Prevx RC 3.0.4.200

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by PrevxHelp, Sep 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    This build fixes a number of issues and should overall be much more compatible with other applications.

    32bit: http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta (ignore the "edgebeta" part of the URL - this download is RC1 )
    64bit: http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta64 (the web security functionality is not 64bit compatible yet but there are significant improvements "under-the-hood" of Prevx for 64bit still)

    The changelog is:
    - Major optimization to realtime protection when loading large programs
    - Added configuration to be able to use screenshot utilities which don't use the Print Screen functionality (note: you may need to restart the browser for protection changes to take effect)
    - Fixed compatibility with Sandboxie (note: it doesn't protect sandboxed browsers but you can now use Sandboxie with SafeOnline enabled)
    - Fixed compatibility with KeePass/KeeForm
    - Fixed compatibility with Keyboard Express and ShortKeys from Insight Software Solutions
    - Fixed compatibility with MailWasher Pro
    - Fixed some issues with clipboard protection causing the clipboard to not function properly
    - Fixed an issue creating new folders in a secured IE window
    - Optimized text parsing in Opera
    - Fixed an incompatibility with ACE Registry Cleaner
    - Fixed an issue which can potentially break internet connectivity
    - Fixed some issues allowing Opera to communicate to other processes
    - Fixed some logical issues with the browser tab/status reporting
    - Fixed an issue in the keyboard protection which could cause a BSOD on bootup
    - Fixed compatibility with Java running within Firefox
    - Improved cleanup of some new rootkits
    - Fixed random "Invalid Handle" messages
    - Fixed an incompatibility with Glary Utilities and CCleaner
    - Fixed some slowdown issues in Firefox with plugins installed
    - Fixed Alt+Tab behavior when a secured window is opened
    - Fixed an incompatibility with MetaProducts Flash and Media Capture
    - Fixed some issues with user password configuration
    - Fixed behavior when configuring a scan to load on website access
    - Improved some areas of self protection
    - Reduced overhead on window enumeration
    - Optimized registry protection
    - Minor graphical/textual changes

    We recommend uninstalling, rebooting, and reinstalling this build but you can just install it over the top (however, the fixes will not be applied until you reboot).

    Current issues are:
    - (Partial?) Incompatibility with Sandboxie
    - Possible issue when upgrading Firefox
    - Possible incompatibility with BS Player PRO
    - Possible incompatibility with the Web Filter of GData
    - Possible issue with download managers
    - Some incompatibilities with DefenseWall's "Untrusted" branding/Online Armor's green border
    - Incompatible with Jaws screen reader
    - Incompatible with Babylon OCR
    - Incomplete Safari support

    Please let me know what you find and thank you, as always, for the testing! :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2009
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Running Great as always! :thumb:

    TH
     
  3. ctrlaltdelete

    ctrlaltdelete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    NL
    Upgrade, reboot and running fine here :D
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ill give this a try and hopefully the network issue will be solved for me :D
     
  5. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Upgrade install and reboot; all seems well. Had just updated OA to beta 4.0.0.3 and they seem to coexist fine. Turned SafeOnline back on and it is working for Opera 10, FF 3.5.3, Chrome 3.0.195.21, IE8 on this computer. Will upgrade other computer tomorrow (Vista Home Supreme) that has sometimes had problems with SO.
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    Great! Works for me, no IE8 crashes so far with this plugin enabled. :)

    Maybe this problem is gone too? So far no browser locking problems, but I have to keep an eye on that for a bit longer to be sure. ;)

    Please don't forget Babylon ... didn't found it in the current issues list but the problem isn't solved: I can't OCR (=translate words) from browser windows anymore with this RC version or the one before. Public version works fine of course.

    p.s.:

    After changing SafeOnline setting for http from LOW (default) to MAXIMUM and then playing around with Hypersnap (MAX: black screen as it should be, LOW: works fine) I had several Prevx crashes seconds after the screenshot was taken - coincidence? The Prevx icon always changed to black (disabled) and repaired itself to green. And in this context a few times this error message came up:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 21, 2009
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Great :) This plugin was definitely the source of the issues you were having before with web.de.

    This is probably a conceptual incompatibility - could you try turning down the protection from Maximum to High, restart your browser, and see if that corrects the issue?
     
  8. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Installed it over the non beta version, rebooted, manually enabled browser protection. Everything working good so far. No invalid handle faults so far either. :thumb:
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    Tried that. I even disabled SafeOnline completely (off) but nothing changes. :( -> Babylon isn't able to OCR words from browsers (I tested IE8, FF 3.5.3 and Chrome 3.0.195.21).

    PLEASE, you have to find a way to enable normal Babylon functionality? With SafeOnline ON and OFF anyway. - I use this translation program frequently and would more likely drop Prevx than Babylon. - JFYI. :)

    I put all my faith in you!
    :D

    Until the magic is done I copy & paste it from browser to Babylon application. That works of course. ;)
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Strange o_O I will definitely be investigating this closer to see what would cause the interference. We will definitely have this fixed, don't worry :)
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    It gets better! :D

    After I wrote copy & paste would be no problem I suddenly had a problem with .. exactly ;) .. copy & paste. Babylon would show blank field when pressing ctrl+v instead of pasting it in. That worked with notepad but not with Babylon. Strange? I think so. ;-)

    But then I couldn't believe what I saw:
    Babylon OCR all of a sudden WORKED with IE8 and FF!? o_O FYI: In that moment Prevx did an automatic scan!

