Prevx RC 3.0.4.195

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Triple Helix, Sep 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Running RC 3.0.4.195 and all is well! Joe can we have a new known issues/incompatibilities list?

    TH
     
  2. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    @joa,
    have you some new infos about the incompatibility with screen readers
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello :)
    I'm impressed by the speed at which Wilders picks up our new builds!

    This build is primarily just a bugfix build - nothing new in terms of functionality but a handful of improved compatibilities:

    - Fixed compatibility with Comodo
    - Fixed compatibility with Avast
    - Fixed compatibility with Ikarus (standalone)
    - Fixed compatibility with printers on Vista/7 (a reboot is required after the upgrade to .195 to fix this)
    - Improved compatibility with Opera - an issue still appears to exist on XP SP3
    - Implemented a new engine which will reduce/eliminate common browser incompatibilities moving forward
    - Reduced overhead on system hook monitoring
    - Fixed an issue with the browser shims on Windows 7 + IE8

    Current incompatibilities are still:
    - Incompatibility with Sandboxie
    - Incomplete Safari support
    - Partial incompatibility with KeePass/KeeForm
    - Incompatibility with BS Player PRO
    - Conceptual incompatibility with screen readers
    - Incompatibility with Keyboard Express and ShortKeys from Insight Software Solutions
    - Some incompatibilities with DefenseWall's "Untrusted" branding/Online Armor's green border
    - MailWasher Pro has some rendering issues
    - Incompatibility with the Web Filter of GData

    Regarding screen readers in general: Prevx blocks silent or user-aware screen reading/grabbing which is the reason for some programs like SnagIt not working properly. Currently the best solution for this is to right click on the Prevx tray icon and select Stop Monitoring/Suspend Protection: that will allow you to take screenshots using any program.

    We have a few areas to nail down a bit tighter with the configuration but in the next build, you will be able to set an override either for an individual website or for a group (http/https) to configure "High" protection which will allow all types of screen readers to view the screen (as an accessibility improvement).

    We are getting close to a final release but please let me know if you have any other issues or if I've left out anything in this list :)

    Thanks again for the fantastic and thorough feedback :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    prevxhelp any news on the issue i was having with internet connection?
     
  5. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello All,
    Just upgraded to Prevx RC 3.0.4.195.
    When I was logging out from my Gmail account, Firefox 3.5.3 crashed (I had only 2 Tabs opened).:'(
    I had to set medium protection in order to make Gmail work within Firefox.

    I have to say that New Safe Online GUI has dramatically improved, and is very nice, congratulations:thumb:
    --------
    OS XP PRO SP 3 (32 bit) fully patched
    Avira antivirus premium 9
    Agnitum OutPost 6.5.1 - 2009 free
    MalwareBytes' AntiMalware 1.41 (full commercial version)
    RETURNIL Virtual System PREMIUM 2.1 - 2008
    ------------
    Just a couple of questions:

    1) Would you suggest to use Prevx RC 3.0.4.195 alongside PC Tools ThreatFire?
    2) Are you planning to translate Prevx OnLine Safe into italian like PREVX 3.0?

    Thank your in advance
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    Prevx updated silently to 3.0.4.195, however the systray icon has disappeared. I am on Xp Pro SP2 using Opera browser. Looks like the install did not go properly- showing pvxinst937.exe in process explorer. See screenies attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,892
    Not to worry. I terminated the install.exe in process explorer and restarted from C:\Program Files\Prevx. Systray has reappeared. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    say prevx , i see this list of incompatibilities for long time , since i am using SB and bsplayer like most ppl here , i cant install prevx for even test....
    any idea when u take care of that?

    cheers:)
     
  9. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Joe

    I think that you need to add MailWasher Pro to the list of incompatibilities with this RC. Have just checked it out again (don't use it much to be truthful...but I was prompted by someone...;) ) and the originally reported problem

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1539307&postcount=264

    is still there.

