prevx and Avast

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by hightechredneck69, May 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hightechredneck69

    hightechredneck69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    20
    I had both Prevx and Avast on my computer for several weeks now. THis morning I got a notice I was infected. When Prevx ran the san it found problems with several Avast files. I have been trying to fix what prevx removed, but the malware blocker keeps me from installing avast. I have tried to add Avast to allow it, but it is still giving me trouble.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Last edited: May 26, 2011
  3. hightechredneck69

    hightechredneck69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    20
    Reported to Prevx. They said it was fixed. It is still reporting avast as malware
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  4. hightechredneck69

    hightechredneck69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    20
    Well uninstalled Prevx 3.0 and also Avast. Reloaded both. But I found the computer seems faster without Prevx installed could there be a conflict. Or is there another antivirus that runs better with Prevx. Current not using Prevx and the computer does seem faster.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i am running nod32 antivirus and prevx and they both are fast:thumb:
     
  6. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    y would u need two av's J.. are u expecting a sudden shower of rogues on you my good friend?:argh:
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it's very light and i have a licence for prevx and about the shower of malware you never know:D
     
  8. fasteddy2020

    fasteddy2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    I run Prevx and Avast IS 6. That little hiccup last week cause some major issues for me. I did as the OP did and uninstalled Prevx and AIS and reinstalled because my computer slowed to a crawl after the issue. I then found there was a critical error with another program that had been running fine the day before. I spent hours cleaning the registry because I could not uninstall the program. I finally got fed up and reverted to an image that was taken a week prior to the problem and not everything is fast as it had been for months. In the end I can't say that the problem occurred just because of Prevx but the issues occurred right after it was saying that Avast was malware. Seems a little more than a coincidence. Won't stop me from using Prevx, but it was a complete hassle and I needed to get work done yesterday instead of doing this. Occasionally sh*t happens, that is why we have imagining software! :D :thumb:
     
  9. Vikorr

    Vikorr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    662
    Well that might explain the recent slow down in my computer - I have prevx3 and avast free.
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @ fasteddy2020 & Vikorr did you let Prevx remove those files that were detected in Avast or select Prevx to set them as FP's as in Right Click on the files and Report as False Positives? Because if you did you could of gone into Prevx and restore the files that were in Quarantine!

    TIA,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  11. fasteddy2020

    fasteddy2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    I did report them as false positives. It did not help the situation any. I did not uninstall and reinstall until a couple of days later. And it was a week later that I found my other program not working. I cannot say for sure that it was Prevx's fault. I can only say that my problems started the Thursday Prevx was telling me I had a bunch of infections. There are no slow downs for me now and everything is back to normal after mounting a backup image to one before the FP Thursday.
     
  12. Vikorr

    Vikorr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    662
    TripleH - Prevx didn't detect Avast free as FP's on my machine, but it did slow down for some unexplained reason recently. I have a number of on demand scanners that have picked up nothing in terms of infections, and I haven't installed anything new, but I did update avast a few weeks back.

    But as I often boot my machine and walk away and do other things, I don't always see how long it takes to boot, so didn't realise until about a week after that that things were slow. I honestly can't be bothered uninstalling it atm. After the slow bootup, things normally work fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.