PREVX 3.0 runs fine, WSA AntiVirus 2012 will not

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by RunLean, Nov 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RunLean

    RunLean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Installed WSA trial and DEP popped up saying it stopped Windows Explorer. Trying to close this message window prompts a DRWatson crash window. If I just drag the DEP message to the side without trying to close it, I can use the computer OK except for Windows Explorer. Have to use a third party file manager.

    Uninstalled WSA and installed PREVX 3.0 from the PREVX website. PREVX is running without a hitch. 365 days left on subscription.

    Hope Webroot doesn't hijack my PREVX with an "upgrade".
     
  2. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    Eventually all Prevx 3 users will be migrated to the new Webroot product, which has enhanced Prevx technologies built into it. In the meantime I would suggest you contact Support with your issue. They should be able to help you resolve it so the problem doesn't reoccur.
     
  3. RunLean

    RunLean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Tony,

    Thanks for the response. Tech says it's software & start up issues on my computer. I believe I've resolved these.

    If I uninstall PREVX & reinstall WSA and then have the same problem, can PREVX be reinstalled without having to pay another sub fee?

    Thanks,
    RL
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes, you can always reinstall Prevx. If you still experience the same problems, please let me know and I can help investigate closer.

    In the meantime, could you let me know what other security software you're using?

    Thanks!
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes you can, but if you continue to have problems with installing WSA please contact WSA support: https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp

    Thanks,

    TH

    Joe beat me to it again! ;)
     
  6. RunLean

    RunLean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, guys will contact support again if find any more probs.

    FYI, not running any other security software aside from Windows firewall. Had been using Ad Aware & PC Tools Spyware Doctor in the past, but uninstalled them & used any purging tools they had available to get rid of traces.

    Will keep u posted for sure. Thanks,
    RL
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.