PrevX Home startup issue

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by Fubie, Jul 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fubie

    Fubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Rogersville, MO, USA
    I have just installed PrevX after my brother told me about it and after reading about it both here and on Broadband Reports. So I thought I'd give it a try. After installation though I cannot get the GUI running. I believe the program is running because task manager is showing SAGUI.exe and PXAgent.exe running. I have uninstalled and reinstalled twice and it seems that SAGUI.exe is hanging. I am running NOD32 2.000.11b and ZAP 5.1.001.000. I haven't tried uninstalling either yet because I have no other issues with either program and other software I am running. Has anyone else run into this trouble? I am running Win XP Pro SP2 RC2 (2149).

    Let me know if I can give some more info out if needed.
     
  2. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    Same here. I posted a ticket to the support yesterday.

    Regards,

    JacK
     
  3. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Fubie, Please take note that since you are running XP SP2 RC2 v2149, I have to tell you a few problems that you will encounter:
    Some programs may hang or in some cases, NOT respond at all.
    WARNING: XP SP2 RC2 v2149 is a BETA software. BETA software can and will cause some programs on your computer to be damaged, and data loss can occur, or in the worst case, crash your computer. PrevX is also a BETA program, and XP SP2 is also a BETA. Your PrevX is hanging because XP SP2 is causing it. I recommend uninstalling XP SP2, but I give you NO guarantee that your computer will be fine. Use XP SP2 at your own risk. Good Luck.

     
  4. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    I should rather recommend not to run PrevX instead of uninstalling SP2 PC2 which is nearly rhe final release till PrevX is able to run on SP2 ;)
    I didn't uncountered any problem with SP2 RC2 but PevX.
     
  5. controler

    controler Guest

    Hi

    I am running build 2600 SP2 RC2 v 2149 along with ZA free and have no issues with PrevX and Antivir 6.0. I have Boclean and the normal spyware fighters.
    You must have another program that is causing the conflict.
    What other software are you using besides NOD?

    controler
     
  6. Fubie

    Fubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Rogersville, MO, USA
    Heh, nadirah I appreciate your concern and response. But as with what Jack said, I am currently and have been running beta, alpha and rc software constantly with all versions of SP2 (now 2162 as of last night) and to date the only software I have had not operate or operate properly has been PrevX.

    *Jack* I too have sent in a bug report. Thanks for letting me know you have had the same problem!

    *controler* I am running beta versions of NOD32 (2.000.11b) and ZAP (now 5.1.009.000 as of this morning). I also am running in the background and/or in the tray: Backup4all v2.2.0 build 703; GetRight v5.2 beta 2; Hotmail Popper v3.02; APC PowerChute PE v1.4; and SocketWatch v3.5b build 151.

    Does anyone else have any insights or suggestions besides C:\WINDOWS>format c: ...
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2004
  7. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    @ Fubie :

    The support seems a bit funny ;) : they ask me to open the PreveX Security Console and to send a screenshot of the settings.
    Trice I explain them I cannot get it :rolleyes:
     
  8. Fubie

    Fubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Rogersville, MO, USA
    Hello,

    Jack you'll love this one:

    From:
    Prevx Home Support <home-support@prevx.com>

    Subject:
    Re:Your Prevx Enquiry

    Date:
    Mon, 26 Jul 2004 13:08:38 +0000

    To:
    <>

    Hi Randall,

    To start the GUI please go to Start All Programs, Prevx, Prevx Home,
    Prevx Home.

    Thanks for your enquiry.

    Thanks for contacting Prevx Home Support.

    Gareth W

    Prevx Home Support
    www.prevx.com

    I just replied telling them "...don't you think I've tried that...". Oh my, another D-Link tech support like nightmare brewing. I can hear the tech training now "...even if they give you all the pertinent information assume the customer is an idiot...".

    *EDIT*Woo Hooo, I just recieved a reply to my e-mail...now I'm incident #857*EDIT*
     
  9. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hi Fubie,

    That's the first answer I got from the support ;)

    Still awaiting after detailing my config and what I already tried to solve.

    Cheers,
     
  10. controler

    controler Guest

    If I had to guess I would think ZA beta is the cause. Just a guess mind you.
    I am sure you tried shutting down each program to see if the problem changes.
    Or is it a fast user switching issue?
    interesting. If you had all the default settings for PrevX I can send a screen shot of that for you.

    controler
     
  11. Fubie

    Fubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Rogersville, MO, USA
    ZAP is an easy one to blame. I have shut it down but it is notorious for not fully shutting down. Short of uninstalling it to test I can't tell you for sure. And with the way it has settled down with the last 2 betas I'm not in a hurry to uninstall just to let Prevx work.
    Not a clue. I have only two accounts of which only one is used. Actually I have it disabled.
    LOL, and sending me a screen shot won't help I can't get the GUI started.

