PrevX 30 got stuck while scanning/canceling scan

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by lordpake, Oct 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    See screenshot here http://yfrog.com/e0prevx30stuckj (imageshack short url)

    Basically I told PrevX 3.0 to scan, it got stuck in the "scanning for new threats with the db", I tried canceling and still stuck :) (see screenshot)


    So how could one solve such a problem? I'd hate to do a reboot as I am in the middle of something. With the medium self protection can I kill the processes somehow?

    (Note I'll likely do a reboot in ~6hrs after this posting, however I'd still like to know if I can manually kill the bugger and restart it somehow?)

    Stopping / re-enabling protection doesn't work. The cleanup in the screenshot refers to alleged malware found by custom scan in my questionable downloads folder :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2009
  2. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    About 3,5 hrs and still going strong :p

    It seems PrevX also missed scheduled scan, due to this freezing condition.

    See the screenshot here http://yfrog.com/22prevx30stuck2j


    Interesting bug :) it renders PrevX unusable. Reboot likely fixes this (or so I hope).

    System is XP Home SP2 with KIS 2009 latest official build and WinPatrol Plus + MBAM paid version (no active protection enabled).
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Did you try to reinstall?

    TH
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'm not sure what would cause this but I do suspect that rebooting will fix it - let me know if it doesn't and I'll investigate further :) It could possibly be a firewall silently blocking Prevx but it should timeout after 45 seconds :doubt:
     
  5. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    Luckily it was fixed by reboot. I have no idea what went wrong though.

    There were no indications in Task Manager about it spending more CPU time etc. It was purely frozen as far as I could see.

    I am considering this as one of those things you see once in a lifetime :)


    Would remove/reinstall 'repair' similar issues (w/o reboot) or is it possible to manipulate the service (stop/resume it) via Services.msc? Since the tray icon lacks option to exit/unload the app? Assuming it would of course work in situation such as mine was.
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Once Prevx has loaded with self protection, you wouldn't be able to terminate it. However, if you do happen to run into this again (and I'd wait until it happens again before taking further action as I think it is quite rare), you may want to set self protection to Minimum and then reboot your PC - you'll then be able to terminate the Prevx processes if wanted using Task Manager.

    Also, let me know if you happen to get it again and I'll definitely investigate further. I suspect this may have been a one-off issue :doubt:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.