(possible) bug reports v2.0 Beta1

Discussion in 'NOD32 Early v2 Beta' started by Paul Wilders, Dec 24, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I agree with Marti. I was quite confused when I tried updating and saw a flash and the message "waiting". Waiting for what? So I hit the update button again and this time after the flash, I saw "downloading" for a second or two and then it switched back to "waiting". Huh? Did it download the new definitions or what? (I figured we should be getting new definitions since there has been discussion on DSLR about a new one that other av have already included and I don't see in the 12/17 NOD def). Finally, I thought to go look in the logs where I was told it was up to date.

    The current version of NOD has a screen that pops up after you try to manually update, and there is no update available, that says "your definitions are up to date". The beta version needs this popup screen.
     
  2. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    hey don't blame Nod when you went "silent" Look in the setup - silent option will supress all information that doesn't need user action - I love it

    ruben
     
  3. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Oh! OK. I didn't really understand what that meant "go silent". I checked it because Marti showed it checked in her screenshots and she was helping those of us with W98x systems so that we could resolve the terrible resource problem. If I uncheck the "silent" mode, is that going to affect resourceso_O
     
  4. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Sorry Mele, was not trying to confuse you. The screen shot was to illustrate the "windows graphics off" mode only.

    I too was confused about "silent mode," as you can see by my posts in this thread.
     
  5. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I'm assuming it is "silent mode", which I still had checked when I just ran a full on demand scan, that caused NOD to stop everytime it found an archived zip file with a virus, but not popup a notification to me asking what I wanted it to do. I had it minimized so the only way I could tell that I needed to bring up the screen was because I could no longer hear the CPU working! It would have sat there forever, stuck on that detection, otherwise! So, I'm unchecking "silent mode".
     
  6. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Seems to me that there are definitly problems with win98. Here on win2k silent works like a charm

    Scanning too

    Ruben
     
  7. passintime

    passintime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Technodrome, thanks for the response. For some odd reason nothing seems to work. It seems to be looking for ip 127.0.0.1 (with adsubtract and proxomitron open) or 66.111.104.94.(with them closed) Even when I close adsubtract and proxomitron and change my settings in IE, I still can't connect to the internet. I guess I'll have to wait for the real deal. Thanks passintime
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hey Passintime, 127.0.0.1 also called "localhost" is the internal address that Nod32 uses for routing of Email, so emails are forced through Nod32 for virus checking...

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  9. Luthorcrow

    Luthorcrow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    California
    Ok, this isn't a bug but something strange. I use a batch file to open all my security programs at once. Unless I am on-line must of these programs are off unless doing an on demand scan. This batch file worked fine with NOD32 but with NOD32 2.0 Beta it won't. I get the following error (see attached: error message, batch file content, and working icon properties). I've tried retyping the file path and even copying it from the working desktop icon. Despite the file path and file name being right it just won't start from the batch file.

    I know Sygate for instance required an additional command -start at the end to work. Is there some trick like this for the new beta?

    Otherwise, no problems with Wk2 Sp3, Sygate Pro 5, IE 6, and Netcaptor.

    Really like the all in one interface
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Sorry luthorcrow, but no idea. The path seems fine to me, but obviously something is missing.

    Cheers.

    PS: WOW man, that sure is some colour scheme mate. I thought a Vampire had crapped itself upon scrolling to the bottom, LOL.

    I almost had to put my "sunnies" on. Heh!
     
  11. o_O
    I think the email scanner (beta) either has a SERIOUS problem or I am doing something wrong...

    I noticed this before, but I did not save the emails..

    When I get infected email, Outlook Express will not open up the emails, it simply won't even open up..

    If it can't open up, then I cannot delete the emails, clean the virus, etc..

    I have to disconnect IMON to get to the email, but then if I do that, then I am running OE with no protection.. That's not good..

    Before I disconnect IMON, I will wait to see if anyone knows about this..
    I am posting a screenshot..

