Prevx 3 and Firefox problem

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by mesaboogieman, Mar 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mesaboogieman

    mesaboogieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    UK
    Hi
    I have recently purchased PrevX 3 with SafeOnLine and now find that when I start Firefox it sometimes fails to start and puts up an error reporting box. If I close this box and restart Firefox it's usually ok again.

    I am running Win7 X86 with PrevX 3.106 , DefenceWall V3 and Admuncher

    I was not having this problem prior to installing PrevX 3. Has anyone else experienced this problem?

    Thanks
    mesaboogieman
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,522
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Your version of Firefox? And did you try a reboot?

    TIA,

    TH
     
  3. mesaboogieman

    mesaboogieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    UK
    Hi
    Had problem with Firefox 3.6 and now updated 3.6.2 but problem still exists.

    I have not bothered to 'reboot' as usually closing the Firefox error repoting box and restarting Firefox solves the problem.

    As this problem does not occur every time I start Firefox it's difficult to figure out what the problem is. All I know is it was not happening before I installed PrevX so I thought I would enquire if anyone else has seen this problem.

    Update: I have uninstalled Admuncher and installed Adblock Plus to see if this helps. I did have a similar problem when I tried to use IE8 with Trusteer Rapport and Admuncher before switching to FireFox. Admuncher seems to be the common factor. We shall see and report back.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2010
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,522
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    In this case it would be best to do a scan and save the log and send it to report@prevxresearch.com with a link to this thread as some others are having problems see here but mine is working fine as I don't use any Ad Blockers!

    TH
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    :thumb: As always, TH has the perfect response :D Thanks for the help, TH!
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,522
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Anytime as always! ;) And your welcome as always!

    TH
     
  7. mesaboogieman

    mesaboogieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    UK
    Hi
    Update:
    I have now been running PrevX/SOL with Firefox and Adblock for two days rather than Firefox and Admuncher and I have not had a single instance of Firefox not starting correctly.

    This leads me to think there is some incompatability between PrevX/SOL and Admuncher when using Firefox.
     
  8. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,209
    Yeah, it is probably locked down to Firefox only because I am using Opera and Ad Muncher without issues or I am not aware of any at least :D
     
  9. papillonn

    papillonn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    TR
    I believe there is serious problem in prevx with firefox and chrome browsers.
     
  10. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    If that is the case you really need to provide ample commentary instead of a vague response.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,522
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    He's also got a thread going on here also https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=268301 have a look at the last post and it seams he has it sorted?

    TH
     
  12. papillonn

    papillonn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    TR
    Thanks TH, that is correct, somehow i figured out. :)
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,522
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you share anymore info to us maybe it will help others with the same problem?

    TIA,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  14. papillonn

    papillonn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    TR
    i only switched safe online on/off when i start the computer in safe mode. after i restart it normal mode and everything is ok.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.