Prerequisites for Disk Imaging

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by gsownsby, Nov 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gsownsby

    gsownsby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    I'm new to TI 9.0 and was wondering are there prerequisites to making a disk image such as turning off screensavers, power-save, etc?

    It seems that the progress status (percent complete) stops working when a screensaver kicks-in. I was watching it zip along and when the screensaver activated, I moved the mouse to get out of screensaver mode and the progress is stuck at 72 percent and six minutes to go has now been at least 10 minutes. o_O
     
  2. gsownsby

    gsownsby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    Well on closer inspection turning off the screensaver and disabling power-save did change anything. I created another image file and progress stopped again at 72 percent complete and six minutes to go. Is this a bug??
     
  3. jnewton

    jnewton Guest

    Yep. My True Image 9 hangs at 73%. Ultimately it completes with an error message stating that the "specified file could not be found." If I do a backup of a smaller size, TI works.
     
  4. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    which build of version 9 are you using? Make sure it's the latest build (2302), and see if still happens with latest build.
     
  5. gsownsby

    gsownsby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    Yes...using Build 2302.

    Mine does not ever complete if I store the image in the Secure Zone but seems to work fine if I store on a USB drive.
     
  6. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    that seems strange...you would think one would have more trouble creating images to a usb drive than into the secure zone on the primary drive. is the secure zone large enough for the image you are trying to create? maybe try deleting the secure zone, and recreate it, and see if that helps any.
     
  7. gsownsby

    gsownsby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    thebigdintx,

    Shortly before your reply, I stumbled on that idea. My notebook PC has a 30 GB hard drive and only about 5-7 GB are free space after program loads, data, and photos. When I read a bit about the compression ratio of the "normal" setting, it seems that the disk image can't be squeezed enough with the normal setting to fit in the 5 GB Secure Zone. I can increase the compression ratio but I'm sure that would take longer each time the drive is imaged.

    TI WILL do a normal backup process of selected files and folders into the Secure Zone so I think you're right...the Secure Zone is too small. Since the USB drive is FAT32-formatted, the image is automatically stored in three separate files of about 4 GB each (due to FAT32 file size limitations)...but the image job does work and completes successfully.

    For now, it's okay for me to backup to the USB drive as I usually carry it with me along with the notebook PC. Thank you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.