Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.155

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by PrevxHelp, May 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all
    We've finished another round of minor improvements throughout the Prevx offering. Below is the changelog - please let me know if you have any questions!

    You can download it from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta for 32bit/64bit new installations or from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta64 for a manual upgrade on a 64bit installation.

    - (PSO) Added preliminary support for SRWare Iron
    - (PSO) Fixed some issues with Chrome
    - (PSO) Fixed compatibility with RocketDock
    - (PSO) Fixed compatibility with YzShadow
    - (PSO) Text changes when receiving credential protection messages
    - (PSO) Improved screengrabber protection
    - (P3E) Improved silent execution support in Enterprise
    - (P3E) Major improvements in the install process for Enterprise
    - (P3E) Improved Enterprise server communication and data organization
    - (P30) Improved failover logic on installation if an internet connection is not present
    - (P30) Improved communications for the new major upgrades to the Prevx cloud architecture
    - (P30) Fixed an issue handling files while protection is disabled
    - (P30) Improved compatibility with Symantec Endpoint Protection
    - (P30) Minor textual changes when aborting the learning scan

    UPDATE:
    I'm a bit early with announcing the next beta but I'm just going to keep it within this thread for simplicity's sake. It should be out in the next hour or so with build number 3.0.5.157:

    Changelog
    - (PSO) Fixed an issue causing AOL to not be able to read cookies
    - (PSO) Added full AOL browser compatibility, including the browser tab into the window
    - (P3E) Fixed an issue causing windows to flicker under Enterprise mode

    Please let me know if you find any issues! Thank you for the testing :thumb:
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2010
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    551
    Location:
    Moon
    Thanks!
     
  4. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    As build 143 was an official release, which I clean-installed, and this is, apparantly a beta, should I install this on top of 143, or will installing via "check
    for updates" work? What is recommended, please?
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Does it say Release Candidate in your GUI? If it does Click on "Check for Updates" If not download the RC from the links above and install over top and reboot!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  6. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thanks TH, no this is not the RC...GUI says Prevx 3.0, but I still have a RC installation file in my downloads, so I'll use that. What you're saying is that only
    RC will install on top, or must do a clean install, I take it. Thanks for the prompt
    clarification, have a good day.
    p.s. sorry, yes I'll just install download of 155 on top, thanks,
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2010
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes download and install over top and reboot and let us know how it goes! ;)

    TH
     
  8. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    703
    Updated from 143 to 155 while virtualised with Returnil 2010 but without any of the problems I experienced here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=272420

    I am also browsing using ChromePlus and none my previous problems with the SafeOnline tab randomly disappearing and returning have occurred so far with this new build. The Amazon.co.uk site now has a lock in the tab when I go to 'My Account', in the past the lock only appeared when I left the site. Fingers crossed and :thumb:
     
  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Not sure if it's a critical issue or not.

    During scanning protection is disabled. I also get an error message with it. I click "OK" and Prevx.exe is terminated.

    This has happened to me twice now. I can't seem to reproduce it by doing the same actions again. Must be something random.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 21, 2010
  10. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Now it happened again. Scan was aborted, protection disabled. I couldn't enable it again without a reboot.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  12. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Prevx was terminated yet another time just now!

    I will uninstall and install .155 again.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      8.4 KB
      Views:
      355
    Last edited: May 21, 2010
  13. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Nope, problem persists. I will revert back to .143 which was stable, but not very well working for Chrome.
     
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Wait for Joe he will fix you up! I not having any problems with my x64 version to let you know!

    TH
     
  15. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yeah, but it's weekend now. He's probably busy with life. I can't ask for a third remote session within a week to fix these bugs. He needs some rest! :p Anyway, will wait for new .156 because .155 was too much crash n burn for me.
     
  16. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thanks, think I'm finally clear on how updating works, depending on what version you've got installed- Yes all good, everything working, it seems. Now GUI showing Release Candidate, which is like before I installed build 143 afresh, and now integrated in Action Centre(since clean install).Reckon if you're someone that likes easily installing latest builds(as I do), then it's best to have
    RC.
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes I always keep the RC even when it goes final as it's the same code but the Update feature will let you Auto-Update to a new RC if there is one! It's just my preference to keep the RC and mine will always say "Release Candidate"!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This could potentially be from the debug builds we were testing with. Could you try fully uninstalling from an Admin account using the following steps:

    Run the removal tool from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=csiuninstalltool

    Then reboot your PC

    Then install the newest beta from http://info.prevx.com/downloadcsi.asp

    Then run another uninstall using the commandline:

    "c:\program files\prevx\prevx.exe" /prop UNINSTALL=AUTO

    and then reboot and reinstall from the beta link. If this persists, let me know and I'll definitely be interested in another remote session. Today might not work out well but I'll be available tomorrow (Sunday) if you're still running into issues.

    Let me know how it works for you! :) We will have a new beta coming out in the next couple hours as well which could potentially fix some problems although we have not addressed what you're seeing here, shadek.
     
  19. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all :)
    For simplicity's sake, I'm keeping everything in this same thread, but we're releasing a new beta build with support for the AOL browser now as well.

    This brings our list of supported browsers to:

    Internet Explorer 5.5
    Internet Explorer 6
    Internet Explorer 7
    Internet Explorer 8
    Firefox 1.0
    Firefox 2.0
    Firefox 3.0
    Firefox 3.6
    Chrome 2.0
    Chrome 3.0
    Chrome 4.0
    Chrome 5.0
    Opera 9.0
    Opera 10.0
    Opera 10.5x
    AOL 9.0
    SRWare Iron 5.0

    We've implemented some of our Prevx 4.0 code for SafeOnline into 3.0 now which will make it easier for us to add additional browsers but it is still not our top priority as our goal is to provide the deepest protection as wide as possible, but focusing on quality protection rather than just trying to cover every minor browser :)
     
  20. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    464
    Location:
    UK
    Great. I was going to install this RC but now I will wait for the new one.
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.157

    Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.157 is now out as I Auto-Updated just now! The links are in the first post!

    TH
     
  22. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    464
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.157

    Thanks TH. Like the new look you have :D . I am downloading it. Will do a fresh install.
     
  23. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I will be able to do this tomorrow (Sunday) at around 10PM CET. I'll contact you either way of how it goes. I will test the issue with latest beta available at that time.
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: Prevx 3.0 with SafeOnline build 3.0.5.157

    Thanks I thought I would go Blue like my Avatar :D

    TH
     
  25. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Have had HitmanPro(3.5.5.98-on demand) give me, presumably FP detections of PSOL 3.0.5.157, files prevx.exe and PxSecure.dll as "malware" and "Trojan",
    respectively!!! Selected "report this file is safe" in both instances, and did scans with MBAM and Avast(Prevx removed from exclusions) just to make sure. Just a bit funny if no-one else reported to HMP cloud-database, or am I somehow, possibly infected as HMP suggests?! Think not, probably another Ikarus engine/aSquared over-enthusiasm. Any ideas, please? Maybe should post on HMP thread.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.