    I have attached a screenshot with the 'offending' areas arrowed. Essentially, the buttons indicated should not have black backgrounds.

    But was is realy strange is that this seems to be an inconsistent issue...sometimes visiblea nd sometimes not...and as you can see from the screenshot not all buttons have the 'extra' black background.

    Wonder if you can pursue and investigation.

    Cheers




    Baldrick :D
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  10. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Heco wrote :
    PrevxHelp wrote :
    Hello :)

    Sorry for the delay to my reply.
    I have 2 computers with Vista Ultimate 32bits. Pentium Intel Dualcore 2.6 GH, 4GB Ram, 1 TO WDC disk space with 3 partitions. One is intended to play online games, to betatest or try a new software before, if satisfied, installing it on the other one that i mainly use for my job. Both are equipped with DriveClone Pro 7.0 by Farstone and Paragon BackUp 9.0.
    So... on my computer for testing purpose, before installing PrevX RC Builds .182, .183, .191 and now .195, i checked my system for each DCPro snapshot i had stored (one with NIS 2010 (paid), the other with GData Internet Security 2010 (paid)) in search of malwares, viruses or other pests with NIS, GDataAV, SAS, MBAM (in safe mode), DrWeb CureIt, Avira rescue Disk with the latest definitions....NO THREAT FOUND.
    So the PrevX RCs installations were made on a very clean computer...
    Results:
    - With NIS or GData, the new PrevX SafeOnline module prevents the registry access to the REG cleaners integrated in ACE Utilities or PcTools RegMechanic... they keep scanning with their progress bar moving in vain. If i disable the new module SafeOnline, everything works fine!
    - With NIS2010, the new module freezes some pages in Opera for about 10 secs with on the top bar the message "Opera doesn't respond".
    - With GData IS or AV 2010 that integrates an add-on "WebFilter" both into FF or IE8, it's worse... To browse in IE becomes impossible and the Microsoft browser freezes completely. There is a conflict between Safeonline and WebFilter, for if i disable SafeOnline in PrevX, i can browse normally in IE. Moreover with GData IS, the "scan your computer" in Prevx stop at 90% in the progress bar and never ends up. If you want to cancel the scan it freezes with the word "Aborting" appearing for hours. The only solution is to reboot.
    I did these tests as a newbie or an average user of your software. The solutions i found, could not be discovered by 99% of your potential users...
    Just some questions if you don't mind:
    - what the heck, have you implemented this new module to an excellent software? There are plenty of frewares that can do better and have a larger database than yours.
    - Do you have a scheduled roadmap to change PrevX into a a FULL security Suite after adding a FW module in a near future?

    IMHO, you should invite your development team to focus their efforts on improving the core engine instead of being on the way to create a bloatware...
    Once again sorry for being so straightforward, but i am used to speaking my mind.

    Before ending this long post, i have just noticed that if you try to disable or remove SafeOnline and click "Save changes", a few minutes after it is reactivated without your consent!
    For me, these RCs are just at the ALPHA stage... Still a long way ahead before solving bugs and incompatibilities...
    I do apologize if you feel hurt.

    Cheers,
    Herve


    EDIT:
    I hope that when the final and stable version will be officially released, you will give the registered user the opportunity during the installation process , to enable or not this module. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    Heco, you are not alone!

    In my experience this so called Release Candidate get's worse every time and not better? What is going on? - I had it running today for maybe 5 Minutes, then I deleted PrevX because it was such a horrible experience:

    IE8 crashed immediately whenever I was logging in my email account (https). Sorry, I don't have time for such ... you are right ... ALPHA version!

    I am worried about Prevx also, because I don't think they will be able to eliminate all problems this new SafeOnline module has with many programs out there. There could be thousands or more!? I think it has to do with the intrusive way this new software component seems to work. I believe this whole idea is a nightmare and can never be implemented in a way so that PrevX is gonna be that wonderful trouble free software it once was.

