Prevx crashes IE8

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by badbatzmaru, Jun 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. badbatzmaru

    badbatzmaru Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I just a new HP DV 6t laptop and when i tried starting IE 8, it crashes. I isolated it to Prevx. When Prevx is monitoring is "enabled" IE 8. When I click on "stop monitoring" (install mode), then IE works.

    What could be the problem/issue?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you please tell us what version of Windows you are using and if you are using 32bit or 64bit and the version of Prevx and if you have the full paid version of Prevx with SafeOnline or the Free Facebook version for us to help you better?

    TIA,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2010
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Can you please let me know what other security software you're running (namely Trusteer Rapport?) There is a known issue at the moment with the two protection tools which has been fixed in this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=275231

    Could you please let me know if that new test version corrects it?

    Thank you! :)
     
  4. badbatzmaru

    badbatzmaru Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Yes, you are right. The problem is Trusteer Rapport and Prevx free version 3.0.1.5.171 playing "nice". When I disabled Rapport my IE works. No issues at all with Firefox. I do want IE to work though because "some" websites work better or allow you to download things only in IE!

    I am using windows 7 64 bit home premium.

    I did not test the software "fix" since I wasn't sure was it for only paid users, though I'm seriously considering buying the prevx/hitman pro bundle.

    For now, I have disabled the Trusteer program.

    thanks.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Anyone can try the RC version so give it a try as it should fix your problem!

    TH
     
  6. badbatzmaru

    badbatzmaru Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Thanks. Prevx version 3.0.5.174 works WITH Trusteer Rapport now.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to here thanks for the confirmation! ;)

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.