SafeOnline (Facebook) with KIS + DWPF

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Boyfriend, Oct 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    My real-time security setup is
    -Kaspersky Internet Security 2011 CF1 (11.0.1.400 a.b)
    -WinPatrol PLUS 2010 (19.0.2010.0)
    -DefenseWall Personal Firewall (3.0:cool:
    -Wondershare Time Freeze (2.0)

    I have just added Prevx SafeOnline Facebook (3.0.5.217) in the setup. I have excluded WinPatrol, KIS, DWPF, and WTF folders in Prevx via detection override. Prevx executable and drivers are excluded from proactive defense of KIS. Any serious concern/conflict during operation? As I am already using it in my security setup, I do not want answers like 'yes, it will work' or 'no, it may not work'. I am asking question for technical information. Does Prevx all additional benefits will be still available or Prevx will adjust itself according to presence of other security software (reduced functionality like in case of KeyScrambler)?

    I am waiting for response from PrevxHelp and other technical personals/staff...
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It should work fine as I tried many different setups on my VM's and use VIPRE AV with Full Prevx with SafeOnline without problems but if you do come across any conflicts just post them and PrevxHelp will do his best to correct them as always! ;) I use what's in my siggy in realtime and also WinPatrol Plus without problems!

    TH
     
  3. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    It seems kinda conflicting with double functions(KIS has HIPS + Firewall, Defensewall is both and Winpatrol Plus is kinda like a mini-HIPS) But it that setup works without any problems, then I don't see why adding SafeOnline would cause problems :) It will certainly add extra functionality with the anti-logging and other browser protection, but I don't know if Prevx will adjust itself in case you run your browser as Untrusted in Defensewall to prevent conflicts.(If there would be any.)
     
  4. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I need information regarding Prevx SafeOnline compatibility with DefenseWall. I want to know HTTPS and HTTP settings in Prevx SafeOnline to work as complemented protection with DefenseWall. I use Firefox as my main browser and it is untrusted in DefenseWall. All application, which connects with internet (except AV), are untrusted in DefenseWall. Rest of system is working fine.

    DefenseWall is policy based HIPS and showed no conflict since I am using it (around 1 month). DefenseWall firewall is simple as it is 'Allow' or 'Deny' type. WinPatrol is very lightweight HIPS to monitor important system changes, which both KIS and DefenseWall cannot do like startup items, BHO, service installation, etc. with very delightful bonus ‘delayed start’. It is using 1144 K RAM only.

    That is actually, what I want to know. Technical information will be welcomed addition, if possible.
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    SafeOnline has to disable part of its screengrabber protection when used with DefenseWall because of a bug in DefenseWall. I spoke with Ilya about it a couple months ago and I believe it was fixed in a new version but I don't know how automatic updating works in DefenseWall and if there is a risk of users still having the older version installed.

    Outside of that, the rest of the functionality will work fine :)
     
  6. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks PrevxHelp for confirmation. I am using latest build 3.08. I have raised HTTPS and HTTP settings to maximum in Prevx SOL. Firefox is running as untrusted. Now if I press print screen button from keyboard, Prevx warns me about it and ask to allow it or not.
    Until now, no problem/slowdowns for my security setup. Speed is very well. I like File Authentication popups :thumb: Actually, I do not like silent software. I am thinking about making Prevx SOL permanent part of my security setup.

    Q: Will Prevx v4 will also offer Prevx SafeOnline (Facebook) edition for free?
     
  7. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I am still waiting for answer/clue:

    Another question:

    Q: What is difference (practically and technically) between Realtime Infection Monitoring and Realtime protection?
     
  8. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    The first part of your query can be answered only by PrevxHelp.
    As regards the second one, difference is that Protection mode will protect you (i.e. found infection will be blocked) while Monitoring mode give you only information about infection but won't block it.
     
  9. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks pegas. If Real-time Protection can take action against found infection, then what is purpose of ‘Malware Removal’?
     