    But what do I know .. maybe there's a wonder somehow? ;)

    But frankly, it's very annoying alone that you cannot make screenshots without disabling PrevX. - This whole thing is similar like UAC on Vista. It simply get's on your nerves and then many people will switch that function off. I sure did! - Sadly there are enough problems with that new version even without active SafeOnline module!

    Btw: Problem with BS-Player PRO exists in new version - confirmed.

    Sorry for the bad news. - I hope in the end it's not the same as with skype? I know not one single person which is using horrific v4. They all stay for good reasons with v3 ... don't know if this is possible with PrevX, but it better would be if RCs are not going to be much better.

    Well, good luck with SafeOnline! ;-)
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    To Heco/guest,
    While we do encourage constructive criticism and reports of bugs, in my opinion, it isn't helpful to insult a product because of a few stray incompatibilities seen by ~2 users. SafeOnline can, of course, be disabled and right now we have all of the functionality enabled all of the time so the current builds will most definitely show more incompatibilities than the final versions, but we've done this intentionally for the Wilders/tester communities so that we can get wider feedback on the stray cases.

    There are known incompatibilities with Opera and we have not finished testing through GData. We are prioritizing our testing by market share and it is possible that smaller vendors like GData may have some incompatibilities but that is the purpose of this testing period.

    Sure, and 99% of our potential users would not be using the combination you are - GData has a very small market share worldwide, as does Opera so combined, 99% of our users wouldn't ever run into the issues you have.

    This is intentional, and the expected functionality. Screen scrapers/screengrabbers pose a significant threat to users which is where this additional protection comes in. If you do not feel that you are threatened by these techniques, feel free to turn down the level of protection one notch and it will allow you to take screenshots without impediment.

    Also note that, for example, the Windows 7 RC was released on April 10th, 2009 and the official release is scheduled to take place on October 22nd, 2009. Just because a build is a release candidate does not mean that it will be released tomorrow - we still have a good deal of testing to complete internally but felt that the community would like to take a look at what we've been working on. It is completely your choice to use or not use the SafeOnline functionality and it can be disabled with two clicks (Configure then the "power button").

    If either of you (or anyone else who is experiencing problems) is willing to have myself or one of our other engineers diagnose the problems remotely, this would be the fastest way to get them solved. Just let me know when you're available and we can schedule a time :)
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know if this issue is reproducible or if it only occurred directly after installation?

    We aren't aware of any incompatibilities between the two so you should be fine to use them both :)

    Yes, we will be translating the new functionality into Italian as well as a number of other languages in the near future :)
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We haven't had any luck reproducing it and aren't sure what the cause would be. To clarify from your PMs - did the issue occur on a fresh install of the live v3.0.1.65 after a reboot after the uninstallation of the RC?

    We have left v3.0.1.65 literally untouched for > 4 months and have had no reports of lost internet connectivity. It's more likely that the RC would affect it but we'd need to do some debugging to try and narrow down the cause as we haven't had any other reports.

    Remote assistance probably wouldn't work due to the nature of the internet being disabled but if you have any free time, please let me know and I'll see what we can do work on debugging it with you :)
     
  15. dlimanov

    dlimanov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    204
    Joe,
    3.0.4.195 seems to have corrected HTTPS issues with Opera 10 for me, but I came across new bug: pages with large text files (for example, manuals or books and articles in either HTML or TXT format) don't load fully with SafeOnline on. I'm talking 500Kb and larger files.
    Turning it off allows the entire page to load normally. Again, this is Opera 10, latest stable build 1750 on WinXP SP3.
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know if the page its trying to load from is an http or https page (or if you have configured it to always protect all http*)?

    Thanks! :)
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We will be looking into Sandboxie compatibility very soon :) I'm not sure exactly what the end result will be just yet but I'll keep everyone here informed with our progress!
     
  18. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    as soon as prevx RC is installed, the internet cuts out, and after i uninstall it the internet works again but then wen i tried the regular version of prevx i also lost my connection after installation, but i figure it could be because of remnants from the RC? and yep ill do w/e i can to help get this problem fixed
     
  19. guest

    guest Guest

    Hi PrexHelp!

