Prevx "Bug" Reports

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Triple Helix, Jun 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,304
    Wow , works like a charm now.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    I notice if you clear the scan statistics by clicking on the title "Total Scan Statistics" it sets threats detected and active threats to zero, but the number of scans is set to 1 not zero o_O
     
  3. Tolomir

    Tolomir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    While prevx is scanning my system - unknown to me run by system, scanning of a single file from the file context menu is "dead".
    Also it is not possible to open the status screen from the info menu (prevx symbol), when I want to open the configuration, I get a wait until the system scan is ready...

    Under windows 7 a user sees not all tasks in taskmanager by default especially not the system tasks (even as administrator) so a bit more information should be possible, like add a link to the prevx symbol: view current scan.

    I'm using prevx 3.0.5.67
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just uncheck and you will see all scans in the bottom right corner by the clock!

    HTH,

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Lunarius

    Lunarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    I'm using windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, with Prevx 3.0.1.65, got the full package but not the safe online part.

    Reposting because i got no answer since 23rd January so, i'd like to know if it's an issue or not, having allot of questioning about it
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Could you please try downloading the newest update from http://info.prevx.com/downloadcsi.asp which is the version 3.0.5.74 with a Trial of SafeOnline as SafeOnline it a small extra cost to get the full features!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  7. ptz3000

    ptz3000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Hi - I've been running prevX for a few years now and love it.

    Because my prevX never auto updates, i check/grab the betas when they're avialable (I was running v3.0.5.91, and now have gone back to v3.0.5.85).

    However, last week I experienced a strange BSOD (arent they all), and am trying to determine the cause.

    I am running vista 32 bit, all current services packs/updates.

    Other security software I run includes: PC Syware Doc, Avira free, Comodo, and MS Security Essentials.

    My problems first became evident after the latest batch of MS updates.

    After reboot my pc blue screened, reported a usb_bug code and would then disable audio and network (network appeared to have some sort of dhcp error and would auto assign an ip address of 169.xx/etc rather than 192.168/etc. I would also get "system event notification service" error.

    After 3 days of several: system restores, sfc scannow, booting off windows dvd in safe mode and trying to repair, etc - the problem seems to only reappear when I install the latest beta update. Has anyone else experienced this or similar?

    Kind regards - pete

    www.thatsITsolutions.com.au
    peter@thatsITsolutions.com.au
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2010
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Could you please look through the C:\Windows\Minidump\ folder and send us any of the .dmp files to report@prevxresearch.com to see if we can find the cause? If it isn't Prevx, we should at least be able to point you in the right direction! :)
     
  9. ptz3000

    ptz3000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Will get onto it and post/forward mini dump. I cheched for that file, but because I run ccleaner & did a few restores that file is not present.

    I will re-install latest beta and see what happens & report back findings.

    Give me a day as I've got a few things to catchup on before I'm able to embark on the perilous task ahead, I fear for my safety lol ;)
     
  10. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    When a website is visited with "Protect sensitive clipboard data" ticked, the clipboard cannot be copied by a trojan. When the browser is subsquently closed SafeOnline unprotects the clipboard again. However, it does not clear the clipboard at this point, potentially exposing any sensitive data it may contain.

    Should the clipboard be cleared on exit from the browser?

    (I don't know what happens if two browsers are open, e.g. FF and IE)
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Very valid point. I think we may end up adding a message like the one that Microsoft Word shows when there is data left on the clipboard.

    Thanks for the suggestion! :)
     
  12. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It's definitely quite an easy function to work with... however, there are likely many cases where the end user would -want- to have the data on their clipboard. One of the main complexities with SafeOnline is trying to keep it very user-friendly without sacrificing on security. We've come quite a long way with SafeOnline in this regard, but it is an area we are constantly aware of - definitely making sure that the user's experience is not interfered with.

    I still think a message to the end user is necessary before we go about clearing the clipboard contents, but we're considering adding a prevailing protection element across the clipboard to continue securing the data after the browser has been closed, unless unsecured data is copied over the secured data. I think this will probably be the best approach - let me know if you have any thoughts otherwise!
     
