Possible to setup CIS as an anti-executable?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jdd58, Jun 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    Is it possible to setup CIS as an anti-executable only? If so where would I start? I ask only because some anti-executable software (Returnil) does not work on 64 bit Vista yet.
     
  2. IBadget

    IBadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Waipahu, HI
    You can start by activating the Proactive Security profile, which enables Image Execution Control. You should also put Defense+ in Clean PC Mode to monitor new executables.
     
  3. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    632
  4. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    Thanks for your replies. It looks like I have something new to experiment with now.
     
  5. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Couldn't you just use LUA + SRP?
     
  6. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes, I'm using LUA + SRP reg file by Lucy for Vista Home Premium 32 bit on my laptop along with Returni's anti-execute and Sandboxie.

    I have a new desktop for my wife and have set it up with LUA but am hesitant to apply the SRP reg file as it has 64 bit windows. Since Returnil is not yet 64 bit compatible and Sandboxie likely never will be, I wanted to try something that was as effective as those programs and 64 bit compatible.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.