  10. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    The name is self explanatory ;) the real time protection checks and blocks files on the fly and malware removal removes files found during scans.
     
  11. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    You mean:
    -on access/real-time scanner needs a license
    -on demand scanner needs separate license

    Is not two separate licenses for cleaning malware seems strange licensing policy? BTW, I am evaluating it and might purchasing a license.
     
  12. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Yes, you need two licenses ... one for real time protection and next one for cleanup, for more information please see http://www.prevx.com/buyoptions.asp BTW, if scans show no infections you can buy only the real time protection.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The Facebook Version of PSO is a promotional benefit for the time being but like all good things it will at some point come to an end! :doubt:

    TH
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Right now you get Protection and Cleanup for one price but if you want SafeOnline you have to add it, it's about $5.00 US extra see chart: http://www.prevx.com/homeandfamilyusers.asp?units=1&duration=year&edge=Y&cleanup=Y#boxxfree

    HTH,

    TH
     
  15. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
  16. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks pegas. I will evaluate and follow your valuable suggestion :)
     
  17. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    np, you are welcome
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    True for now but like I said it will end at some point maybe PrevxHelp can elaborate more?

    TH
     
  19. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    If you go to the options/pricing select panel at the bottom of prevx.com homepage you see it's not possible to buy realtime protection only, if you tick realtime protection it automatically ticks clean-up and if you untick clean-up it automatically unticks realtime protection. Clean-up only is possible though.
     
  20. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Oh really?! sorry my mistake I didn't know it as I bought the full package.
     
  21. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This is correct - we require a realtime license to come along with a cleanup license as pointed out in this thread (as realtime protection would technically effectively clean up threats when blocking them :))

    One point to note is that during cleanup even if you don't have a realtime protection license, we give you realtime protection for about one day just to ensure we can clean the system properly. However, to ensure that the system remains clean, it is definitely worthwhile to have a full protection license.
     
  22. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks PrevxHelp for your help and reply

    1.
    2. My browser (Firefox) is leaking too much. When its memory usage exceeds 200 MB, it becomes slow and loses aero interface/theme. When it exceeds 230, explorer.exe crashes. It was not happening before. Does Prevx block certain browser capabilities to free its unused memory? RAMBack add-on also does not work as expected. Any useful tip/suggestion/recommendation will be highly appreciated.
     
  23. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'm not sure at this point - the Facebook SafeOnline version is only a promotion and may not extend indefinitely or through v4.

    SafeOnline would indeed be protecting your browser from external processes modifying its memory, although the browser itself will be able to free the memory (although in the case of Firefox, it unfortunately doesn't do so as well as I'd personally hope either :doubt: )

    I'm not sure how to get a program like RAMBack to work with SafeOnline as we have to block external memory access to all programs for security purposes. You may want to disable SafeOnline and only use it when you know you'll be banking online or doing other important transactions.
     
  24. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks PrevxHelp for your reply :)
    RAMBack does not run as external application. It just clear cache memory.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2010
  25. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I was facing another weird problem. With this security setup (old), Prevx SOL modifies Firefox behavior in unknown way. While running Firefox as 'untrusted' (via DefenseWall), I see two-three entries in DefenseWall events log that WinPatrol tries to open Firefox process. Moreover, Firefox was not releasing memory as expected and often result in crash when RAM usage exceeds 230 MB. Both issues are still reproducible on my system. I contacted Ilya about it and we are still working on it.

    Today, I found the solution. Disabling/Uninstall Prevx SOL solves the problem. There is no longer list of events in DefenseWall about WinPatrol access to Firefox. Moreover, Firefox (running as untrusted via DefenseWall) releases memory without problem and tweaks like 'Config.trim on minimize' works without problem.

    @PrevxHelp: Would you please investigate the issue? I am serious about adding Prevx SOL (Facebook or purchased) in my security setup (current). I have even installed Prevx SOL on my teachers, colleagues, friends, and other accessible computers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.