    Anyone else running ZAP 4.5, 5.0 or one of the newest betas and having luck with Prevx?
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2004
  12. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    I don't run ZA and fast user switch is disable ;)

    I disable too NOD32, OP Pro etc... No way and no tip from BrevX support.

    Rgds,
     
  13. controler

    controler Guest

    Is your version of sagui.exe 2.0.12.0 ? 1,093,632 bytes ?

    PXAgent.exe 2.0.6.0 , 147,456 bytes

    controler
     
  14. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hi controler,

    Exactly and I can see the 2 exe in the task manager and the service is started bu no way to get the Security Console.

    Rgds,
     
  15. controler

    controler Guest

    Do you see anything in your prevX log files located programs/ Prevx Home/log ?
    Should be two files px-debglog and px-log

    next in the main PrevX folder is a txt file called SAGUI which I have attached.
    It discribes how the GUI loads and hooks.
    Maybe one of these files will help.

    controler
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    A firewall can actually block the UI from connecting with the service, so you might want to try disabling it any way you can.
     
  17. webster

    webster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Denmark
    Prevx needs two "allows" in the firewall, to connect properly.
     
  18. controler

    controler Guest

    Ypu a firewall can cause PrevX not to connect to service, which is happening but these guys are saying they dissabled their firewalls and the problem still remains. The log files I mentioned should show what is happening.

    controler
     
  19. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Here is the problem :
    BCOM] - WARNING! AgentID expected but not assigned!
    and thus nothing in SAGUI.log

    I sent the logs to prevex support.

    tnx for your concern,
     
  20. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Well looks like the Prevx Management Console (which is the GUI you guys are talking about) only supports up to XP SP1. So I'd say your problem isn't ZA or NOD or anything else but the stupid XP RC. Leave it up to Microsoft to build a crappy beta version that hasn't had very many compatibility bugs worked out. I'm sure they might get to fixing it (in time), but until then I'd say you're better off not using it.
     
  21. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    If true, at least their support should be aware of the fact and give a warning...

    SP2 is really a great improvement about security.

    All Dev are or should be aware about the changes and produce appropriate code : for more than one year you have all informations about the changes on MSDN.

    AFM I have zero problems with SP2 RC2 but Prevx.

    Seems you have no idea about the solved bugs from the first beta ;)

    Joly good job from M$, I dare say.

    Regards,
     
  22. Fubie

    Fubie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Rogersville, MO, USA
    erikguy instead of laying blame on M$ and SP2 automatically let's try to figure this out. Prevx is in *early* beta so I am more inclined to fault it and since I am running multiple security and utility software programs that are in the beta stage from companies both big and small AND which operates just fine on SP2 the excuse that it is M$'s fault doesn't fly.

    Like Jack said I have sent two e-mails to Prevx support both detailing my use of XP SP2 and they haven't given any indication that this is the issue.
     
  23. 0Lan

    0Lan Guest

    Hi guyz,

    First, Im sorry to hear you're having trouble running Prevx.
    Let me ensure you we are working on that issue.

    Microsoft's SP 2 is not supported officially yet due to the fact
    it is currently in beta. It is risky to make a statement yet until
    we know what else Microsoft is changing.

    It is appreciated if you guyz keep sending the logfiles.
    (e.g. %USERPROFILE\ApplicationData\Prevx\SAGUI.log). This will
    help us to find that issue asap and put a fix into the final release
    of Prevx Home which will come out soon.
    Next to other fixes, the final release also won't interfere with firewalls anymore.

    Hope that helps guyz
    0Lan
     
  24. controler

    controler Guest

    Just a quick addition here.

    most of us know this but for those that don't or forgot, to view this folder,
    (e.g. %USERPROFILE\ApplicationData\Prevx\SAGUI.log)

    you must go to folder options and show hiddon files and folders and also uncheck the HIDE hidden system files box.

    I am wondering if JacK has his log there if the GUI doesn't open. He was saying his log is empty.

    I don't think it is an MS thing but rather another software watching the system files such as PG , safexp ect.

    controler
     
  25. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hi,

    the SAGUI.log in the installation folder ;)

    I sent too the SAGUI.log from ApplicationData which contains some errors like px-log an px-debglog from the installation folder
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.