Post Cloning Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Don Jones, Jul 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Don Jones

    Don Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Comp is a Dell M60 Precision Notebook.

    The original HDD, a 60 gb, 7200 rpm, WD went bad so I replaced it with a 120 gb, 5400 rpm, WD. On this I did a fresh install of XP Pro from the original Dell OS disc and then patched the OS to SP3. I then loaded Adobe 8 (free), Kaspersky 7.0, iTunes and Acronis TI 10.

    In the mean time Dell sent me out a warranty replacement 100 gb 7200 Seagate drive so I decided this would act better as my primary drive so using Acronis I cloned the 120 to the 100.

    Cloning went to plan and I installed the new drive into the machine. Windows fired up without problems and all applications function OK.

    The problem is the HDD green led, showing disc activity, is almost perminantly on with the rare flicker off. I disabled Kaspersky thinking it might be that checking the drive, but no change.

    any comments before I do a full reinstall onto this drive to see if that cures it.

    ta
    DJ
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Open Task Manager to see what is running.

    Xpilot
     
  3. Don Jones

    Don Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I will check this evening, thanks

    dj
     
  4. Don Jones

    Don Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Nothing running under Applications, CPU usage 1% to 3%, Nothing under networking and only one User.

    Under the Processes tab, System Idle Process is at 99 in the CPU column. This is the same as my desktop which has no problems.

    dj
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does the light problem happen only when in Windows?

    Does it stay on when booted to the TI CD or to any other OS CD (BartPE, VistaPE, Knoppix, Ubuntu Live CD, etc.)?

    Does it stay on when you're in the computer's BIOS?

    Laptop lights are usually pretty isolated. However, I have a desktop where the drive light "looks" like it's on all the time unless you look straight at it because the power LED is just above it and it bleeds through.
     
  6. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    - Please switch off indexing the NTFS-filesystem.
    - may be there is the automatic prefetch optimizing active.

    Indexing you can switch off, the prefetch optimizing I don't know.

    Perhaps it is one of the two points...
     
  7. Don Jones

    Don Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    The LED is on when only BIOS is running....

    It does not stay on with the 120gb drive reinstalled.

    Will try MrMorse sug tomorrow.
     
  8. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    A couple of things to try:
    1. Try a reverse clone - put the problem free 120 in the external enclosure and the new 100 in the laptop and then carry out the cloning.
    2. Make a Backup Image of the 120, then install the 100 and restore that Image to it.
     
  9. Don Jones

    Don Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the replies.

    I did a complete clean install of XP and the LED is on 99% of the time and the drive sounds noisy. The original 60 gig and 120 gig were and are oh so quiet.

    I have informed Dell and awaiting their response.

    dj
     
  10. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    What kind of drive noise? clicking? It sort of sounds like the drive is trying to do a read and not accomplishing it and so gets caught in a loop. Anyway, sounds like the drive is the problem.
     
  11. Don Jones

    Don Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Not a click just more the continual swirling as it runs. I suppose it being a 7200 the sound is noticible and as it was running almost 100%.

    As requested by the Dell Tech I ran an intense diagnostic on the drive and during Read Test it stopped and restarted about 5 times but did eventually complete giving a Test Pass...........the Dell Tech said it sounded faulty so he has arranged another drive for tomorrow. Dell have been up to snuff on support yet again. I had a Vid Card go about 2 years back and they changed it out in 2 days...........funny thing the first card they sent was U/S also.

    Acronis have yet to reply to my Support request even though it appears to be a hardware error. I have no hardship with Acronis because I believe Seagate/Maxtor offer their software FOC to clone drives.

    thanks all.

    dj
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.