Prevx 3.0 and/or Safe Online?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by JerryM, Jun 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I want to try Prevx on my system. My sig line shows what I am using.

    I am confused as to the difference between Prevx 3.0 and Safe Online. Should I use only one or both? Thanks.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You'll want to install the main Prevx 3.0 application which comes with SafeOnline built in. The separate SafeOnline installer hides some of the antimalware components of Prevx 3.0 because they aren't as necessary when SafeOnline is active and protecting your banking sessions.

    Let me know if you have any questions! :)
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, I appreciate the help.
    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  5. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Just to clarify, and please correct me if I am wrong, is that Prevx 3.0 comes with a SafeOnline trial.

    If one wanted a full version of SafeOnline then the FaceBook version is a free solution. However does it also offer everything found in Prevx 3.0 free?
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Your first Question that is True! The second the answer is here as Cudni posted:https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1692801&postcount=25 & https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1693293&postcount=28

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2010
  7. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    which is one would be faster for my slow PC? o_O
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    They are both the same except GUI and more/less notifications/interaction, so the speed is also both the same. It is possible to install Prevx 3 without SafeOnline with a command switch, that might make it a bit lighter, but I don't think there will be a noticable difference.
     
  9. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    is it possible to install SafeOnline without Prevx 3 then?
     
  10. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Yes, install via commandline and use this command:
    prevxcsifree.exe /prop SECUREB=N
    Of course if your filename is not prevxcsifree.exe replace it with the correct one.
     
  11. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Wow! I'll try this. :eek:
     
  12. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    It did install Prevx 3 without SafeOnline.

    But I want SafeOnline without Prevx 3... :'(
     
  13. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    oh sorry, I misread your question.
    I don't think it is possible to install SafeOnline without Prevx 3, ask PrevxHelp to be sure.
     
  14. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Joe also told me that its not possible to install SafeOnline without Prevx 3.0
    but I'm still hoping for a workaround. :doubt:
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Not possible as they work together!

    TH
     
  16. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    If i install SO from facebook and over install PrevX, does this mean i get the full SO + increased malware detection/notifications? :doubt:
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    why is this important as you can just turn it off once installed.
     
  18. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    You sure about that? :doubt:
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yes, just go into GUI and into SafeOnline. At the top slid the little button to the right and it deactivates it. I did since I am using Sandboxie with it.
     
  20. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    y'all are getting it wrong!

    I want SafeOnline ON!
    and Prevx Realtime Infection monitoring OFF
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.