Possible 1.04 AdAware problem (freezing)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Acadia, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Just wanted to alert you, many people are reporting that the new Adaware version 1.04, released today, is freezing up systems during a scan.

    Acadia
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,730
    Location:
    Texas
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    I just did a scan with the free version. Works fine.

    I suppose you guys are running it real time?
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Hey Ron,

    I'm running Ad-aware Plus.



    snowbound
     
  5. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
  6. Rita

    Rita Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    6,863
    Location:
    wilds of wv
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Hi
    i clicked on update several times and it said a new version was available but cant reach the site keeps saying no page to display.would someone give me the link and i'll try it--cant get it fom my adware program
    thanks
    rita
     
  7. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
  8. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  9. Rita

    Rita Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    6,863
    Location:
    wilds of wv
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Thanks Acadia
    i'm downloading it now.Do i have to uninstall the old version first?before installing new version
    rita
     
  10. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Just uninstalled and went back to previous Ad-aware plus version1.03 and all works as it should....


    snowbound
     
  11. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Yes Rita, it is always recommended to uninstall old version first.


    snowbound
     
  12. Rita

    Rita Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    6,863
    Location:
    wilds of wv
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    thanks Snowbound
    rita
     
  13. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    I just scanned using the latest version, no problems at all! Wow! :D
     
  14. Rita

    Rita Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    6,863
    Location:
    wilds of wv
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    I had no problems either just run the new version
     
  15. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    No freezing here (running SE Plus on XP SP2).

    Nick
     
  16. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Same here.

    Win2K SP4

    As normal practice
    1)un-installed previous build(1.03)
    2)re-booted
    3)installed new build(1.04)
    4)ran smart system scan and full system scan

    each time it has hung at that key....software\microsoft\windows\current version\policies\system....Objects scanned 16097
     
  17. RickFriedman

    RickFriedman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    New York City
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Hmm... no problems for me. 1.04 (SE Personal) runs fine with no freezes.

    It's running on Win XP (SP2)

    Rick
     
  18. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
  19. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem


    Hi everyone if any of you are having difficulty's with this new version may i suggest you try one of the mirrors at major geeks. Hope this helps you



    Regards

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html
     
  20. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Hey Nick,

    All of those mirrors have been tried in various other Forums but I'll only speak for myself when I say....I have downloaded from all three of the MajorGeeks links and they all give same result....hung scan.
     
  21. chew

    chew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    GeordieLand.
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Hi Folks

    I have just downloaded Ad-Aware SE Personal 1.04. from MajorGeek.com about 20 mins ago.

    Then I did a Full System Scan and Custom Scan and both went alright.

    But before I installed it I followed these steps:

    1) Uninstalled SE Personal 1.03.
    2) Reboot.
    3) Disabled Prevx.
    4) Installed SE Peronal 1.04.
    5) Customised Ad-Adware SE Personal 1.04.
    6) Reboot
    7) Prevx automatically enabled.
    :cool: Full System Scan. (no problem)
    9) Custom Scan (no problem)

    So there you go ... I am Not on Win XP SP2 btw.

    Hope Ad-aware sort out the problem or vice versa.

    ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2004
  22. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Hey Bubba,

    Just out of curiosity, are u running the free version or the paid version?

    As i posted, i have Ad-aware Plus on XP home, SP1.


    snowbound
     
  23. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Free version for me Snowbound since I only have it installed for troubleshooting purposes such as this.
     
  24. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    ok thanks,

    thought there might be a clue here as to the problem but obviously not....



    snowbound
     
  25. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Possible 1.04 AdAware problem

    Hi Bubba :)
    I have downloaded and installed from all of the mirrors from major geeks and they all work fine my end. Very strange to say the least. I am using sp2 by the way

    Best regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.