  14. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    I think I found a minor bug, or at least an inconsistency.

    When you do a Quick Scan from the Advanced Scan screen, the message "Last Scan: Quick Scan" is displayed on the Status Screen.

    When you do a Deep scan (either from the Status Screen or the Advanced Scan Screen), the message "Last Scan:" is displayed on the Status Screen.

    However, if you do a Quick Scan from the Advanced Tab inside the Tab dropdown window in the browser, the message displayed (when you go and look) is "Last Scan:". But it should display "Last Scan: Quick Scan" to be consistent ;)

    Or it could be it is doing a Deep Scan rather than a Quick Scan and the caption next to the check box in the clip drop-down is wrong. o_O

    This was using the 3.5.0.103 RC btw.
     
  15. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    I don't get a message from Word 2007 when I leave data on the clipboard and exit. Maybe they changed it since 2003.

    There may be some cases, but "many"? Right now, I can't think of any! LOL (I still think a confirmation is necessary though).

    No this won't work, you need to ensure that all data on the clipboard is protected, not just data that happens to be listed as "confidential". What you could do is keep the clipboard protected once the browser closes until it is first changed. But this is a bit clunky for my mind. And what happens if it is not changed and the user runs the browser again?

    I would just have some code on exit like the following pseudocode (KISP - Keep It Simple Prevx!)

    if (not clipboard is empty) {
    message "Clear clipboard?"
    if (response = "Yes") {
    clear clipboard
    }
    }

    You don't need to bother the user if the clipboard is already empty (may be most of the time for a lot of users)

    The messagebox should ideally contain the prevx safeonline logo (to help the user understand why he/she is seeing it).

    And you should ensure that the default on the message window is "Yes" so a simple press of the return key does the safest thing.

    Users who don't use the clipboard will have nothing to do. Users who do, will soon learn why they are being asked this question on exit.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  16. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    Does anyone know what "Shutdown prevx" does in the system tray menu? (visible when you stop/remove protection). And how do you start prevx up again afterwards?
     
  17. papillonn

    papillonn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    TR
    Do you have any problem with firefox 3.6? Safeonline doesn't work even in safe mode.
     
  18. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    No it works just fine for me papillonn.

    Edit. Actually there is one problem, it must be turned on manually in the GUI.

    PrevxHelp, when I load protection from the system tray (after stop/remove protection), SafeOnline is not turned back on. I have to do it manually. Also I have a vague memory of the protection being off after I applied my licence key and having to be turned on manually then (This would have been the .91 release when I did a re-install and re-licenced as the .98 and .100 releases have autoupdated).
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  19. papillonn

    papillonn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    TR
    i don't understand why this happens, because in ie and opera it works, and i didn't touch firefox and its settings.
     
  20. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    Don't worry papillonn, I'm sure someone will help you soon.

    Meanwhile, you could try uninstalling, re-booting, and re-installing prevx.
     
  21. papillonn

    papillonn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    TR
    Even I have used prevx remover for version 3. But the problem persists. Safeonline doesn't work on my firefox 3.6 installation.
     
  22. johncage

    johncage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    Hello,

    I donot know if this is a bug. if a website's security configuration is above low, i cannot use Chinese input software to type Chinese characters in that website.

    It seems that Safeonline dose not support East Asian Language Input.:(
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010
  23. ptz3000

    ptz3000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    My problems seem to have resolved themselves - i've updated to 3.0.5.103 and everything is running smoothly, not sure what caused that bsod/USB bug error code I encountered last week.
     
  24. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    "Shutdown Prevx" will fully terminate its processes, although at that point protection will already be disabled as you would have to remove it to get that menu option. You'll need to use the shortcut to re-enable it (and possibly click Enable Monitoring if under UAC).
     
  25. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know what other security software you use and if you are using any browser sandboxing product?

    Thanks! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.