Pre-backup command fails, but test works

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jsm555, Feb 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jsm555

    jsm555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Using Acronis Home 9 with XP and I'm trying to execute a bat file prior to backup, to bring Outlook down (can't backup the .pst file while Outlook is running). The bat file killoutlook.bat contains the following: taskkill /im outlook.exe and the pre-backup command simply runs that bat file. When I do a "test command" it completes successfully and brings down Outlook, but when I try to actually run the backup, I get the following:

    <log build="3633" product="Acronis True Image Home" uuid="74400284-E7CC-4AA0-8691-0CC6E20A940F" version="9.0">
    <event code="2" id="1" message="The &quot;New task backup&quot; operation started" module="100" time="1204041737" type="2" />
    <event code="11" id="2" message="Priority changed to Low priority" module="100" time="1204041737" type="3" />
    <event code="1024" id="3" message="Child process has exited with code 1" module="1" time="1204041737" type="4" />
    <event code="133" id="4" message="Execution of user command killoutlook.bat failed. Error code: 1" module="100" time="1204041737" type="4" />
    <event code="5" id="5" message="Operation has completed with errors." module="100" time="1204041737" type="4" />
    </log>
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I would guess this is a case of Outlook not being available in TI "processes" view when running a task. It's the same reason that you can't normally use any commands that require user intervention.

    You might try setting up the "taskkill" in Windows Task Scheduler for one minute before TI starts its backup.
     
  3. jsm555

    jsm555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Well, Acronis tech support was absolutely no help, but thanks to MudCrab, I figured out a workaround. I scheduled the .bat job to run about a minute before the backup (apparently you can't fire off a .bat from scheduler without setting up a username/password and specifying it). Anyway, I decided that, since all the files I need to backup are in MyDocuments and on the Desktop, I just used the free Synctoy to 'echo' those files to my backup drive. I've been very disappointed with Arconis' support (why should I have to pay 'extra' for timely support? The software's not that cheap!) This is the second time they've let me down in less than three months, and I'm finished with them. The Synctoy method works fine, though -- thanks so much for getting me on the right track, MudCrab!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.