    Sorry if you feel that way. I did not intend to insult you or your product or anyone. :( You know ... it is just the big concern that the very beloved PrevX is on a good way. That's all. ;)

    In fact I will be very glad if you sort out all the existing problems there might be. You seem to be confident about that and of course I trust you in this and just wait for the final version.

    I just installed trial version of 3.0.4.195 again to test some things.

    My problem was yesterday as today: IE8 (not so uncommon right? :) did 'crash' when using my email-provider (www.web.de - Freemail - they have a very, VERY big market-share here in Germany, believe me! :).


    But more often than just crashing (tab closed) it just didn't load the https page (in fact at no time!) which comes AFTER you log in to that normal http site -> http://www.freemail.de/

    So out of curiosity I lowered the security settings (SafeOnline feature) in steps to LOW and suddenly it works!? The page is loading as it should! All settings higher than that (medium, high, maximum) are preventing the page to be shown, whatever the reason is.

    Maybe you can work with that information somehow?

    If I am not wrong this is only about threats that are not already detected at this moment by Prevx as malware? Because I believe PrevX is a great working product I feel safe it protects me from those nasty things through heuristic or whatever. - Is there really such a threat by malware that you don't recognize? And which are only blocked through that new SafeOnline function? Well .. I cannot know because I have no clue. ;)

    O.K. - I will do that. Just know the RC acted strange even without SafeOnline. Did kill itself restarted some times and such things. And BS-Player Pro had (edit!) troubles with browsers (their windows are locked) with SafeOnline DISabled, this is what I yesterday experienced. - BUT HOWEVER *NOW* (running fresh install of latest RC, not installing it 'over' the non-RC-version as yesterday) I have no browser locking problem running BS-Player PRO, when either SafeOnline is DISabeld or has setting LOW (on my system both http and https). So this is new for me. - Changing it to higher security leads at my system to IE8 crashes so I gave this up for now.

    Thank you! - Yes, I had exactly that fear and I did see me already uninstalling PrevX due to that and all the problems! ;)

    That is a great thing and I appreciate it, really!

    Sorry ... can't let you guys watch my emails or let you remotely on my computer. I bought Prevx to prevent other people exactly from that .. you know? :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  20. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    SafeOnline now incompatible with Google Chrome. Sites come up protected from everything without asking, causing an "Oh Snap, unable to display" message until you turn it off. Occasionally a site gets through briefly, but pretty much unusable with Chrome.
    As an aside, the "always on top" feature also interferes with the "always on top" feature of the taskbar.
     
  21. guest

    guest Guest

    Do you know Babylon - the language translation tool? Is there anyone who has the same problem? I can't get the program (version 8 ) to 'snapshot' (by OCR) from browser windows the words I want to translate, even when SafeOnline is OFF or at setting LOW (snapshot programs should work in this case, right?). - This is true for browsers (tested Firefox 3.5.3 and IE8 ), and btw if I stop Prevx it doesn't change a thing! - Otherwise Babylon works on my system as it should. For example: Babylon translates something from notepad - it works.
     
  22. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Thanks for the info. I discovered a similar problem with Hypersnap DX, a sceen capture utility. Won't capture unless I turn off SafeOnline. Same problem with SnagIt.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    This is intended and no bug if I am not wrong. :) Did you try to lower SafeOnline Security? It works for me with Hypersnap if you set it below MAXIMUM (for example: HIGH or LOW ..), you shouldn't have to disable SafeOnline completely for that to work?
     
  24. dlimanov

    dlimanov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    204
    PMed with all the details.
     
  25. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Right, it is a screen grabbing attack, but don't see a way of exempting certain applications. So if I need to make a screenie for Joe, easiest seems to turn off SafeOnline, do the capture, maybe turn it back on again. Note: But why is it blocked by the default rules on an http site?
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.