    After that scan was finished I couldn't OCR with Babylon anymore. Magic was over. :D So there seems to be something different during a scan?

    However ... after all that I had another Prevx crash and now the icon is gone. Interesting. :)
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    o_O Could you please try uninstalling/reinstalling the new build 3.0.4.200 fresh (if you had upgraded from 3.0.4.195)? We haven't had any other reports of crashes and can't reproduce one but I think this could be affecting your protection and causing the random behavior.

    Alternatively, if the uninstall/reinstall doesn't fix it, if you'd be willing to have me try and diagnose what the problem is with our remote tech support from LogMeIn, I should be able to get the problem solved quickly :)
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    I did a fresh install (not over public build: uninstalled public version / rebooted / installed RC) and experienced what I wrote.

    Because of 3 crashes that froze my system I had meanwhile to reboot 3 times and in between strange things happened like first of all firefox didn't start (I killed 2 running instances .. maybe crashed, but killing them didn't help start another instance) and on next boot IE8 would mysteriously not start ... so that I for now finished my 3.0.4.200 testing and plan to get some rest .. ahm .. sleep before sunrise ;) ... until the next RC release maybe only avast! home protects my system. ;)

    But if you want me to test other things with this build just tell me, ok? I'll do as told. :D

    Sorry. :ninja: No remote maintenance here possible for security reasons. Please don't take it personally. :D

    p.s.: With RC gone all is back to normal. No problems anymore. :)
    Good news ... because I have no backup: -> no risk no fun! :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2009
  14. dlimanov

    dlimanov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    204
    Joe,
    New version seems to have fixed https weirdness in Opera, however, large text files being opened in browser still don't load completely. Once SafeOnline is off, text file (online book in my case, ~1300kb) loaded fully. Prevx is a clean install after uninstall->reboot->reinstall, SafeOnline is at default config for both HTTP/S with no modifications.
    Let me know if you need the link via PM again.
     
  15. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    Just installed RC 3.0.4.200, and after reboot I am unable to connect to the web using any of my installed browsers(IE,FF,Opera).
    After a little experimenting I determined it to be an incompatibility with Sandboxie, as disableing it enables me to connect to the web.
    Prevx 3 was uninstalled, before installing the Beta.
    Disabling SafeOnline did not help.
    Are there still other incomparability issues with Sandboxie, other than the one you noted as being fixed?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    OK, running IE8 and Firefox's latest. Now I can't type in my browser password or enter any username or password to any https sites til I disable Safeonline since the update to .200...:rolleyes: :blink:
     
  17. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Good Morning Joe.

    What does that mean?

    best regards.
     
  18. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Action center still reports that prevx is turned off but prevx in on.
    I think it happens some time after a right click scan on infected files and canceling the automatic full scan after. Its the only clue i have.
    Clicking on the turn on now button doesnt turn prevx on :D

    2009-09-22_120120.jpg

    Update: Now after every reboot it shows the pic above. Could also be an incompability with my newly added ThreatFire Beta (4.6.0.4).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 22, 2009
  19. simmikie

    simmikie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    Joe you may want to know that i have downloaded P3 RC 200. i did an uninstall of .195, rebooted, and installed 200.

    everything seems fine (btw, the issue with P3 and CCleaner clearing Opera 10's cache is no longer an issue, even if it isn't really fixed. i simply clean the cache from within Opera before closing the browser) but P3 did do something weird. i downloaded 200 from the link you provided and saved it to my desktop. after the install of 200, i cut the installer from my desktop with the intention of pasting it to my Security apps folder. well when i accessed that folder (on my D:/ drive) P3 alerted on Shadow Defenders executible as Medium Risk malware?!? i have had that file ssitting in the same location since 11/02/2008! needless to say P3 has never alerted on it. i excluded it and moved on, but that was a very peculiar alert.

    Mike
     
  20. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    As Prevx write on changelog
    "Fixed compatibility with KeePass/KeeForm"
    I use keepass and now it work well, no issue.
    Thanks
     
  21. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    It means that Browser Sabdboxed is not protect with SafeOnline (you have only your sandboxe to potect your pc from malware here in the box) but now you don't need stopping SafeOnline on prevx screen before launching your sandboxed browser
     
  22. fasteddy2020

    fasteddy2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    Uninstalled 3.0.1.65, restarted, installed 3.0.4.200. Scanned, everything fine as normal until I tried running both FF 3.5.3 or Opera 10 (forced to sandbox) and neither would start. FF error said it could not read .ini file. Opera said it could not read a .dll file. FF unsandboxed worked just fine. I don't think there was any problems running GData Web Protection at the same time but I uninstalled .200 right away so I can't say for sure.
     
  23. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Could you save a scan log by clicking Tools > Save Scan Results and send the log to report@prevxresearch.com?

    Also, are you using Sandboxie for your sandbox or another sandboxing application?
     
  24. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you send me a scan log to report@prevxresearch.com? This could be one of the new signatures in Prevx flagging the file incorrectly.

    Thanks :)
     
  25. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know what build of Windows 7 you're using? I'll see if we can reproduce this internally as that is indeed strange :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.