Prevx RC 3.0.4.195

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Triple Helix, Sep 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. simmikie

    simmikie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    hey Joe, i hope my post is not viewed as piling on, but i just noticed CCleaner no longer empties Operas cache folder, iin fact i beleive i lost that functionality with .191.

    this just in! i just finished testing, and ATF Cleaner will not clean Opera cache any longer either.

    Mike
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,937
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you try to disable Prevx and then run CCleaner to see if that works? I did that and it worked fine!! Just in case I'm using Vista SP2 with Opera 10 (Build 1750)!

    CLEANING COMPLETE - (9.750 secs)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    183.4 MB removed.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Details of files deleted
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Internet Explorer - Temporary Internet Files 24,432 KB 1,291 files
    Internet Explorer - Cookies 25 KB 96 files
    Internet Explorer - History 192 KB 5 files
    Internet Explorer - Index.dat files 0 KB 4 files
    Windows Explorer - Recent Documents 97 KB 115 files
    Windows Explorer - Thumbnail Cache 12,320 KB 6 files
    System - Temporary Files 655 KB 38 files
    System - Memory Dumps 107,501 KB 2 files
    System - Windows Log Files 18,207 KB 26 files
    Firefox/Mozilla - Cookies 0 KB 145 files
    Firefox/Mozilla - Download History 79 KB 1 files
    Firefox/Mozilla - Internet Cache 5,248 KB 21 files
    Firefox/Mozilla - Internet History 767 KB 1 files
    Opera - Cookies 0 KB 21 files
    Opera - Internet Cache 17,736 KB 1,575 files
    Opera - Internet History 484 KB 6 files

    Applications - MS Office Picture Manager 1 KB 1 files
    Applications - Office 2007 32 KB 37 files
    Multimedia - Adobe Flash Player 40 KB 59 files


    TH
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  3. simmikie

    simmikie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    precisely why i am reporting it. i have not had to disable P3 in order to realise CCleaners full effectiveness in the past. i have however disabled the Safeonline feature.

    Mike
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,937
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I was just pointing out that it's not a big deal to disable do your cleaning and turn it back on. But we will see what they can do to fix it!

    TH
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    Well, had it running great for a while - BS Player Pro in full screen mode then changed it to small (always on top) window and suddenly out of nowhere my browser (IE8 ) window in the back was locked again!? :doubt: With setting LOW enabled at that time. - So there's definitely something going on but I'm afraid it's not so easy reproducible as I thought. o_O - JFYI.
     
  6. SvS

    SvS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    57
    Well, for me both pages are working fine using IE8 - no crashes, no loading problems with PrevX and SafeOnline enabled (using the default settings).
     
  7. simmikie

    simmikie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    321

    right
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Thanks for this information!

    I installed the new RC again and had ... exactly the same crash as before and page was not loading.

    But .. ;)

    Knowing that it works for you I tried one thing: Disabled a browser plugin 'Flash and Media Capture' (MetaProducts) ... and voila ... no problems anymore with web.de and SafeOnline at Maximum Security (http + https)! GREAT!

    So my problems with IE8 seem to be solved, there is an incompatibility with that mentioned browser plugin I guess.

    Thank you again for your report. Without that I would have never figured that out! :thumb:
     
  9. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Hello Joe :),

    My intuition was not wrong... I had guessed that you would reply in a somewhat aggressive way.
    ONCE AGAIN (as i wrote in my previous post) i do apologize for being so honest and straightforward...
    Sorry for hurting you as i felt it after reading your reply.

    BUT... i CAN'T accept that :
    1- you declared that my post was an insult to your excellent software. I structured my post in 3 points:
    -An answer to your question concerning my OS/configuration.
    -a report of bugs i pinpointed when testing PrevX .195 with 2 different security configurations ("constructive criticism", isn't it?).
    -A general opinion about your new releases together with some questions you have not yet answered...

    2- you posted a global reply to both guest (someone i don't know. Hello Mat:))) and me. Individual replies would have been better IMHO

    3- you exerted a wrong shift of what i wrote, only criticizing and quoting what could help you to develop your own argument. It's not fair. I want to hope that you didn't intentionally (?) forget that i also tested PX version .195 with Norton IS 2010. You can't deny that Norton "has a very LARGE market share worldwide", right?
    As concerns German GData software, it is more or less widely used in Europe because every PC Magazine ranks it among the best (if not the best) AV available... Please scroll down some other forums here in Wilders and you will notice the satisfaction of many members about its efficiency...

    BUT... i CAN'T admit that :
    -when i always begin my posts with "Hello:)", you prefer to write "To Heco/guest". When i end my post with "cheers" or "regards", you prefer to abruptly stop your post. An obvious lack in courtesy
    You know, what i do appreciate in Wilders, in addition to all that i learn to develop my common sense in matter of security, it's the spirit and philosophy of its founder, Paul Wilders. It has become a use here to be courteous and most members respect one another in their replies. I salute the moderators who try to keep this frame of mind day after day.
    - when you write:
    I don't want a private help. I prefer to respect the philosophy of Wilders and share your help with other members in this public forum...

    Having said all that above.... now... what do you choose:
    - inviting me to stop giving feedbacks that may hurt you?
    - using a configuration that you could suggest to me in order to write "Great Job Joe"? KIDDING
    I think I will choose the first option. Sorry!

    Cheers :D,
    Herve
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  10. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,554
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Joe

    Build 195 still working exceptionally well with KIS 2010...no problems or glitches to report here.

    Can we expect another RC before final or can you not say anything yet on this score?