    Thanks
    Shooter
     

    Attached Files:

  12. :cool:

    The regular version of NOD32 does not have any conflict with the MailSafe email protection of the latest version of Zone Alarm, but I am wondering, does the beta have a conflict? I disabled IMON to let an infected email in the inbox, (otherwise it was blcoking my other emails.. When I did that, ZAPRO quaranteed the attachment.. With the regular NOD32 version, ZAPRO wouldn't even kick in..The POP3 MAil scanner of NOD32 took care of everything...
     
  13. ipje

    ipje Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    the netherlands
    :)I must say I don't have big problems with this Beta version. E-mail is scanned very good and no problems with Becky (the problem was me, doing something wrong :D)
    I only have this problem downloading files with Opera 6.05, the files are not being scanned with this Beta-version. IE works great with this version. I hope this problem will be solved with the final release.
     
  14. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    copy and paste from Mele's post dated December 27, 2002 - in order to keep error reports centralized:

    What is the difference between :
    Number of found viruses
    Number of Active viruses

    I just ran an on demand scan set to scan all files and extensions. It found 6 viruses and 16 active viruses. Since all of them are either eicar test files zipped or are zipped dbx files, none of them are "active" ...at least not in the sense that I use the word. They can't do any harm so how are they "active"?

    The on demand scanner, set to scan all files and extensions, is scanning LESS THAN ONE-HALF the number of files it should be scanning!!! Plus, it takes FOREVER to do the scan because it stops on every damaged file and every found virus and doesn't notify me. i have it running minimized. It sits stopped on one of these files until I notice my CPU is not making any noise and I maximize the scanner to see what is happening. It takes 38 minutes to scan 17,251 files! With the current scanner, it takes less than 9 minutes to scan almost 40,000 files!

    OOPS! I hadn't finished my post and accidently hit the post button.

    I have run the on demand scanner five times now and it behaves the same each time. I can't see any configuration that I am missing that would stop it from hanging nor that would make it scan all my files. I have it configured (at least I think I do) just the same as the current scanner was configured.

    It is misleading, seems to me, to claim it found six viruses and sixteen active ones when it actually finds only two -justasb and firehocker that are zipped. It appears to double and triple count the viruses as the zipped email attachment that contains these two (and two others that NOD doesn't detect because they are corrupt, but NAV does detect one), is located in more than one place on the C drive. Plus, it seems to be counting Eicar files as viruses. I really can't figure out how comes up with a total of 16 "active" viruses from this one attachment. The current version didn't tell me I had 16 active viruses. This is confusing.

    I just figured out part of the problem. I have been scanning from WITHIN the NOD32 Control Center. If I go and click on NOD32 on the desktop (which is a pain to do as I seldom use my desktop and have all items there hidden), the scanner doesn't hang on detected viruses, etc. I also found that the checkmark to scan all files had AGAIN become unchecked...this has happened in IMON and AMON modules also. I have to keep rechecking it. (I have also clicked on confirm each time). So that is why it was not scanning all files.

    Doing the scan from the desktop icon, NOD reported 6 viruses. Said nothing about 16 active viruses so I am puzzled about that. I note that this last scan scanned 58,074 files ...quite a bit more than the 40,000 approx. that the current scanner scans. Plus, it took 22:50 seconds, whereas, the current scanner scans the 40,000 files in 8 minutes approximate. Why so much longer to scan (even though it is scanning a few more) with the beta version?
    « Last Edit: December 27, 2002, 09:45:35 AM by Mele20 »

    Forum Admin
     
  15. RabidGerbil

    RabidGerbil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    3
    Gi'day All,

    I've found a minor problem with NOD32 2.0 Beta.

    I've been testing email security with http://www.gfi.com/emailsecuritytest and have struck a problem with IMON and Malformed File Extension Vulnerability test. My email client is The Bat! and when I try to download this particular email, TB! locks up. If I disable IMON, TB! downloads email no problem. I can download all other emails no problem regardless of IMON status.

    I'm using WinXP pro, outpost pro firewall and The Bat email client.

