Possible Virus or Other Issue

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by TheIgster, Jul 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Hmmm...not suite sure what to think of this. Having a bit of an issue browsing the web and it doesn't matter what I scan with, I can't find anything.

    If I go to this web page, it shows up for a few seconds and then the page reloads and I get the attached page come up.

    I'm using FireFox. Anyone else see an issue like this?

    Original Link: http://www.engadget.com/2010/05/20/logitechs-google-tv-companion-box-includes-smartphone-apps-we/

    Page that shows after a few seconds (after I see the original page come up - it IS available and there):

    http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/3062/captures.jpg

    This happens for numerous pages, but not all.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    are you allowing scripting? All I see is the original page with scripting disabled
     
  3. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Dunno...easiest way to check that? I haven't changed anything in my setup recently, but this just started happening a few days ago.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  5. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Sorry, I don't understand what you mean?

    Who might have changed the site? If I never had to disable javascript before, why would I need to now?

    Guess I'm just not understanding what you are saying...more details please.

    Edit: I did disable javascript and it stayed loaded this time. How does that effect web browsing though?
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    You don't have to do anything (unless you want to troubleshoot). All I'm saying is that with scripting disabled no other page shows up. As to what changed on the site, don't know. An educated guess that something changed if you didn't see it before and you are seeing it now.
     
  7. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Thanks for your help Cudni. Very strange indeed how that would switch to a MySpace page like that with scripting enabled.
     
  8. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
  9. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Nope. Got the attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    That was with scripting enabled?

    The above error is correct, but this:

    is indeed very strange. Something redirected the facebook link to a myspace page. Can you install Live HTTP Headers and get a log of the engadget page?
     
  11. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yes, with scripting enabled. Now it's working correctly again though. No MySpace pop up. I have no idea what was going on.

    I installed the add on and have attached the log anyway.

    Something strange going on indeed.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Log.txt
      File size:
      5.8 KB
      Views:
      8
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.