Prevx "Bug" Reports

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Triple Helix, Jun 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Rodger that! Here's some printscreens just to 'prepare' you for the the issue I'm experiencing. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 18, 2010
  2. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Problem I posted above is now solved, and I suppose this issue will have been resolved until next release.

    Great job as always, Prevx.
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good to here! Prevx has the best support IMHO! That's what got me hooked! Even there support inbox is great with lssues!

    TH
     
  4. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yeah, it was some great going remote desktop. A very good platform for them to fix the issues we, the active, bug-hunting users are finding.
    And TripleHelix, I can only agree. You cannot find better support elsewhere. :)
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,045
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Also just think when they fix our problems the whole Prevx community benefits from our efforts that's got to make you feel good! :D

    TH
     
  6. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,411
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    The unquestionable quality of Prevx support, combined with their high-perfomance software, is what convinced me to purchase.
    Some of the popular vendors have a lot to learn from Prevx IMHO.
     
  7. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    I discovered a new glitch. Prevx not showing up in Windows Security Center.

    Running Windows 7 x64 Ultimate. I have no had this problem before with Prevx. Maybe it's the latest unstable version .153 that's causing it?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Here's another glitch in Chrome. The 'green bar' disappears but the protection is still there; I can't take printscreens without warnings etc. But I can't find out when and why it disappears... so I guess it'll be hard to reproduce. :(
     

    Attached Files:

  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Wow, two bugs reported today already. I hate to put the Prevx-team under pressure, but I love finding glitches like these. :)
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Thank you! :) And we also have some of the best users who are willing to help us out when stray bugs exist! :thumb:
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I believe you're correct - when we put 153 (or higher) out as a beta version, you may want to uninstall and reinstall directly from there which should fix the issue after you put in your license key :)
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've had a couple users report a similar problem and unfortunately you're correct in that it is hard to reproduce. I'm currently only using Chrome here to try to reproduce it but it is more of a cosmetic issue (albeit an annoying one) than an actual protection problem.

    I'll report back if I manage to find anything! Thanks for the heads up :)
     
  13. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yes, but there seems to be no installer with the current (.153) version. With any older version I get the 'no protection' problem which was corrected. :)


    EDIT: Nevermind. I'll just wait for beta.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2010
  14. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hopefully, you'll be able to find the 'disappearing' "bar" in Chrome as well. Is it the 'sandbox' around Chrome that complicates thing that much? Seems like a big pit of problems for SO to manage. It's almost as if Google wants to save the world by themselves. :D
     
  15. Jeannot

    Jeannot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,

    I 'm using (trying) Prevx free on XP sp3 as Admin sinds a month.
    I see again (this has already happened several times recently) that there are up to four icons of Prevx in the taskbar. Then, they disappear one by one and the last one stays.
    But today the program closes permanently. I open it again, but it closes too.
    I reopen it and do a scan... It closes during the scan o_O
    An idee of what happen o_O?
     
  16. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    please try a new scan, right klick prevx tray symbol, safe log.
    report@prevxresearch.com
    explaining the problem

    and post the topic url + your username.
     
  17. Jeannot

    Jeannot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    I left and I closed the PC.
    On my return: 4 icons of Prevx in the taskbar.
    It seemed to me that by simply passing the mouse over it, three of the four are missing.
    But a few seconds after the last icon was also gone.
    I reopen Prevx and do a scan. This time he goes to an end and I see the result (joint).
    I close this display and the icon disappears immediately from the taskbar.
    You say "right klick prevx tray symbol, safe log". How and when can I do that ?
    When I right Klick, I have 3 options : Analyse, configure and stop.o_O
    Thanks !
     
  18. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    you can also open the prevx main window, select tools, safe log.
     
  19. Jeannot

    Jeannot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Yes, this is it : I reopen Prevx - this time one icon in the taskbar - and I simply pass the mouse over it and the icon is gone !
     
  20. Jeannot

    Jeannot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    OK.. i'll do what you say first !
    Thanks again.
     
  21. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    and can you open it in "start" "programs"?
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello :)
    Can you please try this uninstall/reinstall process:

    Run the removal tool from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=csiuninstalltool

    Then reboot your PC

    Then install the newest version from http://info.prevx.com/downloadcsi.asp

    - if it still doesn't install properly, try uninstalling again now by running:

    "c:\program files\prevx\prevx.exe" /prop UNINSTALL=AUTO

    and then reboot and install again.

    Let me know what you find!
     
  23. Jeannot

    Jeannot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    OK. Thank you for your prompt response !:)
     
  24. Jeannot

    Jeannot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,

    I've used "Force Uninstall Prevx" but after the reboot, a screen appeared asking me to install Prevx??
    I've now close the screen and wait for your instructions... (at this stage can I continue installing the new version?):eek:
     
  25. Jeannot

    Jeannot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,
    I finally follow all your recommendations.
    I had to go until the end, but the problem seems to be resolved.
    Thank you very much for your help.:cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.