    I'm a new NOD32 user and am very pleased with how the new version is shaping up. Looks like I made right choice! :D
     
  16. I have the same similar problem you have, except I have narrowed it down to two types of emails I recieve..

    1. Some kind of Virus...

    2. Websites included with email...

    I can forward the email with a website to a Nod tech support person, but I will wait until they read this.. then act upon it

    I have Outlook Express, Service Pack 1, win XP Home, all the latest patches ...

    This is a very serious problem fro me.. I have eliminated ZAPRO 3.5169 as being the cause of my problem.. I hope this gets fixed when they release the final version of Nod32 ver 2. The only way I can get me email is to shut IMON down, which defeats the purpose of having IMON..

    :p
     
  17. I wish they hadn't gone on vacation before releasing the eagerly awaited beta..

    another bug, which I think was reported before. Some web sites seems to load more slowly..

    Much more slowly... :cool:
     
  18. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Right clicking on an entry in the On Demand Scanner logs works properly if the file is clean or if the file is an eicar test file. However, if the file contains an actual virus, NOD32 Control Center hangs. The only way out is to use c/a/d which closes NOD32. So, if you want information on the flagged items, it is not accessible. If you want to delete the viruses you have to run the on demand scanner again choosing clean. This takes a long time as NOD32 is very SLOW in scanning using the beta version. Takes TWICE as long as it did with the current version.

    I should add this:
    Dell Pentium III 450MHz
    W98SE
    224 MB RAM
    Proxomitron 4.4, Desksweeper, Cookie Crusher 2.6 running during scan
     
  19. mccracky

    mccracky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Quito, Ecuador
    That >>Can't find D:\Program<< looks supspiciously like your batch file is having problems with the long file name including spaces. Try it with the DOS file name (something similar to D:\Progra~1).
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,431
    Hi folks,

    thanks for notifying us about problems with Imon and Pocomail.
    Our engineers will take a look into the problem. You will be informed
    about their findings on this forum as soon as they declare.



    Mark
     
  21. mccracky

    mccracky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Quito, Ecuador
    Just a suggestion: Rather than all possible bug reports for the Beta going to this one topic, why not start another forum Nod32v2beta along side the NOD32 forum? Then the bug reports could be grouped better under their specific topics and you wouldn't need to scroll through all the posts for help with your specific problem. The current NOD32 forum (where this topic is) would be for the currently released version and the new forum for the v2.0beta. Thoughts?
     
  22. herold

    herold Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1
    Hallo @all,

    I have problems running nod32 2.0 beta and tauscan 1.6 on my system.

    If tauscan is checking CAB-archives a Runtime Error occures, after uninstalling nod32 2.0 beta, tauscan works without problems.

    Next problem is that nod32 Scanner list all existing JAR-Files on my System like this: CRC-checksum is incorrect, file possible damaged
    I can´t believe this.

    Next problem IMON:
    The default setting ist Port 110. OK
    If I add Ports in this form:
    110, 995, ...
    IMON ignore all added Ports after 110

    Last problem is a scheduler problem. If I prepare the scheduler to start nod32 Scanner at defined time. Nod32 Scanner starts but no scaning of C: instead he is telling me C: is invalid.


    Some Problems, but hey, it is just a beta.

    So long :cool:

    PS. System Info: P III 500 MHz, 384 MB RAM, Win2k SP 3, Tauscan, Outpost, T-DSL Speedmanager running at Startup
     
  23. The right click scanning dowsn't allow me to clean even the eicar virus.. It just doesn't work..

    Strangely enough, even when set to scan all files, the on demand scanner is just as fast as ever..

    WinXP Home, Athlon , 512 ram,
     
  24. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    You can't "clean" the eicar test file 'cause it's just a test file. If you cleaned it, there would be nothing left. :D

    I'm not sure about NOD because I have not needed to use the "clean" function, but here's the deal with other av apps I have used. Let's say you get a doc file or something similar that is infected with a virus. Then you would use the "clean" function in an attempt to remove the offending code and leave you with the original file intact so it could be used. Make sense now?

    Phil
     
  25. Yup.. Sorry.. I confused "Clean" and "Delete"...
    :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.