    Balders :D
     
  11. fasteddy2020

    fasteddy2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    I use GData 2010 IS and have no issues running Prevx RC 3.0.4.195 with GData's WebGuard on and Prevx SafeOnline. There is no slowdowns for FF 3.5.3 or IE8. There is an initial pause when the programs load of about 2 seconds but after that there is none. I also have Returnil and Zemana running at the same time. I have everything set basically at default.

    Edit: Removed Opera 10 for known compatibility issues.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes :) We still have a few builds coming over the next week or so :)
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Excellent - glad to hear that this fixed it. I will see what we can do to reproduce the issue tomorrow to hopefully get a fixed version together over the weekend which may work better for you with the plugin enabled :)

    Thank you for the testing!
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    ACE Registry Cleaner also has a similar issue. I haven't seen it directly with CCleaner but I suspect it is the same issue as ACE's which we will have corrected in the next build.

    For now, you "should" be able to just click Stop Protection to get it to clean the system properly but let me know if this doesn't get around it :)
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The default setting for http websites should be "Low" which wouldn't block it, but, if you had visited an https website within that browser session, we still secure the screen contents. Our reasoning for this is that even though the page may not be completely on screen still, it could have some data showing which may be private.

    I'll double check through this logic, however, to ensure that everything is working properly and not unnecessarily blocking the screenshots.

    Thanks! :)
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'll add this to our testing list - I think this may be more of a fundamental level incompatibility but definitely one worth solving :) Thanks for the information!
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know what build of Chrome you're using? I've seem a couple screenshots with v4 in them but my copy is still v3. It may also be worth sending over a scan log if you have one handy to see if it is something that we can fix within our database :)
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We will not release a product that is unstable or that the community shows dislike for. It is definitely not our intention to bloat Prevx but we feel that the new functionality provides significant tangible benefits.

    Prevx has strong detection but regardless of the antimalware product you use, threats will get through so we're looking to close down the gap further to block entire classes of threats with the new SafeOnline protection. This way, even if something was to slip past the first layer of Prevx, the layers provided by SafeOnline will block it immediately :)

    Understandable :D We use a service called LogMeIn which is a widely known remote access service that allows us to securely connect to your PC once when you allow us to (and when the connection is terminated, we can't connect back :)) but the information you've provided should set us going in the right direction - I will let you know if we do come across anything we cannot reproduce, however! :)
     
  19. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    To answer your questions:

    The SafeOnline module generically protects against unknown threats without a database so I'm unsure what you mean by "larger database" (surely a product that uses a database would have a much larger one than ours being that we don't have one :))

    We are not currently moving into a security suite as we do not want to over bloat the functionality but I wouldn't rule it out ;)

    Sure, Norton in general does but their 2010 IS Beta does not.

    Just because something is one of the best doesn't mean it is one of the most popular - it falls very low on the list sorted by popularity worldwide but we will be testing it and ensuring compatibility with it.

    I'm not trying to start an unnecessary dispute but starting a post with "Hello:)" and including text in nearly every line which is outwardly and abruptly negative doesn't justify the initial friendliness :)

    In many cases, viewing a problem remotely is the fastest and easiest way to solve it, which is why I offered remote assistance. Discussing an issue on a forum is not the same as being able to see/work on it in the first person.

    I'm very interested in all feedback but please know that we have to prioritize our development and we have a lot of areas to work on. The issues you've reported (ACE utilities/GData) will be fixed soon but it takes time to thoroughly research them, develop a fix, test the fix internally, and send it out.

    As I've said, just because this build says it is a Release Candidate does not mean it is a "Release To Market" build - we have a number of areas to clean up still and a number of compatibility issues to solve. We definitely aren't going to release software which is unstable or bloatware so I wouldn't worry about it :)
     
  20. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    O M G !

    Please dont even think about that! :ninja:

    More Features Ok. but plz do not built a "Suite" or "Total Care" :gack: product...
     
  21. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    Just a point: Norton IS 2010 is no longer in beta.
     
  22. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Indeed TonyW (hello :))... more precisely, the official release was posted on September 8th (I was one of the testers all along the beta phase without any dispute despite my straightforwardness LOL).

    Thanks Joe for your constructive and informative reply.

    Cheers and goodbye,
    Herve (an iron hand in a velvet glove! in your eye... LOL)

    EDIT:
    My new signature:D
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  23. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Chrome is 3.0.195.21. A quick check says this version is working OK again after an upgrade, although I am back to mostly using Opera.
     
  24. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    552
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    Hi Joe 4 possible bugs found on the Italian thread :D
    1) With Previx even with SafeOnline off people can't update FF 3.5.2 to new FF 3.5.3 (but could be even a problem with KIS I don't know) If you can control
    2) With a browser open at the moment of prevx upgrade to new RC people say prevx crash, they think was better an allert in Prevx saying close your browse before upgrade (if possible)
    3) On Opera 10 with Safeonline setting LOW everything ok but if setting Medium or more they have some problem on watching pics for exemple here
    http://notizie.libero.it/
    You can see this problem exactly on this post http://www.hwupgrade.it/forum/showpost.php?p=28934474&postcount=1060
    Every problem on XP SP3
    4) This I think is the most important: as you can see here http://www.hwupgrade.it/forum/showpost.php?p=28936112&postcount=1062 if Opera or IE8 try to acces a phishig or malicious site they present an allert windows to prevent it, but Prevx SafeOnline still remain green alias the url isn't in your DB, is possible add an option clicking on the prevx Safeonline logo for sending to you this url for your control and if is the case you add the url on your list? Or if not possible in the future (but I thinks is important making surf safe) how we can comunicate to you a dangerous site?

    Thanks & sorry for my bad english
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  25. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Start a scan (GUI visible) - disable Protection via tray icon -> Cant close the red alert window until the scan stops: (Win7)
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.