pre/post commands ? Failed to create pipe

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by snakeoil, Nov 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snakeoil

    snakeoil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I just tried the new v9 True Image free trial. I currently own v6 and it works just fine.

    I am unable to get any pre/post command to run. I've tried a c++ program I wrote, and even a simple .bat file with an echo statement, all fail, error code 1 - failed to create pipe.

    Anyone got any ideas or has anyone got this to work?

    I wrote a program to find the .tib file and rename it as YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS.tib so when the next scheduled backup runs, it will not overwrite the previous backup file. I want to run this program as POST command after the backup runs. but it fails every time.

    How do other get around the backup file name not being dynamic?

    EDIT: after searching, I see others have this problem and it's been around a while. Very disappointing. I just want to be able to schedule a backup and have the resulting filename as YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS.tib so I can keep multiple image files around. Norton Ghost 10 names the files something goofy, but at least every backup gets a different name and it will automaticlly (if configured) delete old archives to keep enough space for the new back.

    I use True Image v6 now, works as advertized. I just bought Norton Ghost v10 ($20 AR) and am trying the True Image v9 free trial. I don't like any of the new programs.... Just get the POST command working and I'll buy it (actually upgrade from my registered v6).
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2005
  2. snakeoil

    snakeoil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I was hoping for some word from Acronis Support when the PRE/POST command feature will be fixed o_O

    Or some acknowledgement that yes it is broke and we're working on it.

    Or telling that I did something wrong and how to correct it so the PRE/POST commands work for me.

    But right now as I see it, a product is being sold, the feature is documented in the users guide available for download from here as a pdf file and the feature flat out does not work.

    I'm sure glad I tried before I bought. Or will it be fixed tomorrow or the next day?

    Information is good.
     
  3. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    I received this email from Acronis Support:

    From: Acronis Customer Service Department [support@acronis.com]
    Sent: Monday, November 14, 2005 11:17 AM
    Subject: [Acronis #391347] New problems with user commands in build 2302

    Dear Mr. Kairys,

    The issue has been fixed and the updated build (2310) will soon be available on our website.

    We are always at your service should you have any further questions.

    Thank you.
    --
    Sincerely yours,
    Aida Darzieva
     
  4. snakeoil

    snakeoil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the info. Of course we have no idea how long "soon" is.

    Well, at this point I'm losing interest after reading about all the problems with v9 in a product they are SELLING to the public.

    I own Acronis v6, it works fine. Maybe I'll check back in a few months to see if v9 is out of beta test.

    I am a software developer and there is no excuse for shrink wrapped software to be this buggy. Reminds me of the time IBM convinced us to purchase OS2 before it was ready, and we all ended up doing their beta testing for them.

    I honestly don't know how Acronis can continue to take people's money for this unfinished product. It's unethical and I won't stand for it by either buying it or beta testing it for them. At least in the company I work for, the system testers know when new builds will be available to test. Acronis wants free beta testers (us) and won't even tell us when a new build will be available. I'm taking my toys and going home.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.